Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
Edinburgh Neuroscience and CCBS logos

MS Society Edinburgh Centre for MS Research

The MS Society Edinburgh Centre for MS Research is a multidisciplinary centre-without-walls funded by the MS Society, dedicated to laboratory, translational and clinical research into multiple sclerosis.


MS Society Edinburgh Centre for MS Research logo

The MS Centre brings together research expertise in multiple sclerosis (MS) from across the University of Edinburgh. The Centre was founded in 2007 with a grant from the MS Society, which was renewed in 2015 and again in 2021 with a further £1.85 million.  

Arguably the greatest need in MS is effective treatments to slow, stop or reverse the accumulation of disability, especially in the progressive phase. This is something that people living with the condition tell us continually. 

To give people with progressive MS the very best chance of finding a beneficial medicine, and fast, research within the Centre is focused on three areas:

  • understanding more about neurodegeneration in progressive MS
  • creating a drug discovery pipeline involving tests to screen drugs that may prevent neurodegeneration
  • improving the ways we can use brain imaging in people with MS, to measure neurodegeneration and test the effectiveness of drugs in clinical trials

Summary video

In this 6-minute video, you will meet some of the researchers at the Centre and find out how we are working to achieve our research aims.

Contact us

To get in touch, please email Pamela Macdonald, Stakeholder Engagement Manager, on ms-research-centre@ed.ac.uk.

For media enquiries, please contact press.office@ed.ac.uk.

MS Centre leadership team

The MS Society Edinburgh Centre for MS Research is led by four highly experienced Professors at the University of Edinburgh.

Professor David Lyons (co-Lead) Chair of Neurobiology Profile
Professor Anna Williams (co-Lead) Chair of Regenerative Neurology Profile
Professor Adam Waldman Chair of Neuroradiology Profile
Professor Siddharthan Chandran MacDonald Chair of  Neurology Profile    


All are University of Edinburgh unless otherwise stated.

Dr Rafael Almeida Chancellor's Fellow Profile
Dr Mark Bastin Reader in Brain Imaging Profile
Professor Neil Carragher Chair of Drug Discovery Profile
Dr Peter Connick Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer Profile
Professor Tim Czopka Chair of Glial Cell Biology Profile
Professor Julia Edgar Chair of Neurobiology, University of Glasgow Profile
Professor Seth Grant Chair of Molecular Neuroscience Profile
Professor Giles Hardingham City of Edinburgh Chair of Pharmacology Profile
Professor David Hunt Chair of Neuroinflammation Medicine Profile
Dr Don Mahad Senior Clinical Lecturer Profile
Professor Dies Meijer

Chair of Cellular Neurobiology

Dr Veronique Miron MRC Senior Non-Clinical Fellow Profile
Professor Josef Priller Chair of Brain Inflammation and Repair Profile
Professor Colin Smith Chair of Neuropathology Profile
Professor Tara Spires-Jones Chair of Neurodegeneration Profile
Dr Adriana Tavares Research Fellow in Positron Emission Tomography Profile
Professor Joanna Wardlaw Chair of Applied Neuroimaging Profile

Related links

MS Society