Biomedical Sciences

Academic staff based in Centres

Contact details and links to profiles of BMS Academic staff in Centres

 

Name

Title

Email

Phone

Centre 

Research interest

B

         
Dr Till Bachmann Reader and Online MSc Programme Director Till.bachmann@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 9438 DIPM Diagnostics, biosensors, and pathogen detection.
Prof Catherina Becker Deputy Director of CDBS and Professor of Neural Development and Regeneration  Catherina.Becker@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 7983 CDBS Development and regeneration of the zebrafish nervous system
Dr Thomas Becker Senior Lecturer/Programme Director Thomas.becker@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6225 CDBS Development and regeneration of the zebrafish nervous system
Prof Peter Brophy Professor P.Brophy@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 7981 CDBS Molecular and cell biology of axon-glia interactions in health and disease
Dr Paula Brunton ZJU Academic Track Lecturer P.J.Brunton@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1507 CDBS Stress physiology
Dr Emanuel Busch Chancellors Fellow Emanuel.Busch@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1727 CDBS Physiology and genetics of sensory neural circuits in C.elegans

C

         
Dr Stuart Cobb Reader in Neuroscience Stuart.cobb@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9858 CDBS Novel therapies for neurodevelopmental disorders
Prof Michael Cousin

Professor of Neuronal Cell Biology and Head of Pre-Clinical Research at the Muir Maxwell Epilepsy Centre

M.Cousin@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3259 CDBS Presynaptic cell biology

D

         
Prof Jamie Davies

Professor of Experimental Anatomy

Jamie.Davies@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2999 CDBS Organ Development, Tissue Engineering, Synthetic Biology, Bioinformatic support for all of the above
Dr Michael Daw

Edinburgh-Zhejiang Lecturer

Michael.Daw@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3722 CDBS Developmental physiology of the Barrel Cortex
Dr Barry Denholm Lecturer Barry.Denholm@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9880 CDBS Organ development and physiology
Dr Maria Doitsidou Chancellors Fellow Maria.Doitsidou@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1727 CDBS Degeneration of dopaminergic neurons
Prof Ian Duguid

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow and Professor of Cellular and Systems Neuroscience

Ian.Duguid@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3113 CDBS Neural circuits and motor behaviour
Prof Mayank Dutia

Professor of Systems Neurophysiology

M.B.Dutia@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3252 CDBS The vestibular system and cerebellum

E

         
Prof Mark Evans

Professor of Cellular Pharmacology

Mark.evans@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1501 CDBS Calcium signalling & hypoxia-response coupling

F

         
Dr Peter Flatman

Senior Lecturer in Physiology

Peter.Flatman@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3254 CDBS Control of membrane within the cell
Prof Susan Fleetwood-Walker

Professor of Sensory Neuroscience

S.M.Fleetwood-Walker@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1696 CDBS Molecular mechanisms of pain and analgesia

G

         
Prof Tom Gillingwater

Professor of Anatomy

T.Gillingwater@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3724 CDBS New therapies for neurodegenerative diseases
Dr Christos Gkogkas Chancellors Fellow Christos.Gkogkas@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3507 CDBS Translational control in neuropsychiatric diseases
Dr Sebastian Greiss Chancellors Fellow S.Greiss@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1727 CDBS Genetic code expansion and neural circuits

H

         
Prof Jürgen Haas  Director, Division of Infection and Pathway Medicine  Juergen.haas@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6859 DIPM Genetic polymorphisms
Dr Patrick Hadoke Senior Academic Fellow in Pharmacology Patrick.hadoke@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6742 CVS Atherosclerosis, Angiogenesis, glucocorticoids, androgens, stem cells, imaging.
Dr Andrew Hall Reader A.Hall@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3263 CDBS Chondrocytes, cartilage and osteoarthritis
Prof Giles Hardingham

Professor of Molecular Neurobiology

Giles.hardingham@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 7961 CDBS Protective & degenerative signalling in the CNS
Dr Leah Herrgen Principal Investigator Lherrgen@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 9448 CDBS Molecular and cellular mechanisms of brain repair
Prof Karen Horsburgh Principal Investigator Karen.Horsburgh@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6216 CDBS Influence of vascular dysfunction on cognitive decline:relevant to ageing, vascular and Alzheimers disease

J

         
Dr Mandy Jackson

Senior Lecturer

Mandy.Jackson@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 7518 CDBS Purkinje cell dysfunction and degeneration
Prof Andrew Jarman

Professor of Developmental Cell Biology

Andrew.Jarman@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3737 CDBS Developmental control of sensory neurogenesis and ciliogenesis

K

         
Prof Peter Kind Director, Patrick Wild Centre and Director, Simons Initiative  for the Developing Brain P.Kind@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1762 CDBS Disorders of brain development

L

         
Prof Gareth Leng

Professor of Experimental Physiology

Gareth.Leng@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 2869 CDBS Physiology of neuroendocrine networks
Dr Paul Le Tissier Lecturer Paul.LeTissier@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3107 CDBS Regulation of the anterior pituitary gland
Dr Dawn Livingstone

Lecturer

Dawn.Livingstone@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9880 CDBS Steroid hormone signalling
Prof David Lyons Professor of Neurobiology David.Lyons@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 7978 CDBS Mechanisms of myelinated axon formation, function and repair
Prof Mike Ludwig

Professor of Neurophysiology

Mike.Ludwig@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3275 CDBS Neuropeptides and their effects on behaviour

