Evolutionary Biology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Evolutionary Biology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHARP, Paul Prof paul.sharp@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3684

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHIELDS, Roz r.shields@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
KELLOE, Andrew Project Co-Ordinator for Edinburgh Parklife Project Andrew.Kelloe@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7923

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
ALEXANDER, Helen Dr Evolutionary rescue, particularly evolution of antibiotic resistance in bacteria. Estimation of mutation rates and evolutionary consequences of mutation rate variation. Helen.Alexander@ed.ac.uk
BARKER, Daniel Dr Bioinformatics education, phylogeny reconstruction and philosophy of statistics Daniel.Barker@ed.ac.uk R
BELL, Matthew Dr Evolution of social conflict Matt.Bell@ed.ac.uk R
COLEGRAVE, Nick Prof Evolution of adaptation and diversity N.Colegrave@ed.ac.uk R
COLLINS, Sinead Dr Adaptation in complex environments s.collins@ed.ac.uk R V
CUNNINGHAM, Emma Dr Evolutionary and behavioural ecology of reproductive strategies. Life-history evolution in particular, how life history decisions are affected by parasitism and disease. Sexual selection and sexual conflict e.cunningham@ed.ac.uk R
FRENCH, Vernon Dr Vernon.French@ed.ac.uk R
HADFIELD, Jarrod Dr Evolutionary quantitative genetics j.hadfield@ed.ac.uk R
HARTFIELD, Matthew Dr Evolutionary genetics; the interaction between selection and reproduction m.hartfield@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Susan Dr Susan.Johnston@ed.ac.uk R
KEIGHTLEY, Peter Prof The evolutionary impact of new mutations. The evolutionary analysis of genome sequences. Complex trait genetics peter.keightley@ed.ac.uk R
KNOTT, Sara Dr Genetics of complex traits s.knott@ed.ac.uk R
LEIGH BROWN, Andrew Prof Genetic variation and evolution of HIV, particularly the evolution of drug resistance A.Leigh-Brown@ed.ac.uk R
LITTLE, Tom Prof The evolutionary implications of parasitism and disease on host populations Tom.Little@ed.ac.uk R V
LOHSE, Konrad Dr Population genomics and speciation Konrad.Lohse@ed.ac.uk R
MARTIN, Simon Dr Simon.Martin@ed.ac.uk
MCNALLY, Luke Dr Luke.McNally@ed.ac.uk R
MOORAD, Jacob Dr Evolution of life history, ageing, social structure, and demography. Quantitative genetics Jacob.Moorad@ed.ac.uk R
NUSSEY, Dan Prof Evolutionary ecology and genetics of ageing and phenotypic plasticity dan.nussey@ed.ac.uk R
OBBARD, Darren Dr The evolution of insect viruses and insect immune systems darren.obbard@ed.ac.uk R V
PEDERSEN, Amy Dr The ecology and evolution of infectious diseases; particularly co-infection dynamics in wild mammals and disease emergence Amy.Pedersen@ed.ac.uk V
PEMBERTON, Josephine Prof Using molecular techniques to investigate issues in behaviour, ecology and evolution in natural populations J.Pemberton@ed.ac.uk R
PHILLIMORE, Ally Dr Ecology and evolution on a macro-scale Albert.Phillimore@ed.ac.uk R
RAMBAUT, Andrew Prof Molecular evolution and molecular epidemiology of RNA viruses; Computational techniques in molecular phylogenetics and evolution a.rambaut@ed.ac.uk R
REECE, Sarah Prof What makes a successful parasite Sarah.Reece@ed.ac.uk R
ROSS, Laura Dr Genetic conflict Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk R
SHARP, Paul Prof Evolution of viruses; evolution of bacterial genomes paul.sharp@ed.ac.uk R
SILVERTOWN, Jonathan Prof Jonathan.Silvertown@ed.ac.uk R
SMISETH, Per Dr Evolution of parental care, parent-offspring conflict, sexual conflict and sibling competition per.t.smiseth@ed.ac.uk R
