Biomedical Teaching Organisation

Dr Ruth Deighton

Ruth is the Honours Programme Director of BSc (Hons) Medical Sciences.

Dr Ruth Deighton

Honours Programme Director of BSc (Hons) Medical Sciences

  • Biomedical Teaching Organisation (BMTO)
  • Edinburgh Medical School: Biomedical Sciences

Contact details



Medical School (Doorway 3)
Teviot Place

Post Code

Role at the BMTO

I am the Honours Programme Director for BSc (Hons) Medical Sciences. 

I also contribute to a wide range of undergraduate teaching activities (design, delivery, assessment and feedback) for both Biomedical and Medical Science students in years 1-4.

I teach on several undergraduate courses including Medical Sciences 1, Molecules, Genes and Cells 1, and Biomedical Sciences 3.

I also co-lead a Mentorship Scheme (in collaboration with Dr Jane Taylor) for Career Development PhD students in Learning and Teaching.

Additional Information

I am a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (HEA).

Higher Education Academy (HEA)