Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences

Who we are

Information about the make-up of CCBS and its place in the University structure.

Delegates listening to a talk at a conference

The people

  • CCBS has 47 Principal Investigators (PIs).
  • >70% of the PIs are also active NHS clinicians.
  • The Director of CCBS is Professor Siddharthan Chandran, MacDonald Professor of Neurology
  • The PIs supervise approximately 80 clinical or non-clinical PhD students, plus MSc students and those on other postgraduate courses.
  • CCBS hosts and participates in three flagship clinical academic training programmes: Edinburgh Clinical Academic Training (ECAT); PsySTAR; and the Rowling Scholarships.
  • A further 30 researchers are Associate Members, whose primary affiliation is elsewhere but who are closely linked with CCBS research projects.
Principal Investigators of the Euan MacDonald Centre
Principal Investigators of the Euan MacDonald Centre for Motor Neurone Disease Research at their Strategy Meeting, September 2014

The Centre

  • CCBS is part of the Deanery of Clinical Sciences, Edinburgh Medical School, in the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine.
  • CCBS is part of Edinburgh Neuroscience: the vibrant, integrated, and interdisciplinary research structure that facilitates interaction between researchers across groups, Centres, Schools and Colleges.
  • For administrative purposes, CCBS is divided into: Clinical Neurosciences (Director: Professor Siddharthan Chandran); Neuroimaging Sciences (Director: Professor Joanna Wardlaw); and Psychiatry (Director: Professor Stephen Lawrie).

Philanthropic hubs

CCBS researchers play a leading role in specialist centres of excellence, many of which are funded by philanthropic donations: