School of Economics

PhD Students

Profiles of PhD students currently enrolled at the School of Economics, including supervisors and research interests.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Email Research Interests
Stuart Breslin
  • On-the-Job Training and Human Capital
  • Firm Heterogeneity
  • Labour Market outcomes and Sorting
  • Macro-Theory
Andre Butler

Andre’s research interests are at the frontier of agriculture, climate science, and development economics.

Kezhen Chen

Kezhen's current research interests lie in microeconomic theory, knowledge creation and evaluation.

Tuocheng Chen

Tuocheng's main research areas are microeconomic theory, game theory, information design, mechanism design.

Adolfo Fuentes Werlinger

Adolfo's primary research interest lies between labor economics and macroeconomics. Specifically on how frictions affect the labor market and how labor outcomes, such as wages, informality, and unemployment, can be affected by changes in the minimum wage, changes in the skill composition of workers, and increases in social security contributions. 

As a secondary interest, Adolfo is interested in how people's social capital influences different aspects of life, such as labor market outcomes, health, and life satisfaction, and how some environmental aspects, such as inequality, can ameliorate these relationships.

Kavisha Gupta
Krista Holthaus
Brian Jagusch
  • Applied Microeconometrics
  • Labour Economics  
  • Public Policy
Alex Kostylev
  • Applied Political Economy
  • Quality of Political Governance
  • Principal-Agent Relationship in Political Economy
  • Text Analysis 
Kevin Le

Kevin’s primary research interests are in the economics of science and R&D and knowledge based technologies, initially from macro and econometric perspectives. He will sooner or later likely find himself trying to understand search and matching of PhD graduates.

Aubrey Li
Jiaying Li
Shunhan Li
  • Growth;
  • Economic Transformation;
  • Public Policy


Siting (Estée) Lu

Game Theory, Behavioural Economics, Searching and Matching

Tianfei Lyu
  • Macroeconomics
  • Labor markets
  • firm size
Enric Martorell
  • Inequality
  • Growth and Development
  • Heterogenous Agents Models
  • Computational Economics


David Mesa-Ruiz
  • Microeconometrics (Causal inference)
  • Applied economics (labour and health)
  • Intergenerational mobility
Jenny Peters
  • Macro Labour Models
  • Applied Labour Economics
  • Gender discrimination and differentials
Jun Shen

Macroeconomics, Public Economics, Financial Economics

Yating Shen

Yating is interested in (evolutionary) game theory, behavioral and experimental economics.

Yaoyao Xu

Yaoyao is interested in behavioural and experimental economics.

Working Papers

“Can Iterative Reasoning be Taught in the Lab?”, 2022. 

“Inexact Information, Strategic Sophistication and Equilibrium Transition: A Quasi-continuous-time Experiment”, with Zhi Li and Jianxun Lyu, 2022.