MSc in Critical Care

UK and International Scholarships

The MSc Critical Care is a part-time, online learning course delivered by the University of Edinburgh, in partnership with the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. Scholarships aim to enable talented individuals to undertake the MSc course.

Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh

Scholarship applications for 2019 are now open. Please note that applications will close at 23.00 (UK time) on Sunday 30 June 2019.

100% Scholarships

One full scholarship for each MSc course for a student who is a resident citizen of an eligible Sub-Saharan African country[1]

75% Scholarships

Up to four scholarships for each MSc course where the College will pay 75% of your tuition fees each year for students who are resident citizens of a DfID priority country[2]

50% Scholarships

A small number of scholarships where the College will pay 50% of your tuition fees each year for students who are resident in the UK or any country not in the DfID list


To apply applicants must:

  • Be self-funding (support from friends and relatives is acceptable)

  • Be a resident citizen in a qualifying country

  • For the full and 75% scholarships - not have studied in a developed country previously (though applicants who have are welcome to apply for the 50% scholarships)

  • Have been accepted onto the MSc Internal Medicine or MSc Critical Care.

Application and selection process

We will use information you supply in the University MSc application process and supplement this with:Each question will be scored by four assessors. Where the scores are tied, the College reserves the right to make the final decision. Priority will be given to those who are in their first 10 years post-qualifying of their profession.

  • Explain how your attainment of this MSc will benefit your career (250 words)

  • Explain how your attainment of this MSc will benefit the service you work in (250 words)

  • What is it about this course that makes you want to study with the University of Edinburgh? (200 words)

If you have any queries about the scholarship application process please contact Sophie Milton
Terms and conditions

[1]Eligible countries in SSA are those also listed in the DfID priority list: Congo (Democratic Republic of), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan,  Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

[2]Countries on the DfID priority list: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma, Democratic Republic of Congo,  Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Iraq, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Nigeria, Occupied Palestinian Territories, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Apply online