Molecular Plant Sciences

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SPOEL, Steven Dr Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7065

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
DOERNER, Peter Prof Plant Development & Evolution Peter.Doerner@ed.ac.uk R
FRY, Stephen Prof Plant cell wall biochemistry S.Fry@ed.ac.uk R
GOODRICH, Justin Prof Plant Development & Evolution Justin.Goodrich@ed.ac.uk R
HALLIDAY, Karen Prof Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk R V
HUDSON, Andrew Prof Plant Development & Evolution Andrew.Hudson@ed.ac.uk R V
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution Catherine.Kidner@ed.ac.uk R
LOAKE, Gary Prof Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology G.Loake@ed.ac.uk R
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology Alistair.McCormick@ed.ac.uk R
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution R.Milne@ed.ac.uk R V
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants Attila.Molnar@ed.ac.uk R
RICHARDSON, Annis Dr Molecular Crop Science Annis.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
SPOEL, Steven Dr Signalling and transcription Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk R
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Dr Circadian clocks Gerben.vanOoijen@ed.ac.uk R

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALEXANDER, Crinan Dr Honorary Fellow c.alexander@rbge.ac.uk
ARGENT, George Dr Honorary Fellow
CHAMBERLAIN, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.chamberlain@rbge.org.uk
DALE, John E Professor Professor Emeritus
HARRIS, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.harris@rbge.ac.uk
HELFER, Stephan Dr Honorary Fellow s.helfer@rbge.org.uk
HOLLINGSWORTH, Peter Professor Honorary Fellow p.hollingsworth@rbge.org.uk
INGRAM, David Professor Honorary Professor d.s.ingram@ed.ac.uk
JEFFREE, Chris Dr Honorary Fellow C.Jeffree@ed.ac.uk
PENNINGTON, Toby Professor Honorary Fellow t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk
RATTER, James Dr Honorary Fellow
RONSE DE CRAENE, Louis Dr Honorary Fellow l.ronsedecraene@rbge.ac.uk
TALIANSKY, Misha Professor Visiting Professor
TORRANCE, Lesley Professor Visiting Professor
TREWAVAS, A J Professor Professor Emeritus trewavas@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ATKINSON, Nicky Dr McCormick Group / Research Assistant nicky.atkinson@ed.ac.uk R
BONTPART, Thibaut Dr Doerner Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Thibaut.Bontpart@ed.ac.uk R
DE LEAU, Erica Goodrich Group / Research Assistant E.S.deLeau@ed.ac.uk R
FEI, Yue Molnar Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Yue.Fei@ed.ac.uk
GREY, Heather Spoel Group / Research Assistant Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk R
LU, Yen-Ting Goodrich Group / Research Assistant ylu3@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MAO, Yuwei McCormick Group / Research assistant/Laboratory Manager Yuwei.Mao@ed.ac.uk
NENNINGER, Anja Dr McCormick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Cyanobacterial Synthetic Biology Anja.Nenninger@ed.ac.uk
OCHOA VILLARREAL, Marisol Dr Loake Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate marisol.ochoa@ed.ac.uk
OROSA PUENTE, Beatriz Dr Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Beatriz.Orosa@ed.ac.uk R
SCORZA FRUNGILLO LIMA, Lucas Dr Spoel Group / Research Fellow Lucas.Frungillo@ed.ac.uk R
SKELLY, Michael Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate M.Skelly@ed.ac.uk R
VELANIS, Christos Dr Goodrich Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christos.Velanis@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
MITCHELL, Stephen Spoel Group / EM Technician Steve.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Ingrid Doerner Group / Research Technician Ingrid.Robertson@ed.ac.uk R

