Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
Edinburgh Neuroscience and CCBS logos

Congratulations to Stroke Association awardees

May 2018: Edinburgh investigators were the recipients of all the awards at The Stroke Association Research Awards Ceremony in London.

This year The Stroke Association held their Keynote Lecture and Awards ceremony on 2nd May at Guildhall, London.

The Keynote Lecture was delivered by Professor Marion Walker MBE, Professor of Stroke Rehabilitation and Associate Pro Vice Chancellor for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion at the University of Nottingham.

Research Awards: a 'clean sweep' for Edinburgh

Following the Keynote Lecture, The Stroke Association proudly presented this year's four awards. We were delighted to learn that all four awards went to Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences investigators.

Stroke Association awardees with Hilary Reynolds, Executive Director of Strategy and Research, Stroke Association
L-R: Dr Grant Mair, Dr Emily Sena, Hilary Reynolds CBE (Executive Director of Strategy and Research, Stroke Association), Prof Colin Smith, Prof Rustam Al-Shahi Salman. Photo © Stroke Association

In addition, Dr Stewart Wiseman was awarded a Post-doctoral Fellowship for his project entitled "The eye and brain: Evaluation of the retinal nerve fibres and vessels as markers of small vessel disease progression or regression on neuroimaging".

Many congratulations to all!

Related links

Researcher profiles:

Stroke Association Keynote Lecture 2018

Brain vascular disease (including stroke) research at the Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences

Research to Understand Stroke due to Haemorrhage (RUSH)