School of Economics

Seminars

External research seminars at the School of Economics

Semester 1

Gianluca Violante (Princeton University)

Monday 11th September, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 2.11, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: The Housing Boom and Bust:Model Meets Evidence (Joint with Greg Kaplan and Kurt Mitman)

Brian Rogers (Washington University, St Louis)

Tuesday 12th September. 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Cooperation in Anonymous Dynamic Social Networks (Joint with Brendan Lucier and Nicole Immorlica)

Marco Faravelli (The University of Queensland)

Tuesday 12th September, 16.00 - 17.30

Room 2.11, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Costly Voting: A Large-scale Real Effort Experiment (Joint with Kenan Kalayci and Carlos Pimienta)

Marco Francesconi (University of Essex)

Monday 25th September, 12:00 - 13:30

Room 2.11, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Understanding Believe Formation: Evidence from Pension Reforms

Bhash Mazumder (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)

Friday 6th October, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 2.11, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: The Effects of the 1930s HOLC “Redlining” Maps (Joint with Daniel Aaronson and Daniel Hartley)

Facundo Albornoz Crespo (University of Nottingham)

Monday 9th October, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Occupational choice with endogenous spillovers (Joint with Antonio Cabrales and Esther Hauk)

Juan F. Jimeno (Banco de Espana)

Monday 30th October, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Labour market adjustment in Europe during the crisis: microeconomic evidence from the Wage Dynamics Network survey (Joint with Mario Izquierdo, Theodora Kosma, Ana Lamo, Stephen Millard, Tairi Rõõm, Eliana Viviano)

Michel Serafinelli (University of Toronto)

Monday 6th November, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Creativity over Time and Space (Joint with Guido Tabellini)

Annette Bergemann (University of Bristol)

Monday 13th November, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: The effect of job displacement on the onset and progression of diabetes (Joint with Erik Gronqvist and Soffia Gudbjörnsdottir)

Yongsung Chang (University of Rochester)

Monday 20th November, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Optimal Taxation with Private Insurance (Joint with Yena Park)

Andrei Sarychev (Bank of England)

Monday 27th November, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: Why expected loss is not the right measure of credit risk and how to do better

Andrea Tesei (Queen Mary University of London)

Monday 4th December, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: The Political Legacy of Entertainment TV (joint with R. Durante and P. Pinotti)

Casey Mulligan (University of Chicago)

Semester 2

Jordi Gali (CREI)

Monday 12th February, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Itai Arieli (Technion)

Monday 19th February, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Omer Moav (University of Warwick)

Monday 26th February, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Kjell Salvanes (Norweigen School of Economics)

Monday 5th March, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Ferdinand Rauch (University of Oxford)

Monday 12th March, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Sagiri Kitao (Keio University)

Monday 19th March, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Jeremiah Dittmar (London School of Economics)

Monday 26th March, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Laura Veldkamp (New York University)

Monday 23rd April, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

George Evans (University of Oregon)

Monday 30th April, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Fabian Waldinger (London School of Economics)

Monday 7th May, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Gilat Levy (London School of Economics)

Monday 14th May, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 3.10, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

Botond Koszegi (Central European University)

Monday 28th May, 14.00 - 15.30

Room 2.11, 31 Buccleuch Place

Paper: TBC

David Silver (Princeton University)

Wednesday 30th May, Time TBC

TBC

Paper: TBC