School of Economics

John Moore wins Senior Prize in Monetary Economics and Finance

School of Economics Professor, John Moore, has been awarded the 2020 Senior Prize in Monetary Economics and Finance from the Banque De France and Toulouse School of Economics.


Video: John introduction (Prize)
John Moore TSE prize video

During the virtual ceremony on 17 May, François Villeroy de Galhau, Governor of the Banque de France, paid tribute to John Moore’s substantial academic achievements, importance to modern economics, and his significant contribution to policy and banking decisions around the world.

John Moore said he was deeply honoured to have received the award.

The Senior Prize is awarded every two years. The previous winners are Bengt Holmström (MIT, 2012), Nobuhiro Kiyotaki (Princeton, 2014), Olivier Blanchard (MIT, 2016) and Michael Woodford (Columbia, 2018).

This is a fitting recognition of John Moore’s considerable contributions to monetary economics and finance. John’s research on financial frictions (together with his long-time collaborator Nobuhiro Kiyotaki) has been both influential and prescient. His work has elucidated the economic role of trust and liquidity in the amplification and propagation of business cycles; it has informed economists’ understanding of recent macroeconomic crises; and it has anticipated some of the unconventional policy responses to them that have been adopted in central banking circles around the world. We congratulate John for this richly deserved award.

Andy Snell, Head of School of Economics

Together with Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, John Moore previously won the 1999 Yrjö Jahnsson Award from the European Economic Association and the 2010 Stephen A. Ross Prize in Financial Economics. Together with Ben Bernanke, Mark Gertler and Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, John Moore won the 2020 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award.

John Moore was elected President of the Econometric Society in 2010 and was President of the Royal Economic Society 2015-16. He was elected fellow of the British Academy in 1999 and of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2003. He was awarded a CBE in 2017.

John Moore joined the University of Edinburgh in 2000, appointed to the George Watson's and Daniel Stewart's Chair of Political Economy. In 2018, he was appointed David Hume University Chair of Economics. From 1990 to 2018, he also held the position of Professor of Economic Theory at the London School of Economics, where in 2018 he was appointed School Professor.