School of Economics

Professor John Moore wins Frontiers of Knowledge Award

Professor John Moore has won the prestigious 2020 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award.


He wins the award jointly with Professor Ben Bernanke, Distinguished Fellow in Residence with the Economic Studies Program at the Brookings Institution, Professor Mark Gertler, Henry and Lucy Moses Professor of Economics at New York University, and Professor Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Harold H. Helm 1920 Professor of Economics and Banking at Princeton University. 

The award citation reads: “Professors Ben Bernanke, Mark Gertler, Nobuhiro Kiyotaki and John Moore have made fundamental contributions to our understanding of how financial market imperfections can amplify macroeconomic fluctuations and generate deep macroeconomic recessions.”

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are intended to recognize basic research and creative work of excellence as embedded in theoretical advances, models and fundamental perspectives for an improved understanding of the natural, social and artificial or technological worlds, technological innovations and developments, and the creation of outstanding works or new artistic or interpretative styles in contemporary classical music. The previous winners of the Frontiers of Knowledge Award for economics are Jean Tirole (2008), Andreu Mas-Colell and Hugo Sonnenschein (2009), Lars Hansen (2010), Sir Angus Deaton (2011), Paul Milgrom (2012), Elhanan Helpman (2013), Sir Richard Blundell and David Card (2014), Robert Wilson (2015), Daron Acemoglu (2016), Robert Porter, Ariel Pakes and Timothy Bresnahan (2017), Claudia Goldin (2018), Philippe Aghion and Peter Howitt (2019).

Together with Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, John Moore previously won the 1999 Yrjö Jahnsson Award from the European Economic Association and the 2010 Stephen A. Ross Prize in Financial Economics.

John Moore was elected President of the Econometric Society in 2010 and was President of the Royal Economic Society 2015-16. He was elected fellow of the British Academy in 1999 and of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2003. He was awarded a CBE in 2017.

John Moore joined the University of Edinburgh in 2000, appointed to the George Watson's and Daniel Stewart's Chair of Political Economy. In 2018, he was appointed David Hume University Chair of Economics. From 1990 to 2018, he also held the position of Professor of Economic Theory at the London School of Economics, where in 2018 he was appointed School Professor.  

I am overwhelmed to have received this great honour, especially with my friend Nobu.  It will encourage us to continue our work together.

John Moore on receiving his award.
Everyone at the School of Economics offers warm congratulations to Professor Moore on this remarkable achievement. 

You can read the full award citation here.