Distinguished UoE Pharmacologists

The University pharmacologists whose pioneering experiments defined the drug development of today.

Image of Marthe Vogt

Marthe Vogt 1903-2003

In her classic paper on sympathin (adrenaline and noradrenaline) Marthe Vogt proposed the chemical transmission of impulses between brain cells, and went on to demonstrate that a diverse array of transmitters were released from the brain of living animals, and their sensitivity to electrical stimulation and anaesthesia.

Marthe was the third woman to join the British Pharmacological Society in 1937, 6 years after it was first founded. In 1952, she was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society, a distinction only awarded previously to eight other women, and was elected to the British Pharmacology Society Hall of Fame in 2014.

Read the acclaimed article in the Journal of Physiology

Read Marthe's entry in the BPS Hall of Fame  


Image of Prof Tony Harmar

Anthony John Harmar 1951-2014

Tony was the founder and chair of the IUPHAR database which is a resource of major international importance for drug discovery.

His highly influential research contribution involved more than 100 peer-reviewed papers and has been cited more than 7,000 times. His work had important implications for our understanding of pain mechanisms and the effects of nerve injury on pain perception, for identifying susceptibility to major depression and for understanding circadian rhythms.

Tony was posthumously awarded the 2014 JR Vane Medal by the British Pharmacological Society in 2014, for his tremendous lifetime contribution to the field of Pharmacology.

IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology database

Prof Tony Harmars list of publications