Evolutionary Biology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Institute of Evolutionary Biology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHARP, Paul Prof paul.sharp@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 3684

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
SHIELDS, Roz r.shields@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5464

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BROWN, David Dr David.Brown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5453

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
ARNO, Matthew Dr Project Manager Matthew.Arno@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7788
GELDART, Mark Quality Manager Mark.Geldart@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 9201
KONTANI, Chieko Project Management Assistant chieko.kontani@roslin.ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7788
LAINSON, Andy EG Business Administrative Assistant Andrew.Lainson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7804
SHARP, Colin Dr EG Project Advisor colin.sharp@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7788

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
BARKER, Daniel Dr Bioinformatics education, phylogeny reconstruction and philosophy of statistics Daniel.Barker@ed.ac.uk
BELL, Matthew Dr Evolution of social conflict Matt.Bell@ed.ac.uk
BLAXTER, Mark Prof The biology and evolution of nematodes, including the analysis of genes and gene families in the model nematode Caenorhabditis elegans Mark.Blaxter@ed.ac.uk V
COLEGRAVE, Nick Prof Evolution of adaptation and diversity N.Colegrave@ed.ac.uk
COLLINS, Sinead Dr Adaptation in complex environments s.collins@ed.ac.uk V
CUNNINGHAM, Emma Dr Evolutionary and behavioural ecology of reproductive strategies. Life-history evolution in particular, how life history decisions are affected by parasitism and disease. Sexual selection and sexual conflict e.cunningham@ed.ac.uk
FRENCH, Vernon Dr Vernon.French@ed.ac.uk
GHARBI, Karim Dr SNP and QTL mapping karim.gharbi@ed.ac.uk
HADFIELD, Jarrod Dr Evolutionary quantitative genetics j.hadfield@ed.ac.uk
JOHNSTON, Susan Dr Susan.Johnston@ed.ac.uk
KEIGHTLEY, Peter Prof The evolutionary impact of new mutations. The evolutionary analysis of genome sequences. Complex trait genetics peter.keightley@ed.ac.uk
KNOTT, Sara Dr Genetics of complex traits s.knott@ed.ac.uk
LEIGH BROWN, Andrew Prof Genetic variation and evolution of HIV, particularly the evolution of drug resistance A.Leigh-Brown@ed.ac.uk
LITTLE, Tom Prof The evolutionary implications of parasitism and disease on host populations Tom.Little@ed.ac.uk V
LOHSE, Konrad Dr Population genomics and speciation Konrad.Lohse@ed.ac.uk
MOORAD, Jacob Dr Evolution of life history, ageing, social structure, and demography. Quantitative genetics Jacob.Moorad@ed.ac.uk
NUSSEY, Dan Prof Evolutionary ecology and genetics of ageing and phenotypic plasticity dan.nussey@ed.ac.uk
OBBARD, Darren Dr The evolution of insect viruses and insect immune systems darren.obbard@ed.ac.uk V
PEDERSEN, Amy Dr The ecology and evolution of infectious diseases; particularly co-infection dynamics in wild mammals and disease emergence Amy.Pedersen@ed.ac.uk V
PEMBERTON, Josephine Prof Using molecular techniques to investigate issues in behaviour, ecology and evolution in natural populations J.Pemberton@ed.ac.uk
PHILLIMORE, Ally Dr Ecology and evolution on a macro-scale Albert.Phillimore@ed.ac.uk
RAMBAUT, Andrew Prof Molecular evolution and molecular epidemiology of RNA viruses; Computational techniques in molecular phylogenetics and evolution a.rambaut@ed.ac.uk
REECE, Sarah Prof What makes a successful parasite Sarah.Reece@ed.ac.uk
ROSS, Laura Dr Genetic conflict Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk
SHARP, Paul Prof Evolution of viruses; evolution of bacterial genomes paul.sharp@ed.ac.uk
SILVERTOWN, Jonathan Prof Jonathan.Silvertown@ed.ac.uk
SMISETH, Per Dr Evolution of parental care, parent-offspring conflict, sexual conflict and sibling competition per.t.smiseth@ed.ac.uk
STONE, Graham Prof Molecular ecology of insect-plant interactions Graham.Stone@ed.ac.uk V
TWYFORD, Alex Dr Ecology and evolution of plants Alex.Twyford@ed.ac.uk
VALE, Pedro Dr Pedro.Vale@ed.ac.uk
WALLING, Craig Dr Evolutionary ecology particularly sexual selection and the maintenance of genetic variation in life history traits craig.walling@ed.ac.uk
WALSH, Patrick Dr Behavioural ecology and animal cognition: life history responses to environmental factors, and the cognitive requirements of avian nest building. Patrick.Walsh@ed.ac.uk
WOOLHOUSE, Mark Prof Infectious Disease Epidemiology Mark.Woolhouse@ed.ac.uk V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
BARTON, Nicholas Professor Visiting Professor N.Barton@ed.ac.uk
BROWN, Sam Dr Honorary Fellow Sam.Brown@ed.ac.uk
BUNGER, Lutz Dr Honorary Fellow Lutz.Bunger@sac.ac.uk
CHARLESWORTH, Brian Professor Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow brian.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
CHARLESWORTH, Deborah Professor Senior Honorary Professorial Fellow deborah.charlesworth@ed.ac.uk
DAUNT, Francis Dr Honorary Fellow
DEAG, John Dr Honorary Fellow J.Deag@ed.ac.uk
ENNOS, Richard Professor Honorary Fellow rennos@ed.ac.uk
HILL, William G Professor Professor Emeritus W.G.Hill@ed.ac.uk
ILLIUS, Andrew Professor Professor Emeritus a.illius@ed.ac.uk
INNES, Lee Dr Honorary Fellow
KRUUK, Loeske Professor Honorary Fellow Loeske.Kruuk@ed.ac.uk
MANNING OBE, Aubrey Professor Professor Emeritus A.Manning@ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh Genomics

