Biomedical Sciences


BNA Undergraduate Prize awarded to Neuroscience graduate

University of Edinburgh student Pia Siegele has been awarded the 2019 British Neuroscience Association (BNA) Undergraduate award for her work in Neuroscience.

I feel very honoured to have been awarded the BNA Undergraduate prize! Throughout the final year of my undergraduate degree, I was lucky to be able to do two very interesting research projects, both of which I submitted as part of my prize application. I am currently doing a Masters in Cognitive Science within the School of Informatics at the University of Edinburgh and am hoping to do my Masters project on a topic that studies interactions within neuronal networks. I haven’t made up my mind yet on what to do next, there are so many interesting and exciting possibilities! Wherever I end up, I hope to make valuable contributions to our scientific community in the future.

Pia SiegeleUniversity of Edinburgh
A photo of Pia Seigele graduating

Fellow prize-winners

Fellow prize-winners of the 2019 British Neuroscience Association award were:

  • Professor Steve McMahon, for Outstanding Contribution to Neuroscience
  • Dr Dean Burnett, for Public Engagement of Neuroscience
  • James Phillips (University of Cambridge) for the Postgraduate award

Neuroscience Undergraduate winners

Pia's success builds on a long history of Neuroscience Honours graduates from the University of Edinburgh being awarded the Undergraduate BNA Prize for their contributions to Neuroscience.

Previous University of Edinburgh recipients of the BNA Undergraduate Prize include Blair Wilson, joint winner with Alina Gutoreva (University of Leeds) in 2016; Veselina Petrova in 2015; Lauren Byrne in 2014; Elina Jacobs in 2014, and Lewis Hou in 2012.

Read more about Pia's investigation of the role of microglia in Alzheimer's disease

Related Links

British Neuroscience Association