Clinical Sciences

Postgraduate Research

Student Support

Each PhD student must have at least two supervisors within the first two months of starting their degree programme, Masters by Research (MSc(R)) students will be appointed one Supervisor.

There are two types of supervision arrangement (most often it is the first option);

1) Principal Supervisor plus Assistant Supervisor(s); or,

2) Co-Supervisors - one of whom is designated the Lead Supervisor.

Supervisors provide support, help and guidance during study for a research degree and report to the Deanery regularly on progression and other matters.  The role of a supervisor is described in the Postgraduate Degree Programme Regulations (Sections 35 and 36) and in the Code of Practice for Supervisors and Research Students. The Principal Supervisor (or Lead Co-Supervisor) may request changes to the Supervisory Team at any time by contacting the Deanery Office with details of the proposed changes. All supervisor appointments are subject to approval by the Deanery Director of Postgraduate Studies, Prof Margarete Heck.  You will also be supported throughout your time at university by a Student Support Team.

Student Staff Liaison Committee

The SSLC provides a formal mechanism for communication and discussion between academic and administrative staff and representatives of the student body, relating to all matters connected with improving the degree programmes and the student experience. In addition it provides a mechanism to escalate issues that are out with the remit of the SSLC to resolve, to School, College, University or Support Service for further action

The SSLC is held at Centre level, these are organized by the PGR centre administrator in collaboration with the CSTO Student Services Administrator.

Programme Administrator Email
Cardiovascular Biology MScR Lynn Meikle lynn.meikle@ed.ac.uk
Cardiovascular Sciences PhD Lynn Meikle lynn.meikle@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Brain Sciences Charlotte Iliakis ccbs-phd@ed.ac.uk
Child Life & Health PhD Sarah Farnworth-McHugh sfarnwo1@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Dentistry PhD Jackie McGurk epdi@ed.ac.uk
Doctor of Dental Surgery Jackie McGurk epdi@ed.ac.uk
Medical Sciences MMedSci Karen Muir karen.muir@ed.ac.uk
Orthopaedics and Trauma Medicine PhD Kimberley Moore Ede kimberley.mooreede@ed.ac.uk
Psychiatry PhD/MScR Charlotte Iliakis ccbs-phd@ed.ac.uk
Regenerative Medicine and Tissue Repair MScR Kelly Douglas mscr.regenmedrepair@ed.ac.uk
Reproductive Health Phd Dean Ainscough dean.ainscough@ed.ac.uk
Reproductive Sciences MScR Dean Ainscough dean.ainscough@ed.ac.uk
Respiratory Medicine PhD Alexandra Moreira CIR.Postgraduate@ed.ac.uk
Surgery PhD Susan Keggie s.keggie@ed.ac.uk
Tissue Repair PhD/MScR Kelly Douglas kelly.douglas@ed.ac.uk
Integrated Studies in Medical Science with Engagement PhD Alexandra Moreira alexandra.moreira@ed.ac.uk
Regenerative Medicine PhD Kelly Douglas kelly.douglas@ed.ac.uk
Edinburgh Dental Institute Jackie McGurk jackie.mcgurk@ed.ac.uk
Geriatric Medicine PhD Maureen Harding geriatricmedicine@ed.ac.uk
Inflammation PhD Alexandra Moreira CIR.Postgraduate@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Sciences Teaching Organisation Team
Manager Moira Henderson moira.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Student Services Administrator Christy Abatan christy.abatan@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research Programmes Margarete Heck margarete.heck@ed.ac.uk
Assistant Director of Research Programmes Lesley Forrester lesley.forrester@ed.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Lindsay Rutherford lindsay.rutherford@ed.ac.uk