Research

About us

Members of our Childhood and Youth Studies research group.

Vision

To make a transformative contribution to realising children and young people’s human rights by undertaking and promoting inter-disciplinary research, teaching, policy and practice.

As a group we …

  • Work collaboratively and encourage dialogue, within and across disciplines and sectors, in research-related activities involving children and young people.
  • Work with a social justice agenda to recognise children and young people’s rights, across local and international contexts, to value diversity and to challenge inequality.
  • Intentionally amplify and extend existing opportunities and synergies across research, policy and practice contexts to progress children and young people’s meaningful participation and human rights.

Childhood and Youth Studies is a constellation of research specialities, including the associated networks, groups and centres:

Centre for Education for Racial Equality in Scotland (CERES)

Centre for Research in Education Inclusion & Diversity (CREID)

Early Years Research, Policy and Practice Group

End Violence Lab

Observatory of Children’s Human Rights Scotland

Scottish Sensory Centre (SSC)

People at CYSRG

Position Name Email
Professor of Childhood Policy Professor Kay Tisdall k.tisdall@ed.ac.uk
PhD student     Sara Abahussaint -
Tutor BA in Childhood Practice and Manager, Riverside Cottage Nursery, Bathgate Luke Addison
 PhD Student Thalia Thereza Assan t.t.assan@ed.ac.uk
Director of Undergraduate Studies / Lecturer in Sport Policy and Management, ISPEHS Dr Davies Banda
PhD Student Bekkah Bernheim -
Innovation and Uptake Director, End Violence Lab Jake Broadhurst jake.broadhurst@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Fatma Busra Aksoy Kumru s1721966@sms.ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Patrick Brobbey s1234631@sms.ed.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer in Science Education Dr Laura Colucci-Gray laura.colucci-gray@ed.ac.uk
Honorary Fellow Dr Patricio Cuevas-Parra patricio_cuevas-parra@wvi.org
PhD Student Beth Davies b.d.davies@ed.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate, STEP: Connecting mobile cultures and education  Dr Pauline Duncan
Teaching Fellow in Comparative Education and International Development Dr Carole Faucher
Co-Depute Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange / Senior Lecturer in Child Protection Dr Deborah Fry debi.fry@ed.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer in Youth Studies and Head of Institute for Education, Community and Society (IECS) Dr Ian Fyfe ian.fyfe@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Learning / Teaching Fellow Dr Juliet Hancock juliet.hancock@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Chad Lance Hemady chad.hemady@ed.ac.uk
PhD Graduate (Clinical Psychology) Dr Somia Imran s1544349@sms.ed.ac.uk

PhD Student

Alexandra Jundler

s1566736@sms.ed.ac.uk

PhD Student

Andrea Khalfaoui

a.khalfaoui@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lecturer in Childhood Studies, Co-director of Centre for Education for Racial Equality in Scotland Dr Kristina Konstantoni
PhD Student Brendan Kwiatkowski s1857565@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lecturer in Childhood Studies, Co-director of the Centre for Education for Racial Equality in Scotland Dr Marlies Kustatscher marlies.kustatscher@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Minkyung Kwon s1670341@sms.ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Yukti Lamba s1777800@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Liz Latto s0564696@sms.ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Jane Malcolm s0458777@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chancellor's Fellow Jennifer Lavoie
Deputy Director of CREID, REF 2021 Co-ordinator Professor Gillean McCluskey gillean.mccluskey@ed.ac.uk
Senior Research Fellow Dr Christina McMellon christina.mcmellon@ed.ac.uk
Senior Teaching Fellow Dr Lynn McNair OBE lynn.mcnair@ed.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow in Childhood Studies Dr Maggie Morrison
PhD Student Lakshmi Neelakantan lakshmi.neelakantan@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Takuya Numajiri s1125554@sms.ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Karina Padilla karina.padilla@ed.ac.uk
Chair in Education and Technology Professor Lydia Plowman lydia.plowman@ed.ac.uk
Senior Research Fellow in Childhood and Youth Studies Dr Mary Ann Powell mary.ann.powell@ed.ac.uk
Chair of Childhood Visual Impairment, Head of the Scottish Sensory Centre Professor John Ravenscroft john.ravenscroft@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Natalia Salamanca-Sarmiento n.salamanca@sms.ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Sabina Savadova sabina.k.savadova@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Gizem Silistire g.silistire@sms.ed.ac.uk
Research Fellow Kay Steven
Teaching Fellow in Childhood Practice and Studies Dr Laura Wright