Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARLOW, Paul Prof Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4727

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
MCMILLAN, George George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AUER, Manfred Prof Innovative drug discovery manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk V
BARANOVIC, Jelena Dr Structure and function of neuroreceptors, synaptic transmission, ion channels, electrophysiology jelena.baranovic@ed.ac.uk
BARLOW, Paul Prof Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system Paul.Barlow@ed.ac.uk R
BLAKELY, Garry Dr Site-specific recombination in bacteria Garry.Blakely@ed.ac.uk
BRAMHAM, Janice Dr Structure and dynamics of biological macromolecules Janice.Bramham@ed.ac.uk R
BURGESS, Karl Dr Karl.Burgess@ed.ac.uk
CACHAT, Elise Dr Mammalian synthetic biology, synthetic morphology & patterning Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk R
COOK, Atlanta Dr Complexes in RNA metabolism Atlanta.Cook@ed.ac.uk R
FREE, Andrew Dr Microbial communities and their applications in biotechnology and medicine Andrew.Free@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Christopher Prof Biosensors, biomass conversion, gene assembly C.French@ed.ac.uk R V
GALLAGHER, Maurice Prof Bacterial physiology and vaccine development MP.Gallagher@ed.ac.uk R
GRANNEMAN, Sander Dr Ribosome biosynthesis sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
GRIMA, Ramon Dr Biomathematics Ramon.Grima@ed.ac.uk R
HORSFALL, Louise Dr Microbial biotechnology and synthetic biology Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk R
HOUSTON, Douglas Dr Computational drug discovery DouglasR.Houston@ed.ac.uk R
MCLAUGHLIN, Paul Dr Paul.McLaughlin@ed.ac.uk R
MILLAR, Andrew Prof Science policy, Open Research and Systems Biology Andrew.Millar@ed.ac.uk R V
OYARZUN, Diego Dr Lecturer in Computational Biology D.Oyarzun@ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Lynne Prof lregan2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
REID, Graeme Prof Graeme.Reid@ed.ac.uk R
RICHARDSON, Julia Dr Structural biology of molecular machines acting on DNA Julia.Richardson@ed.ac.uk R
ROSSER, Susan Prof Susan.Rosser@ed.ac.uk R
SIBLEY, Christopher Dr Chris.Sibley@ed.ac.uk
STRACQUADANIO, Giovanni Dr giovanni.stracquadanio@ed.ac.uk
SWAIN, Peter Prof Systems biology of cellular decision-making peter.swain@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Paul Dr Computational drug discovery P.Taylor@ed.ac.uk R
WALKINSHAW, Malcolm Prof Protein-ligand interactions M.Walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Stephen Dr Stephen.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Baojun Dr Synthetic biology, Systems biology, Designing customised gene circuits for novel biosensing and bioremediation applications Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk R
WEAR, Martin Dr Martin.Wear@ed.ac.uk R
WILSON, Marcus Dr Mechanisms of Epigenetic Modifications Marcus.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
GILMORE, Linda Dr Honorary Fellow linda.gilmore@ed.ac.uk
MICHELS, Paul Professor Visiting Professor paul.michels@ed.ac.uk
MUETZELFELDT, Robert Honorary Fellow r.muetzelfeldt@ed.ac.uk
SAWYER, Lindsay Professor Professor Emeritus l.sawyer@ed.ac.uk
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk
WILL, Alexander PhD Student s1735859@sms.ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ABRAMCZYK, Dariusz Dr Barlow Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate dabramcz@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ANDREOU, Andreas French Lab / Research Assistant aandreo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
AREDE REI, Pedro Dr Granneman Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager pedro.rei@ed.ac.uk
BLACKBURN, Elizabeth Dr Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist e.a.blackburn@ed.ac.uk R
CAO, Zhixing (Edward) Dr Grima Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate zcao2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CHU, Liangcui Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Liangcui.Chu@ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Ivan Swain Group / Experimental Officer Ivan.Clark@ed.ac.uk
