Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARLOW, Paul Prof Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
MCMILLAN, George George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AUER, Manfred Prof Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk V
BARANOVIC, Jelena Dr jelena.baranovic@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Prof Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk R
BLAKELY, Garry Dr Site-specific recombination in bacteria Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk R
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk R
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk R
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk R V
GALLAGHER, Maurice Prof Bacterial physiology and vaccine development MP.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk R
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Modelling stochastic processes Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk R
HORSFALL, Louise Dr Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk R
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk R
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk R
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Systems biology and biological clocks Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk R V
REGAN, Lynne Prof lregan2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Prof Graeme.Reid@ed.ac.uk R
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk R
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk R
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Stephen Dr Stephen.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Baojun Dr Synthetic biology, Systems biology, Designing customised gene circuits for novel biosensing and bioremediation applications Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk R
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk R
WILSON, Marcus Dr Mechanisms of Epigenetic Modifications Marcus.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
MUETZELFELDT, Robert Honorary Fellow r.muetzelfeldt@ed.ac.uk
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk
WILL, Alexander PhD Student s1735859@sms.ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ABRAMCZYK, Dariusz Dr Barlow Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate dabramcz@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ANDREOU, Andreas French Lab / Research Assistant aandreo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
AREDE REI, Pedro Dr Granneman Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager pedro.rei@ed.ac.uk
BLACKBURN, Elizabeth Dr Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk R
BREWSTER, Richard Dr Wallace Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate rbrewste@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BROWN, Russell Wang Lab / PDRA Russell.Brown@ed.ac.uk
CAO, Zhixing (Edward) Dr Grima Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate zcao2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CHU, Liangcui Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Liangcui.Chu@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Experimental Officer Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
DAJAK, Martina Free Group / Research Assistant martina.dajak@ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mdale2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk R
DUDEKULA, Khadar Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Khadar.Dudekula@ed.ac.uk
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk
EDMUNDSON, Matthew Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate medmunds@exseed.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Ian.Eggington@ed.ac.uk
IOSUB, Ira Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate iiosub@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ISPHORDING, Simon Swain Group / Research Assistant sisphord@exseed.ed.ac.uk
IVANOVA, Ivayla Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate I.Ivanova@ed.ac.uk
JAYACHANDRAN, Uma Dr Cook Lab / Research Assistant ujayacha@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
JENSEN, Mai-Britt Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mai-Britt.Jensen@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk
KOSZELA, Joanna Dr Auer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Joanna.Koszela@ed.ac.uk
KRUUSVEE, Valdeko Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Valdeko.Kruusvee@ed.ac.uk
MANN, Stefan Dr Auer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Mann@ed.ac.uk
MCNAE, Iain Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Iain.McNae@ed.ac.uk R
MERRICK, Christine Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk
MOL, Adam Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate amol@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MONTANO GUTIERREZ, Luis Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate L.Montano@ed.ac.uk
MOSES, Tessa Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk R
OLIVER, Michael Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Michael.Oliver@ed.ac.uk
PANTIDOS, Nikolaos Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Nikolaos.Pantidos@ed.ac.uk
PEREZ PI, Irene Dr Auer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Irene.Perez.Pi@ed.ac.uk
PHAM, Nhan Dr Auer Group / Laboratory & Optics Research Manager Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk R
PIETSCH, Julian Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Julian.Pietsch@ed.ac.uk
PINTO, Filipe Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Filipe.Pinto@ed.ac.uk
