Molecular Plant Sciences

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Molecular Plant Sciences staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
HUDSON, Andrew Prof Andrew.Hudson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3383

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
MCMILLAN, George George.McMillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
DOERNER, Peter Dr Plant Development & Evolution Peter.Doerner@ed.ac.uk
FRY, Stephen Prof Plant cell wall biochemistry S.Fry@ed.ac.uk
GOODRICH, Justin Dr Plant Development & Evolution Justin.Goodrich@ed.ac.uk
HALLIDAY, Karen Prof Biochemistry & Metabolomics. Plant Development & Evolution karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk V
HUDSON, Andrew Prof Plant Development & Evolution Andrew.Hudson@ed.ac.uk V
KIDNER, Catherine Dr Plant Development & Evolution Catherine.Kidner@ed.ac.uk
LOAKE, Gary Prof Plant Pathology & Fungal Biology G.Loake@ed.ac.uk
MCCORMICK, Alistair Dr Plant molecular physiology and synthetic biology Alistair.McCormick@ed.ac.uk
MILNE, Richard Dr Plant Development & Evolution R.Milne@ed.ac.uk V
MOLNAR, Attila Dr RNA silencing and epigenetic gene regulation in plants Attila.Molnar@ed.ac.uk
NAGY, Ferenc Prof Photobiology Ferenc.Nagy@ed.ac.uk
NAKAYAMA, Naomi Dr Biomechanics and synthetic morphology Naomi.Nakayama@ed.ac.uk
OPARKA, Karl Prof Plant cell biology Karl.Oparka@ed.ac.uk
SPOEL, Steven Dr Signalling and transcription Steven.Spoel@ed.ac.uk
VAN OOIJEN, Gerben Mr Circadian clocks Gerben.vanOoijen@ed.ac.uk

