Easter Bush Science Outreach Centre

Real-life Research| Genome Editing: Which Little Piggy?

A hands-on workshop working with scientists and exploring genome editing. This workshop gives a real insight and practical hands-on experience on what life in the lab is like here at The Roslin Institute. Students will be introduced to the current, cutting-edge research of Dr Christine Tait-Burkard and her team who have used genome editing technology to engineer pigs that are genetically resistant to an infectious disease called porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome (PRRS). 

Learning Level: HNC, HND*

Location: Easter Bush Science Outreach Centre, University of Edinburgh Easter Bush Campus, EH25 9RG

Minimum attendance: 16**

Maximum attendance: 24

Duration: 4 hours

Timings: 10am - 2:00pm***

Cost: £8 per student

Workshop Description

Students will be introduced to the current, cutting-edge research of Dr Christine Tait-Burkard and her team who have used genome-editing technology to engineer pigs that are genetically resistant to an infectious disease called porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome (PRRS).  The workshop will reveal how they use molecular biology techniques to genotype engineered pigs. 

Learning Objectives

  • To understand how scientific research is used to solve global animal health and welfare problems
  • To develop scientific thinking and critical analysis skills
  • To understand how gene editing works and can be used in the lab
  • To understand that we can identify genotypes using DNA profiling
  • To interpret and discuss experimental results
  • To reveal the world of work in scientific research

Techniques Used

  • Micropipetting
  • DNA gel electrophoresis

Workshop outline

  • Introduction to gene editing
  • Introduction to micropipettes
  • Preparation of DNA for fragment analysis
  • DNA electrophoresis using agarose gels
  • Analysis and interpretation of results
  • Ethical discussion about use of genome edited animals in farming

Availability

Bookings will open August 2020

January February March April
Tuesday 12th January 2021 Tuesday 2nd February 2021 Tuesday 16th March 2021 Thursday 1st April 2021
Wednesday 13th January 2021 Wednesday 3rd February 2021 Wednesday 17th March 2021  
Thursday 14th January 2021 Thursday 4th February 2021 Thursday 18th March 2021  
Tuesday 19th January 2021 Wednesday 10th February 2021 Tuesday 23rd March 2021  
Wednesday 20th January 2021   Wednesday 24th March 2021  
Thursday 21st January 2021   Thursday 25th March 2021  
Tuesday 26th January 2021   Tuesday 30th March 2021    
Wednesday 27th January 2021   Wednesday 31st March 2021  
Thursday 28th January 2021      

 

Important Notes

*    The participants need to be confident with the following terms: alleles, homozygous, heterozygous, mutation, transcription, translation,  

       gel electrophoresis, recessive, dominant.

**   Please contact us ebsoc@ed.ac.uk if your group falls below the minimum as we may be able to accommodate your request through  our

        small groups waiting list.

*** A tour of The Roslin Institute can be organised on request, but this will affect the timings of your visit.

 

Downloadable Resources 

Risk Assessment 
Workshop Description 
Read more about the science behind the workshop

Precision engineering for PRRSV resistance in pigs: Macrophages from genome edited pigs lacking CD163 SRCR5 domain are fully resistant to both PRRSV genotypes while maintaining biological function Burkard, C, Lillico, S, Reid, E, Jackson, B, Mileham, AJ, Ait-Ali, T, Whitelaw, C & Archibald, A 2017

Genome Editing for Disease Resistance in Livestock;Proudfoot, C & Tait-Burkard, C 2017