Molecular Plant Sciences

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SPOEL, Steven Prof Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5322

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARKER, Caron Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
DOERNER, Peter Prof Plant Development & Evolution Peter.Doerner@ed.ac.uk R
FRY, Stephen Prof Plant cell wall biochemistry S.Fry@ed.ac.uk R
GOODRICH, Justin Prof Plant Development & Evolution Justin.Goodrich@ed.ac.uk R
HALLIDAY, Karen Prof Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk R V
HETHERINGTON, Alexander Dr Plant Development & Evolution, Palaeobotany sandy.hetherington@ed.ac.uk
HUDSON, Andrew Prof Plant Development & Evolution Andrew.Hudson@ed.ac.uk R V
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution Catherine.Kidner@ed.ac.uk R
LOAKE, Gary Prof Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology G.Loake@ed.ac.uk R
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology Alistair.McCormick@ed.ac.uk R
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution R.Milne@ed.ac.uk R V
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants Attila.Molnar@ed.ac.uk R
OROSA PUENTE, Beatriz Dr Plant-pathogen interactions and post-translational modifications Beatriz.Orosa@ed.ac.uk R
RICHARDSON, Annis Dr Molecular Crop Science Annis.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
SPOEL, Steven Prof Signalling and transcription Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk R
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Dr Circadian clocks Gerben.vanOoijen@ed.ac.uk R