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
LINCOLN, Matthew Halliday Group / PhD Student s1797755@sms.ed.ac.uk
ABBAS, Ammad Halliday Group / PhD Student A.Abbas-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
ADLER, Liat McCormick Group / PhD Student s1836834@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL HINAI, Thurayya Fry Group / PhD Student S1669206@ed.ac.uk
ANDREOU, Andreas Nakayama Group / PhD Student A.Andreou-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
ATKINS, Hannah Kidner Group / PhD Student s9808860@sms.ed.ac.uk
BEGUM, Rifat Fry Group / PhD Student R.A.Begum@sms.ed.ac.uk
BENNETT, Nicholas Loake Group / PhD Student s1784291@sms.ed.ac.uk
BLEAU, Jade Spoel Group / PhD Student s1736973@sms.ed.ac.uk
BORROWMAN, Sam Loake Group / PhD Student S.C.Borrowman@sms.ed.ac.uk
BUTLIN, Philip Halliday Group / PhD Student P.A.Butlin@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAMPOS DOMINGUEZ, Lucia Kidner Group / PhD Student L.Campos-Dominguez@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAO, Yuan Spoel Group / PhD Student S1355186@sms.ed.ac.uk
CARGILL, Samantha Jane van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student s1202142@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEW, Yen Peng Molnar Group / PhD Student Y.P.Chew@sms.ed.ac.uk
CONCHA, Cristobal Doerner Group / PhD Student s1676248@sms.ed.ac.uk
CONTRERAS ORTIZ, Natalia Andrea Hudson Group / PhD Student s1821531@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONOHOE, Christian Fry Group / PhD Student s1881556@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONOVAN, Sophie McCormick Group / PhD Student s1559822@sms.ed.ac.uk
FEORD, Helen van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student helen.feord@ed.ac.uk
FERENCZI, Aron Molnar Group / PhD Student S1238047@ed.ac.uk
GARZON OBANDA, Diana PhD Student D.C.Garzon-Obando@sms.ed.ac.uk
IDRIS, Akmal Loake Group / PhD Student A.A.Idris@sms.ed.ac.uk
KARIYAWASAM, Isuru Kidner Group / PhD Student I.U.Kariyawasam@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAY, Holly van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student holly.kay@ed.ac.uk
KHUMSUPAN, Panupon McCormick Group / PhD Student s1478113@sms.ed.ac.uk
LOUE-MANIFEL, Jeanne Goodrich Group / PhD Student jeanne.manifel@gmail.com
LU, Yen-Ting Goodrich Group / PhD Student s1478280@sms.ed.ac.uk
MALONEY, Kyran Loake Group / PhD Student K.Maloney-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
MICHEL, Thibauld Kidner Group / PhD Student tmichel@rbge.org.uk
MONTEIRO, Muriel Molnar Group / PhD Student M.Monteiro-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIRKKO, Jessica Nakayama Group / PhD Student s1318576@sms.ed.ac.uk
NUORTI, Ninni Fry Group / PhD Student S1776921@sms.ed.ac.uk
OKORO, Paulina Nakayama Group / PhD Student s1465993@sms.ed.ac.uk
OREJUELA RAMIREZ, Andres Milne Lab / PhD Student A.Orejuela-Ramirez@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEGU, Georgina Doerner Group / PhD Student g.pegu@sms.ed.ac.uk
PUZORJOV, Anton McCormick Group / PhD Student S1243234@sms.ed.ac.uk
RAMOS DE OLIVEIRA, Gustavo / PhD Student G.Ramos-De-Oliveira@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROHRIG, Laura Spoel Group / PhD Student laura.roehrig@sruc.ac.uk
RUSSELL, Nadia Kidner Group / PhD Student s1150776@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHIAVON OSORIO, Alejandra McCormick Group / PhD Student A.A.Schiavon-Osorio@sms.ed.ac.uk
SREENATH, Madhavi Kidner Group / PhD Student s1372837@ed.ac.uk
TABASSUM, Anika Loake Group / PhD Student s1752718@ed.ac.uk
THAOWETSUWAN, Pakkapol Kidner Group / PhD Student P.Thaowetsuwan@sms.ed.ac.uk
VALDIVIA-CABRERA, Marissa Halliday Group / PhD Student M.Valdivia-Cabrera@sms.ed.ac.uk
VAN DE WEYER , Rist McCormick Group / PhD Student s1832573@sms.ed.ac.uk
VARDAKIS, Alexandros McCormick Group / PhD Student s1733392@sms.ed.ac.uk
WANG, Zhishuo Spoel Group / PhD Student Zhishuo.wang@ed.ac.uk
WIGHT, Tara Nakayama Group / PhD Student s1736726@sms.ed.ac.uk
WILLIAMS, Lindsay Spoel Group / PhD Student s1109926@sms.ed.ac.uk