STONE, Graham Prof Molecular ecology of insect-plant interactions Graham.Stone@ed.ac.uk R V
TWYFORD, Alexander Dr Ecology and evolution of plants Alex.Twyford@ed.ac.uk R
VALE, Pedro Dr Pedro.Vale@ed.ac.uk
WALLING, Craig Dr Evolutionary ecology particularly sexual selection and the maintenance of genetic variation in life history traits craig.walling@ed.ac.uk R
WALSH, Patrick Dr Behavioural ecology and animal cognition: life history responses to environmental factors, and the cognitive requirements of avian nest building. Patrick.Walsh@ed.ac.uk R
WOOLHOUSE, Mark Prof Infectious Disease Epidemiology Mark.Woolhouse@ed.ac.uk V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
BARTON, Nicholas Professor Visiting Professor N.Barton@ed.ac.uk
BROWN, Sam Dr Honorary Fellow Sam.Brown@ed.ac.uk
BUNGER, Lutz Dr Honorary Fellow Lutz.Bunger@ed.ac.uk
CHARLESWORTH, Brian Professor Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow brian.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
CHARLESWORTH, Deborah Professor Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow deborah.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
DAUNT, Francis Dr Honorary Fellow
ENNOS, Richard Professor Honorary Fellow rennos@ed.ac.uk
HILL, William G Professor Professor Emeritus W.G.Hill@ed.ac.uk
ILLIUS, Andrew Professor Professor Emeritus a.illius@ed.ac.uk
INNES, Lee Dr Honorary Fellow
KRUUK, Loeske Professor Honorary Fellow Loeske.Kruuk@ed.ac.uk
SENN, Helen Dr Honorary Fellow -

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BAIN, Stevie Barker Group / PDRA in Bioinformatics Education Stevie.Bain@ed.ac.uk
BAL, Xavier Nussey Group / Postgraduate Research Assistant Xavier.Bal@ed.ac.uk
BECHER, Hannes Twyford Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate H.Becher@ed.ac.uk
BERGERO, Roberta Dr Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Bergero@ed.ac.uk R
CHALLIS, Richard Dr Blaxter Group / Bioinformatician (Lepidoptera Genomic Databasing) richard.challis@ed.ac.uk R
CHEBIB, Jobran Dr Keightley Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate jobran.chebib@ed.ac.uk
COLQUHOUN, Rachel Rambaut Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate rachel.colquhoun@ed.ac.uk
GARCIA DE LA FILIA MOLINA, Andres Dr Ross Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate a.gdelafilia@ed.ac.uk
GAUZERE, Julie Dr Pemberton Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Julie.Gauzere@ed.ac.uk
HALL, Jessica Pedersen Group / Research Assistant jessica.hall@ed.ac.uk
HINNERS, Janna Collins Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jana.Hinners@ed.ac.uk
HOLLAND, Jacob Dr Reece Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jacob.Holland@ed.ac.uk
JARON, Kamil Ross Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Sexual Conflict and Genome Evolution Kamil.Jaron@ed.ac.uk
KIM, Kang-Wook Dr / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Evolutionary Genomics Kang-Wook.Kim@ed.ac.uk
LAETSCH, Dominik Dr Lohse Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate dominik.laetsch@ed.ac.uk R
LEMON, Hannah Nussey Group / Research Assistant/Lab Manager hlemon@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LOPEZ CORTEGANO, Eugenio Dr Keightley Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate e.lopez-cortegano@ed.ac.uk
MCCRONE, John Dr Rambaut Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate John.McCrone@ed.ac.uk
MCDONALD, Katy Lohse Group / Research Assistant kmcdona5@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCNEIL, Paul Dr Walling Group / Research Assistant Paul.McNeil@ed.ac.uk
