School of Economics

PhD Students

Profiles of PhD students currently enrolled at the School of Economics, including supervisors and research interests.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Research Interests
Camille Boudot-Reddy Fourth year PhD student Camille.Boudot@ed.ac.uk

Camille's research interest include development economics with a particular focus on the agricultural sector and labour productivity.

Supervisors: Maia Guell & Liang Bai

Stuart Breslin Second Year PhD student Stuart.Breslin@ed.ac.uk
  • On-the-Job Training and Human Capital
  • Firm Heterogeneity
  • Labour Market outcomes and Sorting
  • Macro-Theory
Andre Butler Second year PhD Student andre.butler@ed.ac.uk

Andre’s research interests are at the frontier of agriculture, climate science, and development economics.

Yanxiao Cao First year PhD student Yanxiao.Cao@ed.ac.uk

Yanxiao's main research interests focus on economic growth and development.

Kezhen Chen s1935572@ed.ac.uk

Kezhen's current research interests lie in microeconomic theory, knowledge creation and evaluation.

Tuocheng Chen s1924850@ed.ac.uk

Tuocheng's main research interest is microeconomic theory, game theory, information design, mechanism design

Mory Clark Fourth year PhD student Mory.Clark@ed.ac.uk

Mory’s current research will focus on the impacts of migration, human capital formation and the impacts on global inequality, using micro founded macroeconomics to model these effects. Mory hopes his research will shed more light on the true economic impact of migration and how individual’s behaviour is affected in the presence of the possibility of migration.  

Supervisors: Sevi Mora & Andy Snell

James Dunham Third year PhD Student James.Dunham@ed.ac.uk

James' interests lie in econometrics, development economics and applications of experimental and behavioural economics outside the lab.

Yue Gu Third year PhD Student Yue.Gu@ed.ac.uk

Yue’s research interest is in labour economics and her dissertation topic is about the impact of childcare policy on female labour supply.

Kavisha Gupta First year PhD student s1756426@sms.ed.ac.uk
Krista Holthaus First year PhD student k.l.h.holthaus@ed.ac.uk
Brian Jagusch Second year PhD student brian.jagusch@ed.ac.uk
  • Applied labour economics
  • Microeconometrics
  • Taxation
Aleksandr Kostylev First year PhD student s1332880@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kevin Le Second year PhD Student k.n.le@sms.ed.ac.uk

Kevin’s primary research interests are in the economics of science and R&D and knowledge based technologies, initially from macro and econometric perspectives. He will sooner or later likely find himself trying to understand search and matching of PhD graduates.

Jiaying Li s1941036@ed.ac.uk
Shunhan Li s.s.li-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christian Lippitsch Fourth year PhD Student Christian.Lippitsch@ed.ac.uk

Christian is interested in macroeconomics in general and in development economics in particular. Currently he is working on a project about land markets, missallocation and investment in developing countries. Another projects examines the relationship between smallholder farming and the impacts of climate change.

Siting (Estée) Lu s.lu@ed.ac.uk

Game Theory, Behavioural Economics

Jianxun Lyu Second year PhD Student j.lyu-3@sms.ed.ac.uk

Jianxun's research interests lie in (evolutionary) game theory and its applications on cultural transmission and evolution. He is also interested in the political economy and gender inequality.

Enric Martorell enric.martorell@ed.ac.uk
  • Inequality
  • Growth and Development
  • Heterogenous Agents Models
  • Computational Economics

 

David Mesa-Ruiz D.Mesa@ed.ac.uk

Applied Economics

Labour Economics

Health Economics

Development Economics

Rachel Scarfe PhD Student Rachel.Scarfe@ed.ac.uk

Rachel's main research interest is labour economics, particularly non-standard work. She is currently researching zero-hours contracts and part-time work. She also has an interest in using sports data to answer questions about labour economics.

Jun Shen Jun.Shen@ed.ac.uk

Macroeconomics and Applied Econometrics

Sikandar Singh Soin Fourth year PhD student sikandar.soin@ed.ac.uk

Sikandar’s research interests include economic theory and adapting mathematics to economic problems. In particular, using the methods from the theory of networks to model different economic interactions to shed light on interdependence in decision making and exploring policy implications of the same.

Supervisors: Tim Worrall & Andrew Clausen

Christopher Stapenhurst c.stapenhurst@ed.ac.uk

Mechanism design, information design,  corruption, regulation, climate change. Hypotheses testing for ordinal vairables. Animal welfare. Social learning andpsychology.

Paul Telemo Third year PhD Student paul.telemo@ed.ac.uk

Paul's main research interest is labour economics, with recent work concerning routine-biased technological change and intergenerational mobility in the labour market. He also has soft spots for microeconomics and environmental economics.

Lee Tyrrell-Hendry Second year PhD Student l.tyrrell-hendry@sms.ed.ac.uk

Lee's research interests lie in the intersection of macroeconomics and finance, in particular understanding financial crises and policies to help prevent or recover from them.

Yaoyao Xu Second year PhD Student s1737265@sms.ed.ac.uk

Yaoyao is interested in behavioural and experimental economics.