School of Economics

PhD Students

Profiles of PhD students currently enrolled at the School of Economics, including supervisors and research interests.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Email Research Interests
Camille Boudot-Reddy Camille.Boudot@ed.ac.uk

Camille's research interest include development economics with a particular focus on the agricultural sector and labour productivity.

Supervisors: Maia Guell & Liang Bai

Stuart Breslin Stuart.Breslin@ed.ac.uk
  • On-the-Job Training and Human Capital
  • Firm Heterogeneity
  • Labour Market outcomes and Sorting
  • Macro-Theory
Andre Butler andre.butler@ed.ac.uk

Andre’s research interests are at the frontier of agriculture, climate science, and development economics.

Yanxiao Cao Yanxiao.Cao@ed.ac.uk

Yanxiao's main research interests focus on economic growth and development.

Kezhen Chen s1935572@ed.ac.uk

Kezhen's current research interests lie in microeconomic theory, knowledge creation and evaluation.

Tuocheng Chen s1924850@ed.ac.uk

Tuocheng's main research interest is microeconomic theory, game theory, information design, mechanism design

Mory Clark Mory.Clark@ed.ac.uk

Mory’s current research will focus on the impacts of migration, human capital formation and the impacts on global inequality, using micro founded macroeconomics to model these effects. Mory hopes his research will shed more light on the true economic impact of migration and how individual’s behaviour is affected in the presence of the possibility of migration.  

Supervisors: Sevi Mora & Andy Snell

Adolfo Fuentes Werlinger A.I.Fuentes@sms.ed.ac.uk

Adolfo's primary research interest lies between labor economics and macroeconomics. Specifically on how frictions affect the labor market and how labor outcomes such as wages, informality, and unemployment, can be affected by changes in the minimum wage, changes in the skill composition of workers, and increases in social security contributions. 

As a secondary interest, Adolfo is interested in how people's social capital influences different aspects of life, such as work outcomes, health and life satisfaction, and how some environmental aspects such as inequality can ameliorate these relationships.

Yue Gu Yue.Gu@ed.ac.uk

Yue’s research interest is in labour economics and her dissertation topic is about the impact of childcare policy on female labour supply.

Kavisha Gupta Kavisha.gupta@ed.ac.uk
Krista Holthaus k.l.h.holthaus@ed.ac.uk
Brian Jagusch brian.jagusch@ed.ac.uk
  • Applied Microeconometrics
  • Public Economics, Labour Economics  
  • Public Policy
Alex Kostylev s1332880@sms.ed.ac.uk
  • Applied Political Economy
  • Quality of Political Governance
  • Principal-Agent Relationship in Political Economy
  • Text Analysis 
Kevin Le k.n.le@sms.ed.ac.uk

Kevin’s primary research interests are in the economics of science and R&D and knowledge based technologies, initially from macro and econometric perspectives. He will sooner or later likely find himself trying to understand search and matching of PhD graduates.

Aubrey Li S2077662@ed.ac.uk
Jiaying Li s1941036@ed.ac.uk
Shunhan Li s.s.li-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
  • Growth;
  • Economic Transformation;
  • Public Policy

 

Christian Lippitsch Christian.Lippitsch@ed.ac.uk

Christian is interested in macroeconomics in general and in development economics in particular. Currently he is working on a project about land markets, missallocation and investment in developing countries. Another projects examines the relationship between smallholder farming and the impacts of climate change.

Siting (Estée) Lu s.lu@ed.ac.uk

Game Theory, Behavioural Economics, Searching and Matching

Jianxun Lyu J.Lyu-3@sms.ed.ac.uk

Jianxun's research interests lie in (evolutionary) game theory and its applications on cultural transmission and evolution. He is also interested in the political economy and gender inequality.

Tianfei Lyu s2272869@ed.ac.uk
  • Macroeconomics
  • Labor markets
  • firm size
Enric Martorell enric.martorell@ed.ac.uk
  • Inequality
  • Growth and Development
  • Heterogenous Agents Models
  • Computational Economics

 

David Mesa-Ruiz D.Mesa@ed.ac.uk
  • Microeconometrics (Causal inference)
  • Applied economics (labour and health)
  • Intergenerational mobility
Yiwen Pang ypang2@ed.ac.uk
  • Labour Economics
  • Development Economics
Jenny Peters Jenny.Peters@ed.ac.uk
  • Applied Labour Economics
Rachel Scarfe Rachel.Scarfe@ed.ac.uk

Rachel's main research interest is labour economics, particularly non-standard work. She is currently researching zero-hours contracts and part-time work. She also has an interest in using sports data to answer questions about labour economics.

Jun Shen Jun.Shen@ed.ac.uk

Macroeconomics and Applied Econometrics

Yating Shen s1984430@ed.ac.uk

Yating is interested in (evolutionary) game theory, behavioral and experimental economics.

Sikandar Singh Soin sikandar.soin@ed.ac.uk

Sikandar’s research interests include economic theory and adapting mathematics to economic problems. In particular, using the methods from the theory of networks to model different economic interactions to shed light on interdependence in decision making and exploring policy implications of the same.

Supervisors: Tim Worrall & Andrew Clausen

Christopher Stapenhurst c.stapenhurst@ed.ac.uk

Theory: Microeconomics, incentive design, statistics.

Applications: Corruption, inequality, climate change, animal welfare.

Paul Telemo paul.telemo@ed.ac.uk

Paul's main research area is macro and labour economics, with a particular interest in questions regarding technological change and intergenerational mobility. He is also interested in the economics of education, and in how data from competitive sports can be used to learn about the labour market.

Lee Tyrrell-Hendry l.tyrrell-hendry@sms.ed.ac.uk

Lee's research interests lie in the intersection of macroeconomics and finance, in particular understanding financial crises and policies to help prevent or recover from them.

Yaoyao Xu y.xu@ed.ac.uk

Yaoyao is interested in behavioural and experimental economics.