CROWTHER, Jennifer Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate jennifer.crowther@ed.ac.uk
DALE, Matthew Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mdale2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
DAVIDSON, Anne Dr Blakely Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Anne.Davidson@ed.ac.uk
DORNAN, Jacqueline Dr Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Dornan@ed.ac.uk R
ECHAVARRI-BRAVO, Virginia Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Virginia.Echavarri@ed.ac.uk
EDMUNDSON, Matthew Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate medmunds@exseed.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / Research Assistant Ian.Eggington@ed.ac.uk
HONSBEIN, Annegret Dr Horsfall Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Annegret.Honsbein@ed.ac.uk
IVANOVA, Ivayla Granneman Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate I.Ivanova@ed.ac.uk
JAYACHANDRAN, Uma Dr Cook Lab / Research Assistant ujayacha@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
JENSEN, Mai-Britt Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mai-Britt.Jensen@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Emily Dr Rosser Group / PDRA Emily.Johnston@ed.ac.uk
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KLEINJAN, Dirk Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dirk-Jan.Kleinjan@ed.ac.uk
MCNAE, Iain Walkinshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Iain.McNae@ed.ac.uk R
MERRICK, Christine Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christine.Merrick@ed.ac.uk
MOL, Adam Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate amol@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MONTANO GUTIERREZ, Luis Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate L.Montano@ed.ac.uk
NOWICKI, Matthew Walkinshaw Group / Senior EPPF Protein Technologist matthew.nowicki@ed.ac.uk R
OLIVER, Michael Dr Cook Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Michael.Oliver@ed.ac.uk
PHAM, Nhan Dr Auer Group / Laboratory & Optics Research Manager Nhan.Pham@ed.ac.uk R
PIETSCH, Julian Dr Swain Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Julian.Pietsch@ed.ac.uk
PINTO, Filipe Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Filipe.Pinto@ed.ac.uk
SENTHIVEL, Vivek Dr Rosser Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vivek.Senthivel@ed.ac.uk
SHAVE, Steven Dr Auer Group / Senior Researcher, Computational Sciences S.Shave@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Mark Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mark.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
THORAND, Eric French Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate - Biomaterials ethorand@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TRUBITSYNA, Maryia Dr Rosser Group / Lab Manager/PDRA M.Trubitsyna@ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xinyi Dr Wang Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate xwan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WOOD, Chris Dr Barlow Group / Postdoctoral Research Fellow chris.wood@ed.ac.uk
ZIELINSKI, Tomasz Dr Millar Group / Computational Resource Manager Tomasz.Zielinski@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BROWN, Russell Wang Lab / Senior Research Technician Russell.Brown@ed.ac.uk
CAMPBELL, Gaynor Dr Auer Group / Research Technician Gaynor.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
CAPENESS, Michael Dr Horsfall Lab / Laboratory Manager Michael.Capeness@ed.ac.uk
FARQUHAR, Iseabail Swain Group / Research Technician Iseabail.Farquhar@ed.ac.uk
HOLYOAKE, Louise Dr Lynne Regan Lab / Research Technician/Lab Manager Louise.Holyoake@ed.ac.uk
IMRIE, Lisa Walkinshaw Group / Proteomics Facility Operator Lisa.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
LIU, Weijia / Research Technician weijia.liu@ed.ac.uk
MCFADDEN, Gillian M. Wilson Lab / Research Technician Gillian.McFadden@ed.ac.uk
