Clinical Sciences

Postgraduate Taught

Student Support

Each PGT student will be appointed a personal Tutor (PT).  Your PT is a member of academic staff familiar with your general area of study and the expectations of academic work in your discipline.  Working with your PT will help you to:

Become a more confident learner in your discipline and play an active part in your academic community

Reflect on your academic progress and make the most effective use of your academic feedback

Develop the range of skills and attributes required for success at university and beyond

You can find out who your Personal Tutor is via MyEd.  Your PT will support you throughout your time at the University, giving you academic support and a route to pastoral support.  You as a Tutee, will work with your PT to reflect on your academic performance and on how this contributes to your aspirations and helps you to engage as a member of the community of learners.  You will also be supported throughout your time at university by a Student Support Team.

Student Staff Liaison Committee

The SSLC provides a formal mechanism for communication and discussion between academic and administrative staff and representatives of the student body, relating to all matters connected with improving the degree programmes and the student experience. In addition it provides a mechanism to escalate issues that are out with the remit of the SSLC to resolve, to School, College, University or Support Service for further action

On-campus programme meetings are held at Edinburgh Dental Institute, organised  by the programme administrators.

Online meetings are being organised by the CSTO student services administrator.  Meetings to be held via Microsoft Teams, Zoom or Collaborate.

Student Support Team

Programme Name Email
Applied Image Analysis PGCert Nathalie Wallace Imaging.Academy@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Management of Pain MSc Olga Paterson pain.management@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Ophthalmology ChM Karen Muir ophthalmology.chm@ed.ac.uk
Critical Care MSc

Kimberley Jamieson

Critical.Care@ed.ac.uk
Dental Sedation and Anxiety Management PGCert Jen Allison edi.dsam@ed.ac.uk
Endodontology DClinDent Petra Hopert & Gail Burns pg.dclindent@ed.ac.uk
General Surgery ChM Patrycja Mitrut general.surgery@ed.ac.uk
Imaging MSc Nathalie Wallace Imaging.Academy@ed.ac.uk
Internal Medicine  MSc Brian Burgon internal.medicine@ed.ac.uk
Neuroimaging for Research MSc Nathalie Wallace Imaging.Academy@ed.ac.uk
Oral Surgery DClinDent Petra Hopert & Gail Burns pg.dclindent@ed.ac.uk
Orthodontics DClinDent Petra Hopert & Gail Burns pg.dclindent@ed.ac.uk
Paediatric Dentistry DClinDent Petra Hopert & Gail Burns pg.dclindent@ed.ac.uk
Paediatric Emergency Medicine MSc Lisa Horsburgh & Vanessa Zervogianni pecm@ed.ac.uk
Patient Safety and Clinical Human Factors ChM Patrycja Mitrut patient.safety@ed.ac.uk
PET-MR PGCert Nathalie Wallace Imaging.Academy@ed.ac.uk
Primary Care Ophthalmology ChM Karen Muir chm.info@ed.ac.uk
Prosthodontics DClinDent Petra Hopert & Gail Burns pg.dclindent@ed.ac.uk
Restorative Dentistry MSc Jen Allison msc.restorativedentistry@ed.ac.uk
Stem Cells and Translational Neurology MSc Catherine Renton stemcell-msc@ed.ac.uk
Surgical Sciences MSc Edward Gamble surgical.sciences@ed.ac.uk
Transfusion, Transplantation and Tissue Banking MSc Diane Anderson diane.anderson3@nhs.scot
Trauma and Orthopaedics ChM Patrycja Mitrut orthopaedic.surgery@ed.ac.uk
Urology ChM Sarah Jones urology.surgery@ed.ac.uk
Vascular and Endovascular Surgery ChM Sarah Jones vascular.surgery@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Education MSc Debbie Spence debbie.spence@ed.ac.uk

Clinical Sciences Teaching Organisation Team

dcs.postgraduate@ed.ac.uk

Manager Moira Henderson moira.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Student Services Administrator Christy Abatan christy.abatan@ed.ac.uk
Director of Taught Programmes Simon Riley simon.riley@ed.ac.uk
Assistant Director of Taught Programmes Chris McKenzie christopher.mckenzie@ed.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Lindsay Rutherford lindsay.rutherford@ed.ac.uk