School of Divinity

Core staff

Meet our core staff members

The School of Divinity’s Staff Profiles give details of research interests and publications.  You are encouraged to contact a potential supervisor to discuss your research project before making a formal application.

Professor Helen Bond

Professor of Christian Origins

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8923

Email: H.Bond@ed.ac.uk

See Professor Bond's staff profile page.

Professor Paul Foster

Professor in New Testament Language, Literature & Theology

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8917

Email: Paul.Foster@ed.ac.uk

See Professor Foster's staff profile page.

Dr Alison Jack

Director of Undergraduate Studies, Assistant Principal New College, Senior Lecturer in Bible & Literature

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8944

Email: A.Jack@ed.ac.uk

See Dr Jack's staff profile page.

Professor Timothy Lim

Chair in Hebrew Bible & Second Temple Judaism

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8919

Email: limt@ed.ac.uk

See Professor Lim's staff profile page.

Dr Matthew Novenson

Senior Lecturer in New Testament and Christian Origins

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8942

Email: matthew.novenson@ed.ac.uk

See Dr Novenson's staff profile page.

Dr Sara Parvis

Senior Lecturer in Patristics

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8907

Email: S.Parvis@ed.ac.uk

See Dr Parvis' staff profile page.

Dr Paul Parvis

Specialist in second-century Christianity

Phone: +44 (0)131 650 8907

Email: a1pparvi@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

See Dr Parvis' staff profile page.

Dr Philippa Townsend

Chancellor's Fellow: New Testament and Christian Origins

Phone: +44 (0) 131 650 8964

Email: Philippa.Townsend@ed.ac.uk

See Dr Townsend's staff profile page.