School of Economics

PhD Students

Profiles of PhD students currently enrolled at the School of Economics, including supervisors and research interests.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Email Phone number Research Interests
Shubhangi Agrawal sagrawal@ed.ac.uk
Luis Aguilar-Luna L.A.Aguilar-Luna@sms.ed.ac.uk
  • Labour Economics
  • Economics of Crime
  • Macroeconomics
  • International Trade
Stuart Breslin Stuart.Breslin@ed.ac.uk
  • On-the-Job Training and Human Capital
  • Firm Heterogeneity
  • Labour Market outcomes and Sorting
  • Macro-Theory
Kezhen Chen s1935572@ed.ac.uk

Kezhen's current research interests lie in microeconomic theory. He has particular interests in the functioning of scientific peer review and topics of corruption.

Tuocheng Chen s1924850@ed.ac.uk

Tuocheng's main research areas are microeconomic theory, game theory, information design, mechanism design.

Mory Clark Mory.Clark@ed.ac.uk

Mory’s current research will focus on the impacts of migration, human capital formation and the impacts on global inequality, using micro founded macroeconomics to model these effects. Mory hopes his research will shed more light on the true economic impact of migration and how individual’s behaviour is affected in the presence of the possibility of migration.  

Supervisors: Sevi Mora & Andy Snell

Adolfo Fuentes Werlinger A.I.Fuentes@sms.ed.ac.uk

Adolfo's primary research interest lies between labor economics and macroeconomics. Specifically on how frictions affect the labor market and how labor outcomes, such as wages, informality, and unemployment, can be affected by changes in the minimum wage, changes in the skill composition of workers, and increases in social security contributions. 

As a secondary interest, Adolfo is interested in how people's social capital influences different aspects of life, such as labor market outcomes, health, and voting behavior, and how some environmental aspects, such as inequality, can ameliorate these relationships.

Kavisha Gupta Kavisha.gupta@ed.ac.uk

Kavisha's research interest lies in the area of macroeconomics with a focus on the effect of unconditional transfers and other human & social development policies on intergenerational mobility and inequality in a developing country context. Her current work focusses on understanding the role of education related policies in reducing child labour and informality, using quantitative macroeconomic models. 

Krista Holthaus k.l.h.holthaus@ed.ac.uk
Leqing Huang lhuang34@ed.ac.uk

Macroeconomics

Heterogenous agents and inequality

 

Brian Jagusch brian.jagusch@ed.ac.uk
  • Applied Microeconometrics, especially Difference-in-Differences Methods
  • Labour Economics  
  • Public Policy
Alex Kostylev s1332880@sms.ed.ac.uk
  • Applied Political Economy
  • Quality of Political Governance
  • Principal-Agent Relationship in Political Economy
  • Text Analysis 
Kevin Le k.n.le@sms.ed.ac.uk

Kevin’s primary research interests are in the economics of science and R&D and knowledge based technologies, initially from macro and econometric perspectives. He will sooner or later likely find himself trying to understand search and matching of PhD graduates.

Aubrey Li S2077662@ed.ac.uk

Game Theory and Mechanism Design

Chenchen Li c.li-101@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jiaying Li s1941036@ed.ac.uk
Shunhan Li s.s.li-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
  • Economic Transformation;
  • Public Policy;
  • Urban Economics

 

Jinge Liu s2028952@ed.ac.uk

Development Economics

Siting (Estée) Lu s.lu@ed.ac.uk

Game Theory, Behavioural Economics, Searching and Matching

Tianfei Lyu s2272869@ed.ac.uk
  • Macroeconomics and labor economics
  • Vacancy and hiring process
Hugo Manfield s1830101@ed.ac.uk
Alex McQuitty Alex.McQuitty@ed.ac.uk

Alex's research interests are labor-macro and the economics of technological change, with a focus on modeling heterogeneity of assets and the distribution of wealth and inequality.

David Mesa-Ruiz D.Mesa@ed.ac.uk (student email) / dmesa@ed.ac.uk (staff email)
Mili

Labour economics (Gender Wage Gap), Applied Econometrics, Microeconometrics

Jenny Peters Jenny.Peters@ed.ac.uk
  • Macro Labour Models
  • Applied Labour Economics
  • Gender Differentials in the Labour Market
Yuhan Shao yuhan.Shao@ed.ac.uk

Macroeconomics

Intergenerational mobility

Jun Shen Jun.Shen@ed.ac.uk

Macroeconomics, Public Economics, Financial Economics

Yating Shen s1984430@ed.ac.uk

Yating is interested in (evolutionary) game theory, behavioural and experimental economics.

Jamie Smith jsmith47@ed.ac.uk

Jamie's research is focused on the underlying causes of regional inequalities within the United Kingdom.

  • Regional inequalities of income and productivity
  • Structural modelling
  • Human capital
  • Labour market outcomes
  • Econometrics
Zijue Wang zijue.wang@ed.ac.uk

Macroeconomics; Intergenerational mobility

Yiqi Xu s1793361@ed.ac.uk

Yiqi's current research interests lie in the areas of macroeconomic theories about inflation and wage determination. She is also interested in certain topics in financial economics, such as leverage and credit cycles. Additonally, she also would like to make developments on numerical methods for macroeconomic models.

Jiahao Zhang J.Zhang-265@sms.ed.ac.uk

Applied econometrics, Microeconometrics, Job flexibility and Child penalty