School of Economics

Seminars

External research seminars at the School of Economics

Semester 1

Yongseok Shin (Washington University in St. Louis)

MacCaLM: Monday 10 September, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Computerizing Industries and Routinizing Jobs: Explaining Trends in Aggregate Productivity (joint with Sangmin Aum and Sang Yoon (Tim) Lee)

Yang Xie (University of California, Riverside)

MacCaLM: Wednesday 12 September, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Erosion of State Power and the Political Boundaries of Corruption

Frank Schilbach  (MIT)

MacCaLM: Monday 17 September, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Technology Diffusion and Appropriate Use: Evidence from Western Kenya (joint with Esther Duflo, Michael Kremer and Jon Robinson)

Jing Li (MIT)

Date: Wednesday 19 September, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Compatibility and Investment in the U.S. Electric Vehicle Market

George-Marios Angeletos (MIT)

MacCaLM: Tuesday 25 September, 11.30-13.00

Venue:  3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Myopia and Anchoring (joint with Zhen Huo)

Fabien Postel-Vinay (University College London)

MacCaLM: Monday 1 October, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Diego Battiston (Stockholm)

MacCaLM: Tuesday 2 October, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: The Persistent Effects of Brief Interactions: Evidence from Immigrant Ships

Stephen Maurer (Konstantz)

MacCaLM: Wednesday 3 October, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper:  Of Mice and Merchants: Trade and Growth in the Iron Age (joint with Jan David Bakker, Jörn-Steffen Pischke and Ferdinand Rauch)

 Will Dobbie (Princeton University)

MacCaLM: Thursday 4 October, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Measuring Bias in Consumer Lending (joint with Andres Liberman, Daniel Paravisini and Vikram Pathania)

Timo Boppart  (IIES)

MacCaLM: Monday 15 October, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Missing Growth from Creative Destruction

Anna Sanktjohanser (Yale University)

Date: Monday 22 October, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Optimally Stubborn

Makoto Nakajima (Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia)

MacCaLM: Monday 29 October, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Akos Valentinyi  (University of Manchester)

MacCaLM: Wednesday 31 October, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch PlaceVenue: TBA

Paper: TBA

Benjamin Moll (Princeton University)

MacCaLM: Friday 2 November, 11.30-13.00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Gabriel Ulyssea  (Oxford University)

MacCaLM: Monday 5 November, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Jean Flemming (Oxford University)

MacCaLM: Monday 12 November, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Ian Crawford (Oxford)

Date: Wednesday 14 November, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Marcos Vera Hernandez (UCL)

MacCaLM: Monday 19 November, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

 

Double Seminar programme - ESRC/School of Economics Procurement Day - Wed 21 November, venue 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

10:00-11:15 - Prof. Eyal Winter (University of Lancaster and Hebrew University) - Raising Capital from Heterogeneous Investors

11:15-11:45 - Break, with coffee and biscuits/fruit

11:45-13:00 - Dr. Daniel Monte (Sao Paulo School of Economics) - Costly Information Intermediation as a Natural Monopoly

 

Thomas Chaney (Sciences Po Paris)

Date: Wednesday 28 November, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Ralph Luetticke  (UCL)

MacCaLM: Monday 3 December, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Giacomo Ponzetto (CREI)

MacCaLM: Monday 10 December, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

 

Semester 2

Michela Tincani (UCL)

MacCaLM: Monday 18 February, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Selman Erol (Carnegie Mellon University)

MacCaLM: Wednesday 20 February, 11:30 - 13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Jan Eeckhout (ICREA-UPF and Barcelona GSE)

MacCaLM: Monday 4 March, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Andreas Moxnes (University of Oslo)

MacCaLM: Monday 11 March, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Cecile Gaubert  (Institute of European Studies)

MacCaLM: Monday 18 March, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Botond Koszegi (Central European University)

Date: Monday 1 April, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Aniol Llorente-Saguer (Queen Mary University of London)

Date: Wednesday 24th April, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Ctirad Slavik (CERGE-EI)

Date: Monday 29 April, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Mark Aguiar (Princeton University)

MacCaLM: Monday 20 May, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA

Minchul Yum (Mannheim)

MacCaLM: Monday 27 May, 11:30-13:00

Venue: 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBA