School of Divinity


Theology has been taught at the University of Edinburgh since its foundation in 1583. New College was established in 1843, and became part of the University of Edinburgh - merging with the Faculty of Divinity - in 1935.

New College

New College lecture theatre
The foundation of New College was the product of the zeal that arose from religious conflict.

The University

Old black and white photo of students studying
New College merged with the Faculty of Divinity in 1935.

Further reading

Students in computer lab
More information on the history of theology in the University of Edinburgh.