Centre for Cardiovascular Science

David Webb Research Group

Information on the research interests, projects, and members of David Webb's Research Group.

David Webb profile image
Professor David Webb

Professor David Webb

Christison Chair of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology

Lead, Hypertension and Renal Theme (HART), QMRI

Lead, Lothian ESC Hypertension Excellence Centre

Research

My main clinical interests are in hypertension, chronic kidney disease and cardiovascular risk management and I run a European Society of Hypertension (ESH) Hypertension Excellence Centre in Edinburgh, and coordinate hypertension services in Lothian. My research focuses on the pathophysiology of hypertension and renal disease, particularly arterial stiffness and endothelial function, and includes a large body of work on exploiting the endothelin system for patients with vascular disease. My research spans from studies in animal models of human disease to translational, first-in-human and proof-of-principle studies, and large clinical trials. I am keen to see effective treatments introduced into clinical practice. 

For a list of up-to-date publications, please visit:

David Webb's Profile Page

Research Group Members

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Lorraine Bruce Senior Research Technician lorraine.bruce@ed.ac.uk
Tom Caparrotta Pharmaco-epidemiologist, MRC University Unit for Human Genetics tom.caparrotta@igmm.ed.ac.uk
Morag Mccallum Senior Research Nurse Morag.McCallum@ed.ac.uk
Vanessa Melville Nurse Manager V.Melville@ed.ac.uk

Key Collaborators

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Matthew Bailey Personal Chair of Renal Physiology Matthew.Bailey@ed.ac.uk
Professor Helen Colhoun AXA Chair of Medical Informatics and Life Course Epidemiology helen.colhoun@ed.ac.uk
James Dear Reader james.dear@ed.ac.uk
Neeraj Dhaun (Bean) Professor of Nephrology; Honorary Consultant Nephrologist; Director Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility bean.dhaun@ed.ac.uk
Michael Eddleston Personal Chair of Clinical Toxicology m.eddleston@ed.ac.uk
Patrick Hadoke Reader Patrick.Hadoke@ed.ac.uk

Other Collaborators

Name Role Email
Dr Iain MacIntyre Honorary Clinical Fellow imacint2@exseed.ed.ac.uk