School of Divinity

Academic staff

Academic Staff A-Z

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Naomi Appleton Senior Lecturer in Asian Religions +44 (0)131 6508976
Dr Guy Bennett-Hunter Executive Editor, Expository Times
Dr Linden Bicket Lecturer in Literature and Religion
Professor Helen Bond Professor of Christian Origins, Head of the School of Divinity +44 (0)131 650 8923
Professor Stewart J Brown Professor of Ecclesiastical History +44 (0)131 650 8951
Dr Simon Burton John Laing Senior Lecturer in Reformation History +44 (0)131 650 8920
Dr Alexander Chow (FHEA) Senior Lecturer in Theology and World Christianity +44 (0)131 650 8961
Dr James Eglinton Meldrum Senior Lecturer in Reformed Theology +44 (0)131 650 8975
Rev. Dr Alexander (Sandy) Forsyth Senior Teaching Fellow in Practical Theology & Missiology (part-time)
Professor Paul Foster Professor in New Testament Language, Literature & Theology +44 (0)131 650 8917
Rev Dr Michael Fuller Lecturer in Science and Religion
Dr Paul Fuller Teaching Fellow in Buddhist Studies
Dr David Grumett Senior Lecturer, Theology and Ethics; Director of Quality Assurance and Enhancement; Philosophy and Theology Programme Director; Theology Programme Director; Convener, Research Ethics Committee +44 (0)131 650 8970
Professor Susan Hardman Moore Professor of Early Modern Religion, Principal of New College +44 (0)131 650 8908/8900
Professor Mark Harris Professor of Natural Science and Theology +44 (0)131 650 8914
Dr Hannah Holtschneider Senior Lecturer in Jewish Studies, Director of Research +44 131 650 8933
Nathan C. J. Hood Hope Trust Postdoctoral Fellow
Professor Alison Jack Professor of Bible and Literature, Assistant Principal of New College +44 (0)131 650 8944
Dr Anja Klein Senior Lecturer in Hebrew Bible/Old Testament +44 (0)131 650 8960
Professor Timothy Lim Professor of Hebrew Bible & Second Temple Judaism +44 (0)131 650 8919
Dr Arkotong Longkumer Senior Lecturer in Modern Asia +44 (0)131 650 8781
Dr Felicity Loughlin Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow
Dr Suzanna Millar Chancellor's Fellow in Hebrew Bible / Old Testament +44 (0)131 6508 904
Professor Jolyon Mitchell Professor (specializing in Religion, Violence and Peacebuilding, with particular reference to the arts); Director of CTPI (Centre for Theology & Public Issues) +44 (0)131 650 8962
Professor Rachel Muers Chair of Divinity
Dr Kirsteen Murray Teaching Fellow
Dr Matthew Novenson Senior Lecturer in New Testament and Christian Origins +44 (0)131 650 8942
Dr Paul Parvis Lecturer
Dr Sara Parvis Senior Lecturer in Patristics +44 (0)131 650 8907
Dr Shadaab Rahemtulla Lecturer in Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations +44 (0)131 6508954
Dr Joshua Ralston Reader in Christian-Muslim Relations +44 (0)131 650 8928
Dr Ulrich Schmiedel Senior Lecturer in Theology, Politics and Ethics +44(0)1316508918
Professor Mona Siddiqui Professor of Islamic and Interreligious Studies, Assistant Principal Religion and Society, Dean International, Middle East +44 (0)131 650 7912
Professor Brian Stanley Professor in World Christianity, Director Centre for the Study of World Christianity and Director of Postgraduate Studies +44 (0) 131 650 8934
Dr Steven Sutcliffe Senior Lecturer in the Study of Religion +44 (0)131 650 8947
Dr Philippa Townsend Chancellor's Fellow: New Testament and Christian Origins
Dr Nathanael Vette Issachar Fund Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Claire Wanless Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, Religious Studies
Prof Emma Wild-Wood Professor of African Religions and World Christianity +44 (0)131 650 8977