MRC Centre for Reproductive Health
MRC Logo JAN 2019

Menu

Male contraception put to the test in Manchester and Edinburgh

Couples in Edinburgh and Manchester are being invited to take part in a ground-breaking international study trialling a new form of male contraception.

Men will be asked to use a daily gel that suppresses sperm production as their sole method of birth control as part of two-year study to assess whether the gel is effective in preventing pregnancy and whether this method is acceptable to couples.

The gel – called NEST/T – is a hormone-based treatment that is designed to reduce sperm production without affecting libido. Men will apply the gel daily to their upper arms and shoulders and attend monthly clinics to monitor their sperm count.

Condoms and vasectomy are currently the only form of contraception available to men. Many women experience unacceptable side effects with their contraceptive method and so couples are looking for alternatives.

The study is being led in the UK by Saint Mary’s Hospital, part of Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust, and the University of Edinburgh.  It is part of an international project funded by the US National Institute of Health and led by the Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute and the University of Washington School of Medicine.

Men aged between 18 and 50, who are in a stable relationship with a woman aged between 18 and 34, are invited to be part of the trail by calling 0161 276 3296 (Manchester) or 0131 242 2669 (Edinburgh).

Professor Richard Anderson, of the University of Edinburgh’s MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, said: “Previous trials have shown that hormonal contraception for men can be safe and effective. This trial allows men to self-administer a gel, which may be much more convenient and acceptable than needing repeated injections.”

Dr Cheryl Fitzgerald, Consultant Gynaecologist at Saint Mary’s Hospital, who is leading the study in Manchester said: “Currently the contraceptive options for men are limited to condoms and vasectomies. We believe this preparation will allow men to control their fertility in a safe and simple way.”

For more information please contact:

Jen Middleton, Press & PR Office, University of Edinburgh, 0131 650 6514, 07795 640662, Jen.Middleton@ed.ac.uk

Adam Shepphard, Senior Communications Manager, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust, 0161 701 2679, adam.shepphard@mft.nhs.uk


Broadcast:

[Login ID press.office@ed.ac.uk , password = pass ]

Broadcast: [Login ID press.office@ed.ac.uk , password = pass ]

BBC Radio 5 LiveBBC Radio Good Morning Scotland, STV, Forth 2, Capital Radio, TALKRadio, Newstalk Radio (Ireland), TernTV, BBC Radio LincolnshireRadio XBBC Radio Coventry & WarwickshireLBCBBC Radio NorfolkRadio BordersHeart Scotland

Press coverage

Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/society/2019/jan/31/male-contraceptive-gel-couples-trial-manchester-edinburgh

Daily Telegraph https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2019/01/31/male-volunteers-wanted-trial-groundbreaking-contraceptive-gel/

The Sun https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/8327633/gel-male-contraceptive-rub-arms/

Daily Record https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/scots-couples-sought-two-year-13933867

STV https://stv.tv/news/east-central/1435126-groundbreaking-male-contraception-trial-needs-volunteers/

Herald Scotland https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/17401277.scots-couples-to-join-trial-of-promising-male-contraceptive-gel/

The Scotsman https://www.scotsman.com/news/volunteers-needed-male-contraception-gel-study-seeks-edinburgh-men-1-4865455

Pharma Times http://www.pharmatimes.com/news/male_contraception_being_tested_in_manchester_and_edinburgh_1276950

Manchester Evening News https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/mancunian-men-wanted-test-contraceptive-15762332

Planet Radio https://planetradio.co.uk/hits-radio/manchester/news/couples-in-manchester-invited-to-take-part-in-a-ground-breaking-study-testing-a-new-form-of-male-contraception/

Edinburgh Evening News https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/health/edinburgh-men-needed-for-male-contraceptive-study-1-4865463

BreakingNews.ie https://www.breakingnews.ie/world/male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel-901394.html

Irish Examiner https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/world/male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel-901394.html

Dunfermline Press https://www.dunfermlinepress.com/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Yahoo! News https://uk.news.yahoo.com/male-volunteers-wanted-groundbreaking-trial-111551395.html