MOATT, Joshua Walling Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate josh.moatt@ed.ac.uk
MOLLISON, Ewan Dr Sharp Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Ewan.Mollison@ed.ac.uk R
O'DONNELL, Aidan Reece Group / Research Assistant Aidan.Odonnell@ed.ac.uk R
PICK, Joel Dr Hadfield Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate joel.pick@ed.ac.uk R
PLENDERLEITH, Lindsey Dr Sharp Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lindsey.Plenderleith@ed.ac.uk R
PRIOR, Kimberley Dr Reece Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Kimberley.Prior@ed.ac.uk
SAMPLONIUS, Jelmer Dr Phillimore Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate j.m.samplonius@ed.ac.uk R
SAMUELS, Toby Dr Collins Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate t.samuels@ed.ac.uk
SCHNEIDER, Petra Dr Reece Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Petra.Schneider@ed.ac.uk R
SETTER, Derek Dr Lohse Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate derek.setter@ed.ac.uk R
TROUP, Karen / Research Assistant karen.troup@roslin.ed.ac.uk R
VAN BUNNIK, Bram Dr Postdoctoral Research Associate Bram.vanBunnik@ed.ac.uk
WALDRON, Ferghal Dr Obbard Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Fergal.Waldron@ed.ac.uk
YU, Xiaoyu (Shawn) Dr Rambaut Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Xiaoyu.Yu@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BARKER, Caron / Lab Sequencing Technologist Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk
DELNICKA, Agata Pedersen Group / Field Assistant Agata.Delnicka@ed.ac.uk
GARDNER, Jim Sharp Group / Research Technician Jim.Gardner@ed.ac.uk
HARCUS, Yvonne Buck Group / Research Technician Yvonne.Harcus@ed.ac.uk
HEAP, Elizabeth / Lab Sequencing Technologist e.heap@ed.ac.uk
MACIVER, Julia Pedersen Group / Field Assistant Julia.Maciver@ed.ac.uk
MEDD, Nathan Dr / Training and Outreach Manager nathan.medd@ed.ac.uk
MONTEITH, Katy Vale Group / Research Technician kmonteit@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
MORRIS, Alison Pemberton Group / Senior Research Support Technician Ali.Morris@ed.ac.uk
MORRIS, Sean Pemberton Group / Research Support Technician (field based) Sean.Morris@ed.ac.uk
NELSON, Ross Hadfield Group / Research Technician rnelson2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSHAW, Emily Vale Group / Research Technician erober15@exseed.ed.ac.uk
WHAM, Murray / Bioinformatician (Programmer) Murray.Wham@ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Sarah / Sequencing Technician Sarah.White@roslin.ed.ac.uk R

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
ALBERY, Greg Pemberton Group / PhD Student G.Albery@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAIRD, Robert Ross Group / PhD Student R.H.B.Baird@sms.ed.ac.uk
BANCROFT, Rowan Pedersen Group / PhD Student R.E.Bancroft@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARNES, Rory Reece Group / PhD Student R.W.Barnes@sms.ed.ac.uk
BEYTS, Camilla Walsh Group / PhD Student s1437006@ed.ac.uk
BISSCHOP, Gertjan Lohse Group / PhD Student s1854903@sms.ed.ac.uk
BOGAARDT, Carlijn Rambaut Group / PhD Student c.bogaardt@sms.ed.ac.uk
CRAIG, Rory Keightley Group / PhD Student R.J.Craig-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
DE QUINTANILHA MANTAS, Maria Barker Group / PhD Student M.J.Mantas@ed.ac.uk
DELABRE, Celine PhD Student C.M.C.Delabre@sms.ed.ac.uk
DELANEY, Kynan Moorad Group / PhD Student kynan.delaney@ed.ac.uk
DING, Yanqian Twyford Lab / PhD Student Y.Ding-24@sms.ed.ac.uk
DOWNIE, Jim / PhD Student J.R.Downie@sms.ed.ac.uk
EBDON, Sam Lohse Group / PhD Student s1326322@sms.ed.ac.uk
