Cancer Research UK Edinburgh Centre

IGMM seminar series

The IGMM Seminar Series attracts distinguished scientists from around the world working in the fields of genetics, molecular medicine and cancer research, and whose research complements that being done at IGMM.

Unless stated, all seminars take place at 1pm in the IGMM Lecture Theatre.

2018

September

Thursday 6 September : A receptor-selective Jag1 mutation induces an Alagille syndrome phenotype in mice: New models and tools to study cholangiopathies

Dr Emma Andersson, Karolinska Institute

Host: Dr Luke Boulter

Thursday 13 September : Mechanisms of membrane protein biogenesis

Dr Ramunajan Hegde, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Host: Dr Andy Finch

Thursday 20 September : TBA

Professor Nada Jabado, McGill University

Host: Professor Wendy Bickmore

October

Thursday 4 October : TBA

Professor Caroline Dean, John Innes Centre,  University of York

Host: Professor Andrew Jackson

Tuesday 9 October : Capitalizing on Psychiatric Genetics: Pathways for Translating Genetic Findings into the Clinic

Professor David Glahn, Yale University

Host: Professor Pippa Thomson

Thursday 11 October : TBA

Dr Atlanta Cook, Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh

Host: Professor Javier Caceres

Tuesday 16 October : TBA

Professor Jef Boeke, Institute for Systems Genetics, New York University

Host: Professor Wendy Bickmore

Thursday 25 October : TBA

Professor Massimo Palmarini, MRC Centre for Virus Research, University of Glasgow

Host: Professor Nick Hastie

November

Thursday 8 November : TBA

Professor Robert Russell, University of Heidelberg

Host: Dr Joe Marsh

Thursday 15 November : TBA

Dr John Marioni, EBI, Hinxton

Host: Professor Chris Ponting

Thursday 22 November : TBA

Professor Moira Whyte, Centre for Inflammation Research, University of Edinburgh

Host: Professor Andrew Jackson

Thursday 29 November : TBA

Dr Adam Butterworth, University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Jim Wilson

 

2019

January

Thursday 17 January : TBA

 Professor Jussi Taipale, University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Colin Semple

Thursday 24th January : Mental health and circadian rhythms in the UK Biobank cohort

Professor Daniel Smith, University of Glasgow

Host: Professor David Porteous

Thursday 31 January : TBA

Professor Didier Trono, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

Host: Professor Martin Taylor

February

Thursday 7 February : TBA

Professor Paul Mischel, Ludwig Cancer Research, UC San Diego

Host: Juliet Luft

Thursday 21 February : TBA

Dr Emily Osterweil, Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences, University of Edinburgh

Host: Dr Tamir Chandra

Thursday 28 February : TBA

Professor Steve Jackson, University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Neil Carragher

March

Thursday 7 March : TBA

Professor Paul Lehner, Cambridge Institute of Medical Research

Host: Professor Yanick Crow

Thursday 14 March : TBA

Dr Gaelle Legube, CBI Toulouse

Host: Dr Martin Reijns

Thursday 21 March : Coping with a stressful start in life

Dr Alex Gould, Francis Crick Institute

Host: Dr Andy Finch

Thursday 28 March : Organising the nucleus during tissue differentiation: silencing repeats and turning on genes

Professor Susan Gasser, Friedrich Miescher Institute

Host: Professor Wendy Bickmore

April

Thursday 25 April : Mechanistic insights into the mRNA poly(A) tail machinery

Dr Lori Passmore, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Host: Professor Javier Caceres

May

Thursday 2 May : TBA

Professor Lalita Ramakrishnan,  University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Andrew Jackson

Thursday 9 May : TBA

Dr Tilo Kunath, MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh

Host: Dr Kathy Evans

Tuesday 28 May : TBA

Professor Ibrahim Cisse, MIT

Host: Professor Wendy Bickmore

June

Thursday 27 June : TBA

Professor Nicolas Manel, Institut Curie, Paris

Host: Professor Yanick Crow

July

Thursday 4 July : TBA

Dr Gaia Pigino, Max Panck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Host: Dr Pleasantine Mill