Biomedical Sciences

BMS success at the CMVM recognition awards 2024

The annual CMVM staff recognition awards were held this year at the Playfair Library, where BMS swept the board with our colleague nominations and winners!

Team excellence

Winner - ZJE Edinburgh & China Professional Services team

The University of Edinburgh and Zhejiang University professional services team works to support a joint institute that spans two different countries, cultures and languages, separated by 9000 km and an eight-hour time difference. The team works with hundreds of undergraduate and postgraduates students, 50+ academics, and dozens of technical and PS staff. They received multiple nominations, commending their integrity, helpfulness, and commitment to each other. They manage a complex and challenging environment with patience, cooperation and professionalism.


Shortlisted – BMTO student support team

Student experience

Winner - Jennifer Paxton

Jennifer is Senior Lecturer in Anatomy and continues to lead the way in developing engaging approaches to Anatomy teaching. Jennifer has developed remote and on-campus anatomy tools and resources involving 3D printed models, online sessions, and arts-based sessions. Jennifer has worked to enhance student experience and has created a space for students to build better skills and connect with each other.


Runner up - BMTO Student support team 

Outstanding colleague

Winner - Mike Kerr

Mike is Teaching Manager at the Biomedical Sciences Teaching Organisation. Mike received multiple nominations from colleagues, recognising his welcoming nature, compassion, and willingness to help colleagues. Mike goes above and beyond to make the BMTO a better place to work. His positive nature is infectious and no matter how busy he is, he can always find time to support his team.


Shortlisted: Sharron Ogle

Equality, diversity and inclusion

Winner - Janette Dinse-Harrower

Janette has been awarded this prize for her dedication to improving British Sign Language (BSL) resources in the workplace. Janette has set up monthly meetings for staff in BMS to learn sign language. She has also created a Teams channel where she uploads videos so others can learn to sign and be more inclusive. Janette promotes inclusivity and accessibility and has worked to create safe spaces for both deaf and hearing colleagues to connect and support each other. Janette was by far the most-nominated individual for this year’s staff awards and is a very deserving winner in this category.


Winner - The Technical Steering Committee

Inspiring others

Runner up - Tara Spires-Jones

Collab & Partnership

Shortlisted: CMVM P&M Business Partnership & Innovation

Head of College award for exceptional service 

Awarded to all CMVM reception staff


My warmest congratulations to each and every one of you who were nominated, shortlisted and to the winners. A true testimony to the collegiality, commitment and hard work of all our BMS colleagues. Thanks to everyone in BMS who submitted nominations in support of their colleagues.

From the Dean, Prof Mike Shipston


Further information 

View the full list of winners and runner ups on the CMVM website