FINZGAR, Domen Ennos Group / PhD Student D.Finzgar@sms.ed.ac.uk
GANAU PENELLA, Francesc Knott Group / PhD Student F.Ganau-Penella@sms.ed.ac.uk
GECCHELE, Lisa Bell Group / PhD Student L.V.Gecchele@sms.ed.ac.uk
GONZALEZ DE LA ROSA, Pablo Manuel Blaxter Group / PhD Student P.M.Gonzalez-De-La-Rosa@sms.ed.ac.uk
GRAY, Liberty Walling Group / PhD Student L.Gray-10@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUSCOTT, Joe Barker Group / PhD Student joseph.guscott@ed.ac.uk
HERBERT MAINERO, Ale Reece Group / PhD Student A.Herbert-Mainero@sms.ed.ac.uk
HEWETT, Anna Pemberton Group / PhD Student A.M.Hewett@sms.ed.ac.uk
HILL, Verity Rambaut Group / PhD Student s1732989@sms.ed.ac.uk
HILLMAN, Sam Pedersen Group / PhD Student sam.hillman@ed.ac.uk
HODSON, Christina Ross Group / PhD Student C.N.Hodson@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Wei Pemberton Group / PhD Student S1755246@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Wu / PhD Student W.Huang-24@sms.ed.ac.uk
JAMES, Caelinn Knott Group / PhD Student c.james-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
KING, Jessica Hadfield Group / PhD Student s1565739@sms.ed.ac.uk
KUYATEH, Oumie Obbard Group / PhD Student s1790958@ed.ac.uk
LINDBERG, Rasmus Collins Group / PhD Student R.T.N.Lindberg@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACKINTOSH, Alexander Lohse Group / PhD Student A.J.F.MACKINTOSH@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACLEAN, Oscar Sharp Group / PhD Student O.A.Maclean@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACPHIE, Kirsty Phillimore Group / PhD Student K.H.MacPhie@sms.ed.ac.uk
MAIER, Leonie McNally Lab / PhD Student l.maier@ed.ac.uk
MARTIN, Edward Barker Group / PhD Student E.J.Martin@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCAULEY, John / PhD Student J.B.McAuley@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCORMACK, Koorosh Stone Group / PhD Student s1691387@sms.ed.ac.uk
MORGAN, Alex EpiGroup / PhD Student s1678248@sms.ed.ac.uk
MORRIS, Alexandra PhD Student A.M.M.Morris@sms.ed.ac.uk
O'TOOLE, Aine Niamh Rambaut Group / PhD Student aine.otoole@ed.ac.uk
OWOLABI, Aliz Reece Group / PhD Student aliz.owolabi@ed.ac.uk
PETERS, Lucy Pemberton Group / PhD Student Lucy.Peters@ed.ac.uk
PRAKASH, Arun Vale Group / PhD Student s1581888@ed.ac.uk
RANAVAT, Surabhi Twyford Lab / PhD Student S.Ranavat@sms.ed.ac.uk
RATZ, Tom Smiseth Group / PhD Student T.Ratz@sms.ed.ac.uk
RAVENSWATER, Hannah Cunningham Group / PhD Student Hannah.Ravenswater@ed.ac.uk
RAVINDRAN, Sanjana Nussey Group / PhD Student Sanjana.Ravindran@ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Jon Smiseth Group / PhD Student J.E.Richardson-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAVOLA, Eevi Walling Group / PhD Student E.A.K.Savola@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCHMIDLECHNER, Tommy McNally Lab / PhD Student s1451723@sms.ed.ac.uk
SHIELS, Dwayne PhD Student s1247473@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIMONET, Camille Cunningham Group / PhD Student C.Simonet@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVA-JOTHY, Jonathon Vale Group / PhD Student J.A.Siva-Jothy@sms.ed.ac.uk
STEVENS, Lewis Blaxter Group / PhD Student L.Stevens-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
SWEENY, Amy Pedersen Group / PhD Student A.R.Sweeny@sms.ed.ac.uk
VENKATESAN, Saudamini Pedersen Group / PhD Student S.Venkatesan@sms.ed.ac.uk
WALLACE, Megan Obbard Group / PhD Student M.A.Wallace-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
WEIR, Jamie Phillimore Group / PhD Student Jamie.Weir@ed.ac.uk
WESTWOOD, Mary Reece Group / PhD Student Mary.Westwood@ed.ac.uk