School of Economics

Seminars 2006-2007

Seminars which took place during the 2006-2007 academic year.

Programme

Stefan Klonner (Cornell) - Risky loans and the emergence of Rotating Savings and Credit Associations

Monday 23 April 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Avner Shaked (Bonn) - Gregarious Behaviour of Evasive Prey

Monday 30 April 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Gary Solon (Michigan) - The Ins and Outs of Cyclical Unemployment

Monday 7 May 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Paul Krugman (Princeton) - Trade and inequality, revisited (SIRE event)

Tuesday 8 May 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Peter Sinclair (Bank of England) - Pareto-improving tax reform

Wednesday 16 May 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Willem Buiter (LSE) - Monetary Economics and the Political Economy of Central Banking: Inflation Targeting and Central Bank Independence Revisited (SIRE Event, joint with Heriot-Watt)

Friday 25 May 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

John Duffy (Pittsburgh) - Beliefs and voting decisions: A test of the pivotal voter model

Wednesday 6 June 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paul Beaudry (UBC) - Spill-Overs from Good Jobs

Thursday 7 June 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Botond Kőszegi (UC Berkeley) - Reference-dependent consumption plans

Monday 11 June 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Seminars (January-March 2007)

David Myatt (Oxford) - The Qualities of Leadership: Direction, Communication, and the Art of Rhetoric

Monday 15 January 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Tom Krebs (Mannheim) - Job displacement risk and the cost of business cycles

Tuesday 16 January 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Martin Peitz (International University in Germany) Intermediation and Investment Incentives

Monday 22 January 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Andrew Clark (Paris-Jourdan) - Kahneman meets the Quitters: Peak-End Behaviour in the Labour Market

Monday 29 January 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Theo Offerman (Amsterdam) Fighting collusion in auctions

Monday 5 February 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Eugen Kovac (Bonn) - Stochastic Mechanisms in Settings without Monetary Transfers: Regular Case

Monday 5 March 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Steven Matthews (Penn) - Smooth Monotone Contribution Games

Monday 12 March 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper

Hans Hvide (Aberdeen) - Liquidity constraints and entrepreneurial performance

Monday 19 March 2007, 4pm - 5pm

Paper