MOSES, Tessa Dr / Metabolomics Specialist Tessa.Moses@ed.ac.uk
PANTIDOS, Nikolaos Rosser Group / Research Technologist Nikolaos.Pantidos@ed.ac.uk
SALVO-CHIRNSIDE, Eliane Walkinshaw Group / KPF Deputy Lab Manager Eliane.Chirnside@ed.ac.uk R
TUIJTEL, Maarten M. Wilson Lab / Technologist in Cryo-Transmission Electron Microscopy Maarten.Tuijtel@ed.ac.uk
WARDROPE, Caroline Dr Rosser Group / Research Technician C.Wardrope@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
FILATOVA, Tatiana Grima Group / PhD Student s1847022@sms.ed.ac.uk
HICKS, Margaret Wang Lab / PhD Student s1833582@sms.ed.ac.uk
SEMENIUK, Sofija / PhD Student s1307393@sms.ed.ac.uk
AGUILERA MILLACURA, Juan Feliipe French Lab / PhD Student J.F.Aguilera-Millacura@sms.ed.ac.uk
AHMED, Dina Horsfall Lab / PhD Student D.Ahmed-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
AUXILLOS, Jamie French Lab / PhD Student s1469975@sms.ed.ac.uk
BILLINGTON, Jamie Rosser Group / PhD Student J.A.Billington@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRYSON, James Rosser Group / PhD Student s1436794@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Justin Auer Group / PhD Student Y.Chen-230@sms.ed.ac.uk
CORTADA GARCIA, Joan / PhD Student J.Cortada-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
CUEVA, Miguel Horsfall Lab / PhD Student m.e.cueva@sms.ed.ac.uk
EGGINGTON, Ian Horsfall Lab / PhD Student ieggingt@ed.ac.uk
ERA, Yuta Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1854979@sms.ed.ac.uk
FA-ARUN, Jidapha Wang Lab / PhD Student s1797859@sms.ed.ac.uk
FANFANI, Viola / PhD Student v.fanfani@sms.ed.ac.uk
GAETA, Angelo / PhD Student a.gaeta@sms.ed.ac.uk
GALE, Grant Wang Lab / PhD Student G.A.R.Gale@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUKOVA, Alina Richardson Group / PhD Student a.g.gukova@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Abhishek Grima Group / PhD Student s1478186@sms.ed.ac.uk
HARVEY, Pascoe Rosser Group / PhD Student s1342417@sms.ed.ac.uk
HAYNES, Samuel Grima Group / PhD Student s1895111@sms.ed.ac.uk
HO, Yuan Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.H.T.Ho@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOLEHOUSE, James Grima Group / PhD Student s1402978@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUSSAIN, Ejaz / PhD Student s1686277@sms.ed.ac.uk
IRVINE, Amy Free Group / PhD Student A.L.Irvine@sms.ed.ac.uk
JENNINGS, Christopher Auer Group / PhD Student s1896130@sms.ed.ac.uk
KANIGOWSKA, Paulina French Lab / PhD Student s1008990@sms.ed.ac.uk
KNIGHT, Margaret Free Group / PhD Student s1857306@sms.ed.ac.uk
LILLEY, Charlotte Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1102051@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIU, Yang Wang Lab / PhD Student Y.Liu-187@sms.ed.ac.uk
MANZANARO MORENO, Nahuel Swain Group / PhD Student N.Manzanaro-Moreno@sms.ed.ac.uk
MASTELA, Anna Rosser Group / PhD Student A.Mastela@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Michael Free Group / PhD Student M.A.McDonald@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCKELLAR, Stuart Granneman Group / PhD Student s1025221@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUHLBAUGER, Lukas Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Lukas.Muhlbauer@ed.ac.uk
PEACH, Hanna Free Group / PhD Student H.C.G.Peach@sms.ed.ac.uk
PRICE, Marcus Rosser Group / PhD Student s0818748@sms.ed.ac.uk
SACHS, Daniel Rosser Group / PhD Student D.Sachs-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHEIER, Matthew Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1326543@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVASUBRAMANIAM, Pratheesan Wang Lab / PhD Student p.siva@ed.ac.uk
SUITOR, Jack Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1431954@sms.ed.ac.uk
THORNTON, Ella Wang Lab / PhD Student Ella.Thornton@ed.ac.uk
TOWLE, Zak Horsfall Lab / PhD Student Zak.Towle@ed.ac.uk
VALENZUELA ORTEGA, Marcos French Lab / PhD Student M.Valenzuela-Ortega@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZARAZUA-ARVIZU, Efrain Horsfall Lab / PhD Student s1362505@sms.ed.ac.uk