Molecular Plant Sciences

Staff list

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
KIDNER, Catherine Dr IMPSHOI@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3316

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARKER, Caron Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
DOERNER, Peter Prof Plant Development & Evolution Peter.Doerner@ed.ac.uk R
GOODRICH, Justin Prof Plant Development & Evolution Justin.Goodrich@ed.ac.uk R
HALLIDAY, Karen Prof Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk R V
HETHERINGTON, Alexander Dr Plant Development & Evolution, Palaeobotany sandy.hetherington@ed.ac.uk
HUDSON, Andrew Prof Plant Development & Evolution Andrew.Hudson@ed.ac.uk R V
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution Catherine.Kidner@ed.ac.uk R
LOAKE, Gary Prof Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology G.Loake@ed.ac.uk R
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology Alistair.McCormick@ed.ac.uk R
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution R.Milne@ed.ac.uk R V
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants Attila.Molnar@ed.ac.uk R
OROSA PUENTE, Beatriz Dr Plant-pathogen interactions and post-translational modifications Beatriz.Orosa@ed.ac.uk R
RICHARDSON, Annis Dr Molecular Crop Science Annis.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
SPOEL, Steven Prof Signalling and transcription Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk R
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Prof Circadian clocks Gerben.vanOoijen@ed.ac.uk R

