Biomedical Teaching Organisation

Our courses and programmes

The Biomedical Teaching Organisation runs SCQF level 8-10 courses in support of our Undergraduate programmes, on-campus Taught and Research MSc programmes, and Online Learning MSc programmes.

Undergraduate and Postgraduate study

Undergraduate Courses

Year 1

Course Organiser Administrator
Biomedical Sciences 1 Professor Gareth Leng Kevin McArthur
Medical Biology 1 Dr Carole Torsney Mary Cummings
Medical Sciences 1 Dr Mandy Jackson Philip Horey
Our Changing World Mr Rob Thomas Lisa Kilcullen

Year 2

Course Organiser Administrator  
Anatomy and Pathology 2 Dr Tom Gillingwater Philip Horey  
Biomedical Sciences 2 Dr Celine Caquineau Emily Rowan  
Cells to Organisms 2 Dr John Mason Mary Cummings  
Chemical Pharmacology 2 Dr Henry Olverman Emily Rowan  
Microorganisms, Infection and Immunity 2 Dr Thamarai Schneiders Kevin McArthur  

Year 3

Course Organiser Administrator  
Anatomy and Development 3 Prof Tom Gillingwater Philip Horey  
Applied Pharmacology 3 Dr Paul Skehel Kevin McArthur  
Biomedical Sciences 3 Dr Tom Pratt

Alexandra Lowe

Clinical Biochemistry and Endocrinology 3 Dr Roger Brown Philip Horey  
Clinical Immunology & Haematology 3A Prof Julia Dorin

Alexandra Lowe

Clinical Immunology & Haematology 3B Dr Dietmar Zaiss

Alexandra Lowe

Health, Illness and Society 3 Ms Judith Sim Mary Cummings  
Mechanisms of Brain Development 3 Prof Peter Kind Rachel Allan  
Medical Microbiology 3 Prof Jose Vazquez-Boland Kimberley Bruce  
Neuroscience 3 Prof Catherina Becker Rachel Allan  
Pharmacology 3 Dr Paul Skehel Kevin McArthur  
Physiology 3 Dr Barry Denholm

Alexandra Lowe

Reproductive Biology 3 Dr Sander Van Den Driesche

Emily Rowan


Year 4 - Elective courses

Course Organiser Administrator  
Antibiotic Crisis Dr Thamarai Dorai-Schneiders Kimberley Bruce  
Cancer Biology and Medicine Prof David Melton Philip Horey  
Cardiovascular Pharmacology & Therapeutics Dr Gillian Gray Kevin McArthur  
Cardiovascular System Under Stress Dr David Swann Kimberley Bruce  
Conception to Parturition Dr Simon Riley Amy Collier  
Development and Disease Dr John Mason Kevin McArthur  
Developmental and Clinical Neurosciences Prof Dies Meijer Rachel Allan  
Diagnostics and Therapeutics for Infectious Diseases Dr Simon Talbot Kimberley Bruce  
Endocrine Physiology and Pharmacology Dr Dawn Livingstone Kevin McArthur  
Forensic Investigation Dr Tim Squires Mary Cummings  
Genetic & Environmental Influences on Behaviour & Mental Health Dr Joyce Yau

Alexandra Lowe

Global health and infectious diseases Dr Kim Picozzi Kimberley Bruce  
Hormones and Behaviour Prof Mike Ludwig

Alexandra Lowe

Inflammation Prof Ian Dransfield Not running in 2017/2018  
Integrative Physiology Prof Mike Shipston Not running in 2017/2018  
Making Sense of Disease Pathways Prof Tom Freeman Not running in 2017/2018  
Nervous System under Stress Dr David Griffith Kimberley Bruce  
Neural Circuits for Learning and Memory Dr Emma Wood Rachel Allan  
Neurobiology of Cognition Dr Tara.Spires-Jones Rachel Allan  
Neurodegeneration, Obesity and Cancer: Genetics and Beyond Dr Guisy Pennetta Emily Rowan  
Neuroimaging Dr Andrew Farrall Philip Horey  
Neurotransmitters in Action Prof David Wyllie Emily Rowan  
Receptors, Signalling and Regulation of Cell Responsiveness Prof Sue Fleetwood-Walker Not running in 2017/2018  
Regenerative Medicine Dr Paul Travers Philip Horey  
Reproductive Cancers Dr Christopher Harlow Amy Collier  
Reproductive Systems

Dr Christopher Harlow

Amy Collier  
Respiratory System under Stress Dr David Griffith Kimberley Bruce  
Science Communication Dr Janet Paterson Mary Cummings  
Sensory Physiology and Dysfunction Dr Carole Torsney Philip Horey  
Social and Ethical Aspects of Medicine Ms Judith Sim Not running in 2017/2018  
Synaptic Function and Plasticity in Health and Disease Dr Michael Daw Mary Cummings  

Year 4 - Senior Honours Programmes

Online Learning MSc Programmes - 3 years

Taught MSc Programmes - 1 year

Programme Director Contact Administrator
MSc Human Anatomy Dr Lyndsay Murray Sarah Fraser
MSc Science Communication and Public Engagement Dr Elizabeth Stevenson Lisa Kilcullen

 MSc by Research Programmes - 1 year

Programme Director Contact Administrator
MSc by Research Biomedical Sciences (Life Sciences) Dr Paul Le Tissier Fiona Brodie
MSc by Research Infectious Diseases Dr Kim Picozzi Sarah Fraser
MSc by Research Integrative Neuroscience Dr Thomas Becker Mark Newman
MSc by Research Biomedical Sciences (3+1 programme with Zhejiang University) Professor Mayank Dutia Fiona Brodie