M

         
Dr Sutherland Maciver

Reader

S.Maciver@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3714 CDBS The protein Actin and the biology of amoebae
Dr John Mason Reader John.Mason@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 6820 CDBS Embryonic development of the forebrain
Prof Dies Meijer Professor of Cellular Neurobiology Dies.Meijer@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6238 CDBS Molecular genetics of myelination and synapse formation
Dr John Menzies ZJU UG Programme Director John.Menzies@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CDBS Appetite control and food choice
Dr Gracan Michlewski ZJU Academic Track Lecturer Gracjan.Michlewski@ed.ac.uk   DIPM Regulation of gene expression, RNA processing and innate immune response to RNA viruses
Dr Rory Mitchell

Senior Lecturer

Rory.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3550 CDBS Receptor-mediated signal transduction
Prof Richard Morris Professor of Neuroscience Richard.G.M.Morris@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3520 CDBS Neurobiology of learning and memory
Dr Joanne Murray

(Zhejiang) Academic Track Lecturer

Jmurra19@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CDBS Growth and development of the ovarian follicle
Dr Lyndsay Murray

Lecturer in Anatomy

Lyndsay.Murray@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 5985 CDBS Degeneration of motor neurons

N

         
Prof Matthew Nolan Professor of Neural Circuits and Computation Matt.Nolan@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9874 CDBS Neural circuits and computation

O

         
Dr Laura O'Hara ZJU Academic Track Lecturer L.Ohara@ed.ac.uk   CDBS Sex steroid receptors in the hypothalamus and pituitary
Dr Harry Olverman Senior Lecturer H.Olverman@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3523 CDBS Human mood disorders
Dr Iris Oren Chancellors Fellow Iris.Oren@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1903 CDBS Memory and diseases
Dr Emily Osterweil Chancellors Fellow Emily.Osterweil@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3722 CDBS mRNA translation and synaptic connections

P

         
Dr Jennifer Paxton

Lecturer in Anatomy

J.Z.Paxton@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 5250 CDBS Musculoskeletal tissue engineering
Dr Guisy Pennetta Lecturer G.Pennetta@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 3201 CDBS Molecular mechanisms of neurodegenerative diseases
Dr Kim Picozzi Senior Lecturer in Global Health and Principal Investigator Kim.Picozzi@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 9376 DIPM Global health, infectious diseases, molecular epidemiology, neglected zoonotic diseases
Dr Tom Pratt Lecturer T.Pratt@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3732 CDBS Roles of carbohydrates in the developing brain
Prof David Price

Professor of Developmental Neurobiology

David.Price@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3262 CDBS How brains are made

R

         
Prof Richard Ribchester Professor of Cellular Neuroscience Richard.Ribchester@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3256 CDBS Neuromuscular connections
Dr Nathalie Rochefort Chancellors Fellow N.Rochefort@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3113 CDBS Neural processing of visual information
Dr Nicola Romano ZJU Academic Track lecturer nicola.romano@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CDBS Single cell information processing in the pituitary

S

         
Dr Thamarai Dorai-Schneiders Principal Investigator Thamarai.Schneiders@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6285 DIPM Antibiotic resistance, bacteria
Dr Mariela Scortti Senior Research Fellow M.scortti@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 3624 DIPM Molecular determinants of bacterial virulence
Prof Mike Shipston Dean, Biomedical Sciences and Professor of Physiology Mike.Shipston@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3253 CDBS Ion channel physiology
Dr Dirk Sieger Chancellors’s Fellow Dirk.Sieger@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6161 CDBS

Microglia-tumour interactions

Dr Martin Simmen Lecturer M.Simmen@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1773 CDBS

Computational modelling of nucleosome positions

Dr Paul Skehel Senior lecturer Paul.Skehel@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1961 CDBS Molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration
Dr Richard Sloan ZJU Academic Track Lecturer Richard.Sloan@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6281 DIPM Interferon induced transmembrane proteins, HIV, retroviruses
Dr Karen Smillie Lecturer K.Smillie@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1506 CDBS Signalling, neurones & networks
Prof Norah Spears

Professor of Reproductive Physiology

Norah.Spears@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3267 CDBS

Female reproductive development

Prof Tara Spires-Jones Deputy Director, Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences Tara.Spires-Jones@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1895 CDBS  Degenerative brain diseases and ageing
Dr Melanie Stefan

Edinburgh-Zhejiang Lecturer

Mstefan@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1711 CDBS Understanding of learning and memory

T

         
Dr Simon Talbot Principal Investigator and Senior Lecturer S.Talbot@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6282 DIPM Antibodies, chimeric T-cell receptors
Prof Evelyn Telfer   Evelyn.Telfer@ed.ac.uk   CDBS Follicle and oocyte development
Dr Thomas Theil

Senior Lecturer

Thomas.theil@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3721 CDBS

Patterning and axon pathfinding in the forebrain

Dr Carole Torsney

Lecturer

Carole.Torsney@ed.ac.uk
0131 650 9881 CDBS Somatosensory plasticity

V

         
Dr Sander Van Den Driesche Edinburgh-Zhejiang Lecturer S.vandenDriesche@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3112 CDBS Male reproductive health and disorders

W

         
Prof Sue Welburn

Executive Dean, ZJU-UoE Institute and Professor of Medical and Veterinary Molecular Epidemiology

Sue.Welburn@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 6457 DIPM Parasites, human sleeping sickness
Dr Emma Wood Senior Lecturer Emma.Wood@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 3531 CDBS Memory and space
Prof David Wyllie

Director of CDBS and Professor of Ion Channel Physiology and Pharmacology

David.J.A.Wyllie@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 4564 CDBS Physiology and pharmacology of ion channels

Z

         
Zhang, HongYan Chancellors Fellow HongYan.Zhang@ed.ac.uk 0131 242 6799 CDBS

Locomotor control and rhythm generation in simple animal model systems