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALEXANDER, Crinan Dr Honorary Fellow c.alexander@rbge.ac.uk
CHAMBERLAIN, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.chamberlain@rbge.org.uk
DALE, John E Professor Professor Emeritus
HARRIS, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.harris@rbge.ac.uk
HELFER, Stephan Dr Honorary Fellow s.helfer@rbge.org.uk
HOLLINGSWORTH, Peter Professor Honorary Fellow p.hollingsworth@rbge.org.uk
HUGHES, Mark Dr Honorary Fellow M.Hughes@rbge.org.uk
JEFFREE, Chris Dr Honorary Fellow C.Jeffree@ed.ac.uk
MILNE, Simon MBE Honorary Professor *
PENNINGTON, Toby Professor Honorary Fellow t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk
RONSE DE CRAENE, Louis Dr Honorary Fellow lronsedecraene@rbge.org.uk
TREWAVAS, A J Professor Professor Emeritus trewavas@ed.ac.uk
YAHR, Rebecca Honorary Fellow r.yahr@rbge.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ATKINSON, Nicky Dr McCormick Group / Research Assistant nicky.atkinson@ed.ac.uk R
CUI, Beimi Dr Loake Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate bcui@exseed.ed.ac.uk
DA SILVA CRUZ, Rafael Dr Hetherington Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rafael.Cruz@ed.ac.uk
DE LEAU, Erica Hetherington Group / Research Lab Manager E.S.deLeau@ed.ac.uk R
DIAZ RAMOS, Lourdes Aranzau Dr McCormick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Plant Synthetic Biology a.diazramos@ed.ac.uk
GIL RODRIGUEZ, Sergio van Ooijen Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Cellular Circadian Rhythms Sergio.Gil@ed.ac.uk
GREY, Heather Spoel Group / Research Assistant Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk R
MACHIN, Frank Dr Doerner Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate fmachin2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MAO, Yuwei McCormick Group / Research assistant/Laboratory Manager Yuwei.Mao@ed.ac.uk
MCKELVEY, Roisin Dr Halliday Group / Diversity & Inclusion Officer v1rmckel@ed.ac.uk
PAN, Qiaona Dr Orosa lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Qiaona.Pan@ed.ac.uk
PIOVESANA, Maiara Dr Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate maiara.piovesana@ed.ac.uk
SAEED, Bushra Dr Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate bsaeed@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SCORZA FRUNGILLO LIMA, Lucas Dr Spoel Group / Research Fellow Lucas.Frungillo@ed.ac.uk R
SKELLY, Michael Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate M.Skelly@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Zhishuo Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Zhishuo.Wang@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
MITCHELL, Stephen Spoel Group / EM Technician Steve.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
ADLER, Liat McCormick Group / PhD Student s1836834@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL HINAI, Thurayya Fry Group / PhD Student S1669206@ed.ac.uk
AL MUTAIRI, Ahmed Loake Group / PhD Student A.A.S.Al-Mutairi@sms.ed.ac.uk
BENNETT, Nicholas Loake Group / PhD Student s1784291@sms.ed.ac.uk
BLEAU, Jade Spoel Group / PhD Student s1736973@sms.ed.ac.uk
BORROWMAN, Sam Loake Group / PhD Student S.C.Borrowman@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRZEZINSKA, Karolina Orosa lab / PhD Student k.brzezinska@ed.ac.uk
BUTLIN, Philip Halliday Group / PhD Student P.A.Butlin@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAO, Yuan Spoel Group / PhD Student S1355186@sms.ed.ac.uk
CATHERALL, Ella McCormick Group / PhD Student e.r.catherall@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHENG, Haomiao van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student Haomiao.Cheng@ed.ac.uk
CHEW, Yen Peng Molnar Group / PhD Student Y.P.Chew@sms.ed.ac.uk
CONTRERAS ORTIZ, Natalia Andrea Hudson Group / PhD Student s1821531@sms.ed.ac.uk
COOMBE-TENNANT, Toby Loake Group / PhD Student T.C.Coombe-tennant@sms.ed.ac.uk
COOPER, Laura Hetherington Group / PhD Student L.M.Cooper-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONOHOE, Christian Fry Group / PhD Student s1881556@sms.ed.ac.uk
FEORD, Helen van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student helen.feord@ed.ac.uk
FERENCZI, Aron Molnar Group / PhD Student S1238047@ed.ac.uk
FRASER, Olivia van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student O.FRASER-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
FU, Zishan Hetherington Group / PhD Student z.fu-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
GADIENT, Philippe Goodrich Group / PhD Student P.L.Gadient@sms.ed.ac.uk
GARZON OBANDA, Diana PhD Student D.C.Garzon-Obando@sms.ed.ac.uk
GONZALEZ, Kelly Kidner Group / PhD Student K.T.Gonzalez@sms.ed.ac.uk
HALEY, Emily Hudson Group / PhD Student Emily.haley@ed.ac.uk
HEWAGE, Yumali Hudson Group / PhD Student N.Y.Wiyana-Hewage@sms.ed.ac.uk
HOSEN, Sarowar Loake Group / PhD Student S.Hosen@sms.ed.ac.uk
IDRIS, Akmal Loake Group / PhD Student A.A.Idris@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAY, Holly van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student holly.kay@ed.ac.uk
LECOY, Jonathan Richardson Group / PhD Student J.G.T.Lecoy@sms.ed.ac.uk
LINCOLN, Matthew Halliday Group / PhD Student s1797755@sms.ed.ac.uk
MASON, Robert Spoel Group / PhD Student R.MASON-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
MATHUR, Tanya Spoel Group / PhD Student t.mathur@sms.ed.ac.uk
MICHEL, Thibauld Kidner Group / PhD Student tmichel@rbge.org.uk
MILLER, Charles Kidner Group / PhD Student C.D.Miller@sms.ed.ac.uk
NEWELL, Amy Halliday Group / PhD Student a.s.newell@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIRKKO, Jessica Nakayama Group / PhD Student s1318576@sms.ed.ac.uk
NUORTI, Ninni Fry Group / PhD Student S1776921@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEGU, Georgina Doerner Group / PhD Student g.pegu@sms.ed.ac.uk
PUZORJOV, Anton McCormick Group / PhD Student S1243234@sms.ed.ac.uk
RAMOS DE OLIVEIRA, Gustavo Kidner Group / PhD Student G.Ramos-De-Oliveira@sms.ed.ac.uk
REINERT, Teagan Hetherington Group / PhD Student T.A.Reinert@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROHRIG, Laura Spoel Group / PhD Student laura.roehrig@sruc.ac.uk
ROSSI, Nicola PhD Student N.Rossi@sms.ed.ac.uk
RUSSELL, Nadia Kidner Group / PhD Student s1150776@sms.ed.ac.uk
SREENATH, Madhavi Kidner Group / PhD Student s1372837@ed.ac.uk
TABASSUM, Nadra Loake Group / PhD Student N.Tabassum@sms.ed.ac.uk
TURNBULL, Lucy Kidner Group / PhD Student l.o.turnbull@sms.ed.ac.uk
VALDIVIA-CABRERA, Marissa Halliday Group / PhD Student M.Valdivia-Cabrera@sms.ed.ac.uk
VAN DE WEYER , Rist McCormick Group / PhD Student s1832573@sms.ed.ac.uk
VON KOPPENFELS, Charlotte Molnar Group / PhD Student C.E.VON-KOPPENFELS@sms.ed.ac.uk
WANG, Junru Richardson Group / PhD Student J.Wang-196@sms.ed.ac.uk
WIGHT, Tara Nakayama Group / PhD Student s1736726@sms.ed.ac.uk
WILLIAMS, Lindsay Spoel Group / PhD Student s1109926@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHENG, Jiayue Goodrich Group / PhD Student J.Zheng-28@sms.ed.ac.uk