MRC Centre for Reproductive Health
MRC Logo JAN 2019

Edinburgh Clinical Seminar Series

Informative seminars available to local clinical and University staff and students only.

Location

Blackford Room, Postgraduate Medical Education Centre, Royal infirmary of Edinburgh.

Lunch at 12:30 provided by the sponsor of the seminar. Lecture at 1pm. Time 12.30-1.30pm.

Seminars 2019

 

Friday 12 April, 2019

Title: Drugs and the Developing Brain

Professor James Boardman (Edinburgh)

Sponsor: TBC

 

Friday 15 March, 2019

Title: TBC

Dr. Julia Wilkins (Edinburgh)

Sponsor: TBC

Friday 1 February, 2019

Title: Social Media in Medicine & its contribution to ‘Repealing the 8th’: An Irish Obstetricians View!'

Dr. Maeve Eogan (Dublin)

Sponsor:  Dermal Laboratories

Past Seminars 2018

 

Friday 16 February, 2018

Title: A Gynaecologist "In Space"

Dr Varsha Jain

Sponsor: Infofolic / Pharamsure

Friday 16 March, 2018

Title: Electronic Personal Assessment Questionnaires in Women's' Health Using technology to support enhance quality & efficiency; Urogynaecology, menstrual, vulval disorders & beyond.

Dr. Stephen Radley (Sheffield)

Sponsor: Kyowa Kirin

Friday 27 April, 2018

Title: Disorders of Sex Development.... and beyond!

Dr. Naomi Crouch (Bristol)

Sponsor: BSN Medical

Friday 18 May, 2018

Title: Predicting survival in women with ovarian cancer.

Professor Charlie Gourley (Edinburgh)

Sponsor: KeboMed

Friday 15 June, 2018

Title: Abortion in the Trump Era

Dr. Audrey Brown (Glasgow)

Sponsor: Baxter

Friday 21 September, 2018

Title: Acupuncture: an option for managing chronic pelvic pain in women

Dr Ooi-Thye Chong (Edinburgh)

Sponsor: Clinical Innovations

Friday 2 November, 2018

Title: Behaviours in Healthcare

Dr Neil Spenceley (Glasgow)

Sponsor: Dermal Laboratories

Friday 9 November, 2018

Title: Stillbirth Prevention in Scotland

Dr Sarah Stock (Edinburgh)

Sponsor: Gedeon Richter

Friday 7 December, 2018

Helen Watts (Axiom Advocates, Edinburgh) 

Title:  “Medicine and the Law, an update”

Sponsor: Baxter

 

Past Seminars 2017

Friday 31 March, 2017

Title: Reproductive surgery: Competition or complimentary to ART?

Miss Lynne Robinson, Birmingham

Sponsor: Cooper Surgical

Friday 7 April, 2017

Title:  The Lady of Laetoli – has Global Maternal Mortality moved on?

Dr Brian McGowan, Borders

Sponsor:

 

Friday 5 May, 2017

Title:  Challenging the placental aetiology of preeclampsia dogma’

Professor Baskaran Thilaganathan, London

Sponsor: Ethicon

Friday 19 May, 2017

Title:  Where early pregnancy meets obstetrics: caesarean ectopic or placenta acreta?

Miss Jemma Johns, London

Sponsor: Eden

Friday 30 May, 2017

Title: Cholestasis in pregnancy: aetiology and implications for maternal and child health

Professor Catherine Williamson, London

Sponsor: STORZ

Friday 23 June, 2017

Title:  Peri- operative care in gynaecology

Dr James May, Edinburgh

Sponsor: Pierre-Fabre

Friday 15 September, 2017

Title: Postpartum intrauterine contraception

Prof Paul Blumenthal (Stanford, USA)

Sponsor: KEBOMED

Friday 29 September, 2017

Title: The emerging fetal genome: Holy Grail or Pandora's Box?

Dr Kelly Cohen (Leeds)

Sponsor: PleurX

Friday 6 October, 2017

Title: Achieving work-life balance: reflections from a GP/stand up comedian

Dr Ahmed Kazmi (London)

Sponsor:

Friday 13 October, 2017

Title: Improving patient outcomes in obstetrics and gynaecology: an evidence based approach?

Prof Khalid Khan (London)

Sponsor:

Friday 27 October, 2017

Title: Regulation in Assisted Reproductive Technology

Dr Susheel Vani (Glasgow)

Sponsor:

Friday 10 November, 2017

Title: Clinical Effectiveness in sexual and reproductive health – influencing UK clinical practice

The Chalmers CEU team: (Clinical Effectiveness Unit)

Sponsor:

Friday 24 November, 2017

Title: Reproductive Policy in the wake of Zika virus

Dr Catherine Aitken (Cambridge)

Sponsor:

Friday 8 December, 2017

Title: Long-term offspring health outcomes of planned caesarean section

Dr Mairead Black (Aberdeen)

Sponsor:

Friday 15 December, 2017

Title: Each Baby Counts – a 5 year quality improvement programme

Prof Alan Cameron (Glasgow)

Sponsor:

 

 

Seminar audience at the CRH

 

Travel information to Little France on College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine website