Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
Edinburgh Neuroscience and CCBS logos

Arthur Fonville Award recipients announced

Congratulations to the three winners of the inaugural year of the Arthur Fonville Award for Stroke Research.

The standard of applications was so high that there was not just one, but three, winners!

Many congratulations to:

  • Francesca Wright, for “Psychological associations of post-stroke anxiety: A systematic review and meta-analysis”
  • Scott Osborne, for “Confirmation and Sub-classification of Stroke Cases in UK Biobank”
  • Pheng Toh, for, “Radiographic features of intracerebral haemorrhage associated with pathologically-proven cerebral amyloid angiopathy: systematic review and meta-analysis”
Recipients of the Arthur Fonville Award 2015
The Fonville family presented certificates with Prof Rustam Al-Shahi Salman (far right) to Francesca Wright (centre) and Scott Osborne (right of centre) on 23rd October 2015.

About the award

The Arthur Fonville Award is a prize for a 1,500 word dissertation summarising a research project into any aspect of stroke, conducted by a medical student registered at the University of Edinburgh in their clinical years. There is a prize of £100 for the best entry.

This posthumous award was established in memory of Arthur Fonville, a medical student from the University of Amsterdam, who worked with the Research to Understand Stroke due to Haemorrhage (RUSH) team in Edinburgh 2011-2013 and died in September 2014.

Related Links

Arthur Fonville Award

Research to Understand Stroke due to Haemorrhage (RUSH)