Biomedical Sciences

Academy of Medical Sciences announces new Fellows for 2024

Congratulations to Prof Tara Spires-Jones, who has been elected as a new Fellow to the Academy of Medical Sciences.

A photograph of Tara Spires-Jones

An expert in synapse degeneration, Prof Spires-Jones is President of the British Neuroscience Association and Deputy Director of the Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences at the University of Edinburgh, alongside her Group Leader position at the UK DRI. Prof Spires-Jones’ research focuses on the mechanisms and reversibility of neurodegeneration in Alzheimer’s disease, other degenerative brain diseases, and ageing.

In addition to her research, Prof Spires-Jones is passionate about communicating scientific findings to the public and policy makers; increasing the rigour and reproducibility in translational neuroscience; promoting inclusivity and diversity in science; and supporting career development of neuroscientists.

It is an honour to be elected to this prestigious fellowship. I look forward to the opportunity to work with the Academy of Medical Sciences in improving our sector working towards a collaborative, inclusive, sustainable, and rigorous research environment that will push us closer to life changing treatments for dementias and other conditions.

Prof Tara Spires-Jones


The Academy of Medical Sciences has elected 58 exceptional biomedical and health scientists to its prestigious Fellowship.

The new Fellows have been recognised for their remarkable contributions to advancing biomedical and health sciences, ground-breaking research discoveries and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society. This year Fellows were chosen from 365 candidates and 115 candidates were shortlisted for peer review. The election brings the total number of Fellows to 1472.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 18 September 2024.

Congratulations Tara!


Further information

Read the announcement on The Academy of Medical Sciences website here:

Read the full announcement here