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALEXANDER, Crinan Dr Honorary Fellow c.alexander@rbge.ac.uk
CHAMBERLAIN, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.chamberlain@rbge.org.uk
GUPTA, Anamika Visiting Postdoctoral Research Associate (Richardson group) v1asingh8@ed.ac.uk
HARRIS, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.harris@rbge.ac.uk
HOLLINGSWORTH, Peter Professor Honorary Fellow p.hollingsworth@rbge.org.uk
HUGHES, Mark Dr Honorary Fellow M.Hughes@rbge.org.uk
MILNE, Simon MBE Honorary Professor *
PATERLINI, Andrea Dr Lecturer in Genetics Education Andrea.Paterlini@ed.ac.uk
PENNINGTON, Toby Professor Honorary Fellow t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk
RONSE DE CRAENE, Louis Dr Honorary Fellow lronsedecraene@rbge.org.uk
SARKINEN, Tiina Dr Lecturer t.sarkinen@rbge.org.uk
TREWAVAS, A J Professor Professor Emeritus trewavas@ed.ac.uk
YAHR, Rebecca Honorary Fellow r.yahr@rbge.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ATKINSON, Nicky Dr McCormick Group / Research Assistant nicky.atkinson@ed.ac.uk R
CHEW, Apple van Ooijen Lab / Research Assistant y.chew@ed.ac.uk
DA SILVA CRUZ, Rafael Dr Hetherington Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rafael.Cruz@ed.ac.uk
DE LEAU, Erica Hetherington Group / Research Lab Manager E.S.deLeau@ed.ac.uk R
ESCH, Lara McCormick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate lesch@ed.ac.uk
GREY, Heather Spoel Group / Research Assistant Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk R
HOGUIN, Antoine Dr Molnar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ahoguin@exseed.ed.ac.uk
JENSEN, Erik Dr McCormick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ejensen@ed.ac.uk
MACHIN, Frank Dr Doerner Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate fmachin2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCALLISTER, Trisha Dr Richardson Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate trisha.mcallister@ed.ac.uk
PAN, Qiaona Dr Orosa lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Qiaona.Pan@ed.ac.uk
PRITCHARD, Jessica McCormick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate jpritch3@ed.ac.uk
SAEED, Bushra Dr Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate bsaeed@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SCORZA FRUNGILLO LIMA, Lucas Dr Kidner Group / Research Fellow Lucas.Frungillo@ed.ac.uk R
STRACHAN, Joanna Dr Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jo.Strachan@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Zhishuo Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Zhishuo.Wang@ed.ac.uk
WILLIAMS, Lindsay Spoel Group / Research Assistant lwillia9@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BUGERT, Christina McCormick Group / Research Assistant cbugert@ed.ac.uk
MITCHELL, Stephen Kidner Group / EM Technician Steve.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AL MUTAIRI, Ahmed Loake Group / PhD Student A.A.S.Al-Mutairi@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASTBURY, Mikey McCormick Group / PhD Student M.J.Astbury@sms.ed.ac.uk
BHATLA, Anshika Hudson Group / PhD Student A.Bhatla@sms.ed.ac.uk
BORROWMAN, Sam Loake Group / PhD Student S.C.Borrowman@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRZEZINSKA, Karolina Orosa lab / PhD Student k.brzezinska@ed.ac.uk
BUTLIN, Philip Halliday Group / PhD Student P.A.Butlin@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAO, Yuan Spoel Group / PhD Student S1355186@sms.ed.ac.uk
CATHERALL, Ella McCormick Group / PhD Student e.r.catherall@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHENG, Haomiao Hardwick Group / PhD Student Haomiao.Cheng@ed.ac.uk
CHEW, Yen Peng Molnar Group / PhD Student Y.P.Chew@sms.ed.ac.uk
COOMBE-TENNANT, Toby Loake Group / PhD Student T.C.Coombe-tennant@sms.ed.ac.uk
COOPER, Laura Hetherington Group / PhD Student L.M.Cooper-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
DALIMUNTHE, Syadwina Hamama Kidner Group / PhD Student S.H.Dalimunthe@ed.ac.uk
DUDLEY, Christopher Milne Lab / PhD Student christopher.dudley@ed.ac.uk
FRASER, Olivia van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student O.FRASER-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
FU, Zishan Hetherington Group / PhD Student z.fu-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
GADIENT, Philippe Goodrich Group / PhD Student P.L.Gadient@sms.ed.ac.uk
GONZALEZ, Kelly Kidner Group / PhD Student K.T.Gonzalez@sms.ed.ac.uk
HALEY, Emily Hudson Group / PhD Student Emily.haley@ed.ac.uk
HEWAGE, Yumali Hudson Group / PhD Student N.Y.Wiyana-Hewage@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOSEN, Sarowar Loake Group / PhD Student S.Hosen@sms.ed.ac.uk
JAHAN, Ishrath Milne Lab / PhD Student s2260782@sms.ed.ac.uk
KREMPF, Emilien Spoel Group / PhD Student E.P.E.Krempf@sms.ed.ac.uk
LECOY, Jonathan Richardson Group / PhD Student J.G.T.Lecoy@sms.ed.ac.uk
LINCOLN, Matthew Halliday Group / PhD Student s1797755@sms.ed.ac.uk
MAO, Yuwei McCormick Group / PhD Student y.mao-23@sms.ed.ac.uk
MARGARITONDO, Vito Loake Group / PhD Student V.Margaritondo@sms.ed.ac.uk
MASON, Robert Spoel Group / PhD Student R.MASON-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
MATHUR, Tanya Spoel Group / PhD Student t.mathur@sms.ed.ac.uk
MATTHEWS, Jessica Fry Group / PhD Student S2446894@ed.ac.uk
MILLER, Charles Kidner Group / PhD Student C.D.Miller@sms.ed.ac.uk
NEWELL, Amy Halliday Group / PhD Student a.s.newell@sms.ed.ac.uk
PONCE LILLY, Cristina Molnar Group / PhD Student c.ponce-lilly@sms.ed.ac.uk
RAMOS DE OLIVEIRA, Gustavo Kidner Group / PhD Student G.Ramos-De-Oliveira@sms.ed.ac.uk
REINERT, Teagan Hetherington Group / PhD Student T.A.Reinert@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROHRIG, Laura Spoel Group / PhD Student laura.roehrig@sruc.ac.uk
ROSSI, Nicola PhD Student N.Rossi@sms.ed.ac.uk
RUSSELL, Nadia Kidner Group / PhD Student s1150776@sms.ed.ac.uk
TABASSUM, Nadra Loake Group / PhD Student N.Tabassum@sms.ed.ac.uk
TURNBULL, Lucy Kidner Group / PhD Student l.o.turnbull@sms.ed.ac.uk
VALDIVIA-CABRERA, Marissa Halliday Group / PhD Student M.Valdivia-Cabrera@sms.ed.ac.uk
VON KOPPENFELS, Charlotte Molnar Group / PhD Student C.E.VON-KOPPENFELS@sms.ed.ac.uk
WANG, Junru Richardson Group / PhD Student J.Wang-196@sms.ed.ac.uk
WILLIAMS, Lindsay Spoel Group / PhD Student s1109926@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHENG, Jiayue Goodrich Group / PhD Student J.Zheng-28@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHOU, Mengke Halliday Group / PhD Student S2342824@ed.ac.uk