Belfast Telegraph https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel-37769461.html

Bicester Advertiser https://www.bicesteradvertiser.net/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Hereford Times https://www.herefordtimes.com/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Worcester News https://www.worcesternews.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

East Lothian Courier https://www.eastlothiancourier.com/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Aberdeen Evening Express https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/news/scotland/male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

News Shopper https://www.newsshopper.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Shropshire Star https://www.shropshirestar.com/news/uk-news/2019/01/31/male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Express & Star https://www.expressandstar.com/news/uk-news/2019/01/31/male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Oxford Mail https://www.oxfordmail.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Malvern Gazette https://www.malverngazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Keighley News https://www.keighleynews.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Powys County Times https://www.countytimes.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Richmond & Twickenham Times https://www.richmondandtwickenhamtimes.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Essex County Standard https://www.gazette-news.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Leigh Journal https://www.leighjournal.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Telegraph & Argus https://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Westmorland Gazette https://www.thewestmorlandgazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Times & Star https://www.timesandstar.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Northwich Guardian https://www.northwichguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Dorset Echo https://www.dorsetecho.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Leader Live https://www.leaderlive.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Warrington Guardian https://www.warringtonguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

The Argus https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Basingstoke Gazette https://www.basingstokegazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Lancaster & Morecambe Citizen https://www.thelancasterandmorecambecitizen.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Gazette & Herald https://www.gazetteandherald.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Denbighshire Free Press https://www.denbighshirefreepress.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Andover Advertiser https://www.andoveradvertiser.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Witney Gazette https://www.witneygazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Romsey Advertiser https://www.romseyadvertiser.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Borders Counties Advertizer https://www.bordercountiesadvertizer.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Tivyside Advertiser https://www.tivysideadvertiser.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Craven Herald & Pioneer https://www.cravenherald.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Knutsford Guardian https://www.knutsfordguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Braintree & Witham Times https://www.braintreeandwithamtimes.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Bromsgrove Advertiser https://www.bromsgroveadvertiser.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

The Northern Echo https://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

News & Star https://www.newsandstar.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Greenock Telegraph https://www.greenocktelegraph.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Ilkley Gazette https://www.ilkleygazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Messenger Newspapers https://www.messengernewspapers.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

St Helens Star https://www.sthelensstar.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Sutton & Croydon Guardian https://www.yourlocalguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

NWE Mail https://www.nwemail.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Swindon Advertiser https://www.swindonadvertiser.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Falmouth Packet https://www.falmouthpacket.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Epping Forest Guardian https://www.eppingforestguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Lancashire Telegraph https://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Wiltshire Times https://www.wiltshiretimes.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Clacton & Frinton Gazette https://www.clactonandfrintongazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Darlington & Stockton Times https://www.darlingtonandstocktontimes.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Chester Standard https://www.chesterstandard.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Daily Echo https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Whitchurch Herald https://www.whitchurchherald.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Western Telegraph https://www.westerntelegraph.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Gazette Series https://www.gazetteseries.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Somerset County Gazette https://www.somersetcountygazette.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Ledbury Reporter https://www.ledburyreporter.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Evesham Journal https://www.eveshamjournal.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

North Wales Chronicle https://www.northwaleschronicle.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Wirral Globe https://www.wirralglobe.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Hampshire Chronicle https://www.hampshirechronicle.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

South Wales Guardian https://www.southwalesguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Wimbledon Guardian https://www.wimbledonguardian.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Bournemouth Daily Echo https://www.bournemouthecho.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Bury Times  https://www.burytimes.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

Stourbridge News https://www.stourbridgenews.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/

AOL.co.uk https://www.aol.co.uk/living/2019/01/31/male-volunteers-wanted-for-a-groundbreakinga-trial-of-contrac/?guccounter=1

Wilts & Gloucestershire Standard https://www.wiltsglosstandard.co.uk/news/national/17399222.male-volunteers-wanted-for-groundbreaking-trial-of-contraceptive-gel/