Immunology and Infection

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Immunology and Infection Research staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Prof Rose.Zamoyska@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3686

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHIELDS, Roz r.shields@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BROWN, David Dr David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
HURST, Jennifer Administrative Assistant jennifer.hurst@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3688
SNAITH, Hilary Dr Executive Manager, EID Hilary.Snaith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3688

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
BUCK, Amy Dr Micro-RNA function in the host-pathogen context a.buck@ed.ac.uk V
CAVANAGH, David Dr Human immune response to antigens from the erythrocytic stage of Plasmodium falciparum, with the aim of developing effective vaccines targeting these parasite proteins David.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk
COWAN, Graeme Dr Graeme.Cowan@ed.ac.uk
GRAY, David Prof Immunological memory and T-B cell interactions D.Gray@ed.ac.uk V
IVENS, Aladair Dr Bioinformatics for genome analysis Al.Ivens@ed.ac.uk
MACIAS RIBELA, Sara Dr Sara.Maciasribela@ed.ac.uk
MATTHEWS, Keith Prof Cell biology of African trypanosomes keith.matthews@ed.ac.uk V
MCNALLY, Luke Dr Luke.McNally@ed.ac.uk
MUTAPI, Francisca Prof Immunoepidemiology of human schistosomiasis F.Mutapi@ed.ac.uk V
PHILIP, Nisha Dr Signalling dynamics in malaria parasite biology Nisha.Philip@ed.ac.uk
POTOCNIK, Alexandre Dr Alexandre.Potocnik@ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Jennifer Dr Innate immunity, sex and ageing jregan@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROWE, Alex Prof Cell biology of malaria infection and disease Alex.Rowe@ed.ac.uk V
SAVILL, Nick Dr Epidemiology and evolution of infectious diseases nick.savill@ed.ac.uk
SCHNAUFER, Achim Dr Mitochondrial biology of trypanosomatid parasites Achim.Schnaufer@ed.ac.uk
SPENCE, Phil Dr Plasmodium virulence and immunity to malaria Philip.Spence@ed.ac.uk
SZOOR, Balazs Dr Phosphatases in parasite biology Balazs.Szoor@ed.ac.uk
TAYLOR, Matthew Dr Priming and maintenance of regulatory and effector T cell responses during chronic helminth infections Matthew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk V
THOMPSON, Joanne Dr Molecular biology of malaria parasites Joanne.Thompson@ed.ac.uk
ZAISS, Dietmar Dr Function of the EGF-R signalling pathway in the immune system Dietmar.Zaiss@ed.ac.uk V
ZAMOYSKA, Rose Prof Regulation of T cell differentiation, activation and homeostasis Rose.Zamoyska@ed.ac.uk V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
ALLEN, Judith Professor Honorary Professor J.Allen@ed.ac.uk
BABIKER, Hamza Dr Honorary Fellow H.Babiker@ed.ac.uk
BARTLEY, David Dr Honorary Lecturer -
CARTER, Richard Professor Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow R.Carter@ed.ac.uk
DRESSER, David Dr Honorary Fellow david.dresser@btinternet.com
MAIZELS, Rick Professor Honorary Professor Rick.Maizels@ed.ac.uk
NISBET, Alasdair Dr Honorary Fellow -