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALEXANDER, Crinan Dr Honorary Fellow c.alexander@rbge.ac.uk
ARGENT, George Dr Honorary Fellow
CHAMBERLAIN, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.chamberlain@rbge.org.uk
DALE, John E Professor Professor Emeritus
HARRIS, David Dr Honorary Fellow d.harris@rbge.ac.uk
HELFER, Stephan Dr Honorary Fellow s.helfer@rbge.org.uk
HOLLINGSWORTH, Peter Professor Honorary Fellow p.hollingsworth@rbge.org.uk
INGRAM, David Professor Honorary Professor
JEFFREE, Chris Dr Honorary Fellow C.Jeffree@ed.ac.uk
PENNINGTON, Toby Professor Honorary Fellow t.pennington@rbge.ac.uk
RATTER, James Dr Honorary Fellow
RONSE DE CRAENE, Louis Dr Honorary Fellow l.ronsedecraene@rbge.ac.uk
TALIANSKY, Misha Professor Visiting Professor
TORRANCE, Lesley Professor Visiting Professor
TREWAVAS, A J Professor Professor Emeritus trewavas@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ATKINSON, Nicky Dr McCormick Group / Research Assistant nicky.atkinson@ed.ac.uk
BONTPART, Thibaut Dr Doerner Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate tbontpar@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CHANG, Tao-Ho Loake Group / Research Assistant tchang@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CUMMINS, Cathal Dr Nakayama Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Cathal.Cummins@ed.ac.uk
DE LEAU, Erica Hudson Group / Research Assistant E.S.deLeau@ed.ac.uk
GREY, Heather Spoel Group / Research Assistant Heather.Grey@ed.ac.uk
HERBURGER, Klaus Dr Fry Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Klaus.Herburger@ed.ac.uk
KNOX, Kirsten Dr Oparka Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate kirsten.knox@ed.ac.uk
KRAHMER, Johanna Halliday Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Johanna.Krahmer@ed.ac.uk
LI, Yuan Dr Loake Group / Research Assistant yli33@exseed.ed.ac.uk
OCHOA-VILLARREAL, Marisol Nakayama Group / Research Assistant mochoav@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PICMANOVA, Martina Dr Fry Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mpicmano@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROMANOWSKI, Andrew Dr Halliday Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Andrew.Romanowski@ed.ac.uk
SANHUEZA DONOSO, Dayan Dr Fry Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Dayan.Sanhueza@ed.ac.uk
SCORZA, Livia Dr McCormick Group / Research Assistant Livia.Scorza@ed.ac.uk
SEALE, Madeleine Nakayama Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Madeleine.Seale@ed.ac.uk
SKELLY, Michael Spoel Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate M.Skelly@ed.ac.uk
VASUDEVAN, Ravendran McCormick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate rvasudev@exseed.ed.ac.uk
VELANIS, Christos Dr Goodrich Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Christos.Velanis@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
AREDE REI, Pedro Dr Goodrich Group / Research Technician prei@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BELL, Karen Oparka Group / Research Technician k.j.bell@ed.ac.uk
FURNISS, James Halliday Group / Research Technician James.Furniss@ed.ac.uk
MITCHELL, Stephen Oparka Group / EM Technician Steve.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
WALLACE, Amy Fry Group / Reseach Technician Amy.Wallace@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
ABBAS, Ammad Halliday Group / PhD Student A.Abbas-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
ADAMS, Eleanor Spoel Group / PhD Student E.H.G.Adams@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL HINAI, Thurayya Fry Group / PhD Student S1669206@ed.ac.uk
ANDREOU, Andreas Nakayama Group / PhD Student A.Andreou-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
ATKINS, Hannah Kidner Group / PhD Student s9808860@sms.ed.ac.uk
BEGUM, Rifat Fry Group / PhD Student R.A.Begum@sms.ed.ac.uk
BELL, Karen Oparka Group / PhD Student s0976135@sms.ed.ac.uk
BIN MOHD ZIN, Mohd Helmay Husaini Loake Group / PhD Student M.Bin-Mohd-Zin@sms.ed.ac.uk
BLEAU, Jade Spoel Group / PhD Student s1736973@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAMPOS DOMINGUEZ, Lucia Kidner Group / PhD Student L.Campos-Dominguez@sms.ed.ac.uk
CAO, Yuan Spoel Group / PhD Student S1355186@sms.ed.ac.uk
CARGILL, Samantha Jane PhD Student s1202142@sms.ed.ac.uk
CASASOLA ZAMORA, Samuel Loake Group / PhD Student s1360781@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Yun-Yu Kidner Group / PhD Student s1478060@sms.ed.ac.uk
CLUGSTON, James Milne Lab / PhD Student s1255427@sms.ed.ac.uk
CONCHA, Cristobal Doerner Group / PhD Student s1676248@sms.ed.ac.uk
DONOVAN, Sophie McCormick Group / PhD Student s1559822@sms.ed.ac.uk
FEI, Yue Molnar Group / PhD Student s1431345@sms.ed.ac.uk
FEORD, Helen van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student helen,feord@ed.ac.uk
FERENCZI, Aron Molnar Group / PhD Student S1238047@ed.ac.uk
GOMEZ GUTIERREZ, Maria Camila Milne Lab / PhD Student s1051835@sms.ed.ac.uk
GRANT, Kathryn Kidner Group / PhD Student K.R.Grant@sms.ed.ac.uk
HANSEN, Lipczak van Ooijen Lab / PhD Student s1365154@sms.ed.ac.uk
HASHIM, Nor Harliana PhD Student N.B.Hashim@sms.ed.ac.uk
IDRIS, Akmal Loake Group / PhD Student A.A.Idris@sms.ed.ac.uk
KARIYAWASAM, Isuru Kidner Group / PhD Student I.U.Kariyawasam@sms.ed.ac.uk
KHUMSUPAN, Panupon McCormick Group / PhD Student s1478113@sms.ed.ac.uk
LOUE-MANIFEL, Jeanne Goodrich Group / PhD Student jeanne.manifel@gmail.com
LU, Yen-Ting Goodrich Group / PhD Student s1478280@sms.ed.ac.uk
LUBEGA, Jibril Loake Group / PhD Student J.Lubega@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACHIN, Franklin Doerner Group / PhD Student s1365157@sms.ed.ac.uk
MALONEY, Kyran Loake Group / PhD Student K.Maloney-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
MONTEIRO, Muriel Molnar Group / PhD Student M.Monteiro-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
NAHARI, Azizah Doerner Group / PhD Student s1066531@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIRKKO, Jessica Nakayama Group / PhD Student s1318576@sms.ed.ac.uk
OCHOA VILLARREAL, Marisol Loake Group / PhD Student s1355580@sms.ed.ac.uk
OREJUELA RAMIREZ, Andres Milne Lab / PhD Student A.Orejuela-Ramirez@sms.ed.ac.uk
PAULTRE, Danae Oparka Group / PhD Student s0785500@sms.ed.ac.uk
PUZORJOV, Anton McCormick Group / PhD Student S1243234@sms.ed.ac.uk
RITZENHOFF, Anne Fry Group / PhD Student s1374323@sms.ed.ac.uk
RUSSELL, Nadia Kidner Group / PhD Student s1150776@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAHI, Ghulam Loake Group / PhD Student s0977123@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHIAVON OSORIO, Alejandra McCormick Group / PhD Student A.A.Schiavon-Osorio@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIMMONS, Tom Fry Group / PhD Student s0936167@sms.ed.ac.uk
TABASSUM, Anika Loake Group / PhD Student s1752718@ed.ac.uk
TAN, Ying Hudson Group / PhD Student s1326403@sms.ed.ac.uk
THAOWETSUWAN, Pakkapol Kidner Group / PhD Student P.Thaowetsuwan@sms.ed.ac.uk
THORAND, Eric Nakayama Group / PhD Student e.thorand@sms.ed.ac.uk
VARDAKIS, Alexandros McCormick Group / PhD Student s1733392@sms.ed.ac.uk
WANG, Zhishuo Spoel Group / PhD Student Zhishuo.wang@ed.ac.uk
WATT, Lewis Spoel Group / PhD Student L.G.Watt@sms.ed.ac.uk
XIN, Anzhou Fry Group / PhD Student s1123748@ed.ac.uk