SENTHIVEL, Vivek Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vivek.Senthivel@ed.ac.uk
SHAVE, Steven Dr Auer Group / Senior Researcher, Computational Sciences S.Shave@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Mark Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate mtaylo21@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TRUBITSYNA, Maryia Dr Rosser Group / Lab Manager/PDRA M.Trubitsyna@ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate xwan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr Auer Group / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Horsfall Lab / Research Technician Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Swain Group / Research Technician Iseabail.Farquhar@ed.ac.uk
FLORANCE, Hannah Dr Walkinshaw Group / Metabolics Specialist Hannah.Florance@ed.ac.uk
HOLYOAKE, Louise Dr Barlow Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager Louise.Holyoake@ed.ac.uk
IMRIE, Lisa Walkinshaw Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
LIU, Weijia / Research Technician weijia.liu@ed.ac.uk
MCFADDEN, Gillian M. Wilson Lab / Research Technician Gillian.McFadden@ed.ac.uk
SALVO-CHIRNSIDE, Eliane Walkinshaw Group / KPF Deputy Lab Manager Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk R
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
ADJAVON, Diane Swain Group / PhD Student d.a.adjavon@sms.ed.ac.uk
AGUILERA MILLACURA, Juan Feliipe French Lab / PhD Student J.F.Aguilera-Millacura@sms.ed.ac.uk
AUXILLOS, James French Lab / PhD Student s1469975@sms.ed.ac.uk
BELLO, Olumide Fatai Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1342421@sms.ed.ac.uk
BILLINGTON, Jamie Rosser Group / PhD Student J.A.Billington@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRYSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student s1436794@sms.ed.ac.uk
CUEVA, Miguel Horsfall Lab / PhD Student m.e.cueva@sms.ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / PhD Student s1434789@sms.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / PhD Student ieggingt@ed.ac.uk
ERA, Yuta Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1854979@sms.ed.ac.uk
FA-ARUN, Jidapha Wang Lab / PhD Student J.Fa-Arun@sms.ed.ac.uk
FILATOVA, Tatiana Grima Group / PhD Student T.Filatova@sms.ed.ac.uk
GALE, Grant Wang Lab / PhD Student G.A.R.Gale@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUKOVA, Alina Richardson Group / PhD Student a.g.gukova@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Abhishek Grima Group / PhD Student s1478186@sms.ed.ac.uk
HARVEY, Pascoe Rosser Group / PhD Student s1342417@sms.ed.ac.uk
HICKS, Margaret Wang Lab / PhD Student m.a.hicks@sms.ed.ac.uk
HO, Yuan Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.H.T.Ho@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOLEHOUSE, James Grima Group / PhD Student s1402978@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUO, Yu Swain Group / PhD Student Y.Huo-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUSSAIN, Ejaz / PhD Student s1686277@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
JENNINGS, Christopher Auer Group / PhD Student C.Jennings@sms.ed.ac.uk
KANIGOWSKA, Paulina French Lab / PhD Student s1008990@sms.ed.ac.uk
KNIGHT, Margaret Free Group / PhD Student s1857306@sms.ed.ac.uk
LILLEY, Charlotte Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1102051@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIU, Yang Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.Liu-187@sms.ed.ac.uk
MANZANARO MORENO, Nahuel Swain Group / PhD Student N.Manzanaro-Moreno@sms.ed.ac.uk
MASTELA, Anna Rosser Group / PhD Student A.Mastela@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Free Group / PhD Student M.A.McDonald@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCKELLAR, Stuart Granneman Group / PhD Student s1025221@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUHLBAUGER, Lukas Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Lukas.Muhlbauer@ed.ac.uk
NWANKWO, Ndubuisi Christopher French Lab / PhD Student s1357472@sms.ed.ac.uk
PRICE, Marcus Rosser Group / PhD Student s0818748@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTS, David Blakely Lab / PhD Student s0681057@sms.ed.ac.uk
SACHS, Daniel Rosser Group / PhD Student D.Sachs-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAMRA, Randeep Auer Group / PhD Student r.samra@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHEIER, Matthew Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1326543@sms.ed.ac.uk
SEMENIUK, Sofija / PhD Student s1307393@sms.ed.ac.uk
SHEN, Yue French Lab / PhD Student s1372999@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVASUBRAMANIAM, Pratheesan Wang Lab / PhD Student p.siva@ed.ac.uk
STOTTER, Emmaline Walkinshaw Group / PhD Student S1224865@sms.ed.ac.uk
SUITOR, Jack Wallace Lab / PhD Student s1431954@sms.ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Wang Lab / PhD Student Ella.Thornton@ed.ac.uk
TOWLE, Zak Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Zak.Towle@ed.ac.uk
TUCK, Laura Bramham Lab / PhD Student s1271182@sms.ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos French Lab / PhD Student M.Valenzuela-Ortega@sms.ed.ac.uk
VETTER, Beatrice Rosser Group / PhD Student Beatrice.Vetter@ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Wang Lab / PhD Student s1204172@sms.ed.ac.uk
XIANG, Yiyu Wang Lab / PhD Student S1547993@ed.ac.uk
ZARAZUA-ARVIZU, Efrain Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1362505@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZARDILIS, Argyris Millar Group / PhD Student s1437009@sms.ed.ac.uk