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BLAIR, Natalie Zaiss Group / Research Assistant Natalie.Blair@ed.ac.uk
CAYLA, Mathieu Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mathieu.Cayla@ed.ac.uk
CHOW, Franklin Wang-ngai Dr Buck Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate f.chow@ed.ac.uk
DICKINSON, Paul Dr Buck Group / Project Manager Paul.Dickinson@ed.ac.uk
HAUPT, Sonja Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Sonja.Haupt@ed.ac.uk
HUSOVSKY, Connor Zaiss Group / Research Assistant Connor.Husovsky@ed.ac.uk
KNIPPER, Johanna Dr Taylor Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate johanna.knipper@ed.ac.uk
LEE, Kim Cavanagh Group / Research Assistant Kim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
LOPEZ VIDAL, Javier Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Javier.LopezVidal@ed.ac.uk
MARR, Edward Thomson Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Edward.Marr@ed.ac.uk
MCCLEAN, Deidre Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Deirdre.McClean@ed.ac.uk
MILES, Katherine Gray Group / Research Associate/Lab manager Katherine.Miles@ed.ac.uk
MINUTTI, Carlos Munoz Zaiss Group / PDRA Carlos.Minutti@ed.ac.uk
MISKINYTE REIS, Migla Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Migla.Miskinyte@ed.ac.uk
MURRAY, Janice Dr Mutapi Group / Research Assistant J.Murray@ed.ac.uk
NAHRENDORF, Wiebke Dr Spence Group / Post Doctoral Researcher Wiebke.Nahrendorf@ed.ac.uk
RAVASZ, Mate Dr Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mate.ravasz@ed.ac.uk
ROJAS, Federico Dr Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Federico.Rojas@ed.ac.uk
SARDIS, Marios Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Marios.Sardis@ed.ac.uk
SCHAFFNER, Claudia Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Claudia.Schaffner@ed.ac.uk
SILVESTER, Eleanor Matthews Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Eleanor.Silvester@ed.ac.uk
SUBRTOVA, Karolina Dr Schnaufer Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Karolina.Subrtova@ed.ac.uk
TAN, Thomas Dr Zamoyska Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Thomas.Tan@ed.ac.uk
WATERFALL, Martin Dr Zamoyska Group / Head of Flow Cytometry Martin.Waterfall@ed.ac.uk
WITTEVELDT, Jeroen Dr Macias-Ribela Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jeroen.Witteveldt@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
FULTON, Alison Taylor Group / Research Technician a.fulton@ed.ac.uk
GORDON, Katrina Dr Buck Group / Research Technician K.Gordon@ed.ac.uk
MOONEY, Ronnie Matthews Group / Research Technician Ronnie.Mooney@ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Elaine Buck Group / Research Technician Elaine.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
WALLIS, Julie Dr Schnaufer Lab / Research Technician Julie.Wallis@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Julie Matthews Group / Research Technician Julie.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
WRIGHT, David Zamoyska Group / Research Technician David.Wright@ed.ac.uk
ZOU, Xiaoyan Zamoyska Group / Research Technician

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AMANFO, Seth Mutapi Group / PhD Student S.A.Amanfo@sms.ed.ac.uk
AMEGATCHER, Gloria Schnaufer Lab / PhD Student g.amegatcher@ed.ac.uk
BACH, Florian Spence Group / PhD Student s1249052@sms.ed.ac.uk
BRAY, Cara Zamoyska Group / PhD Student C.Bray-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
EYOH, Enwono Mutapi Group / PhD Student E.Eyoh@sms.ed.ac.uk
IREMONGER, Richard James PhD Student r.j.iremonger@sms.ed.ac.uk
KONIECZNY , Gabriela / PhD Student s1448979@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACDONALD, Felicity Zaiss Group / PhD Student S1211093@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCRAE, Jame Zaiss Group / PhD Student J.C.McCrae@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCLEAN, Florence Rowe Group / PhD Student f.e.mclean@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCWILLIAM, Kirsty Matthews Group / PhD Student K.R.McWilliam@sms.ed.ac.uk
MILNE, Kathryn Spence Group / PhD Student K.H.Milne@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUNOZ SANDOVAL, Diana Carolina Spence Group / PhD Student D.Munoz-Sandoval@sms.ed.ac.uk
NARE, Zandile Schnaufer Lab / PhD Student Z.Nare@sms.ed.ac.uk
NWOKE, Eze / PhD Student E.C.Nwoke@sms.ed.ac.uk
OSAKUNOR, Derick Nii Mensah Mutapi Group / PhD Student D.N.M.Osakunor@sms.ed.ac.uk
PUKLER, Peter Zamoyska Group / PhD Student s1549884@sms.ed.ac.uk
RESSEL, Sarah Buck Group / PhD Student S.Ressel@sms.ed.ac.uk
SMITH, Natasha / PhD Student S1684726@sms.ed.ac.uk
SPARKS, Alex Nussey Group / PhD Student A.M.Sparks@sms.ed.ac.uk
SWANN, Olivia Rowe Group / PhD Student s0198216@sms.ed.ac.uk
TETTEY, Mabel Deladem Matthews Group / PhD Student S1633735@sms.ed.ac.uk
TILLU, Rucha Zaiss Group / PhD Student R.A.Tillu@sms.ed.ac.uk
TOIVAKKA, Matilda Zamoyska Group / PhD Student M.Toivakka@sms.ed.ac.uk
VENTER, Frank Matthews Group / PhD Student f.venter@ed.ac.uk
WADSWORTH, Elizabeth Savill Group / PhD Student E.S.Wadsworth@sms.ed.ac.uk
WATSON, Samir Macias-Ribela Lab / PhD Student S.F.Watson@sms.ed.ac.uk
WU, Xuhang Zaiss Group / PhD Student X.Wu-29@sms.ed.ac.uk