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ARNO, Matthew Dr Project Manager Matthew.Arno@ed.ac.uk
BERINSKI, Michael Bioinformatician (Programmer) michael.berinski@ed.ac.uk
BISHOP, Matthew Dr Laboratory Team Support Leader M.Bishop@ed.ac.uk
BOOTH, Timothy Bioinformatician Tim.Booth@ed.ac.uk
CEZARD, Timothe Bioinformatician Timothee.Cezard@ed.ac.uk
DOWNING, Alison Research Assistant alison.downing@roslin.ed.ac.uk
DUNBAR, Donald Dr Bioinformatics Operations Manager donald.dunbar@ed.ac.uk
FEARNLEY, Joel Chief Operating Officer - Edinburgh Genomics Joel.Fearnley@ed.ac.uk
GELDART, Mark Quality Manager Mark.Geldart@ed.ac.uk
GHARBI, Karim Dr Senior Lecturer karim.gharbi@ed.ac.uk
KONTANI, Chieko Project Management Assistant chieko.kontani@roslin.ed.ac.uk
LAING, Stewart Sequencing Technologist Stewart.Laing@ed.ac.uk
LAING, Caroline Research Technician caroline.gilhooly@roslin.ed.ac.uk
LAINSON, Andy EG Business Administrative Assistant Andrew.Lainson@ed.ac.uk
MANNING, Jonathan Dr Data Analyst Jonathan.Manning@ed.ac.uk
MCCALLUM, Emma Lab Assistant Emma.McCallum@ed.ac.uk
MILES, Antony Sequencing Technologist Tony.Miles@ed.ac.uk
MONTAZAM, Anna Sequencing Platforms Technologist Anna.Montazam@ed.ac.uk
MORRICE, David Research Assistant david.morrice@roslin.ed.ac.uk
NICHOLS, Jenna Sample Preparation Manager J.Paxton@ed.ac.uk
OVERDUIN, Bert Dr EG Training Bioinformatician Bert.Overduin@ed.ac.uk
SERRANO LUJAN, Ana Administration Assistant Ana.Serrano@ed.ac.uk
SHARP, Colin Dr EG Project Advisor colin.sharp@ed.ac.uk
TALBOT, Richard Senior Research Assistant richard.talbot@roslin.ed.ac.uk
THOMSON, Marian Next-Generation Sequencing Technologist Marian.Thomson@ed.ac.uk
TRIVEDI, Urmi Lead Bioinformatician urmi.trivedi@ed.ac.uk
TROUP, Karen Research Assistant karen.troup@roslin.ed.ac.uk
TURNER, Frances Dr Bioinformatician frances.turner@roslin.ed.ac.uk
WARLOW, Sophie Next-Generation Sequencing Technologist sophie.warlow@ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Sarah Sequencing Technician swhite23@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BERGERO, Roberta Dr Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Bergero@ed.ac.uk
BOENDEL, Katharina Dr Keightley Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Katharina.Boendel@ed.ac.uk
CAMPOS, Jose Dr Postdoctoral Research Associate jcampos@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
CANINI, Laetitia Dr Postdoctoral Research Associate Laetitia.Canini@ed.ac.uk
CHALLIS, Richard Dr Blaxter Group / Bioinformatician (Lepidoptera Genomic Databasing) richard.challis@ed.ac.uk
CHASE-TOPPING, Margo Dr EpiGroup / Postdoctoral Research Associate Margo.Chase@ed.ac.uk
DOUBLET, Vincent Dr Vale Group / Marie Curie Experienced Researcher Vincent.Doublet@ed.ac.uk
DOWNING, Alison / Research Assistant alison.downing@roslin.ed.ac.uk
FAIRLIE, Jennifer Nussey Group / Research Assistant/Lab Manager Jennifer.Fairlie@ed.ac.uk
FROY, Hannah Dr Pemberton Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Hannah.Froy@ed.ac.uk
HEARN, Jack Little Group / Bioinformatician Jack.Hearn@ed.ac.uk
HUISMAN, Jisca Dr Pemberton Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jisca.Huisman@ed.ac.uk
JACKSON, Ben Dr Keightley Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Ben.Jackson@ed.ac.uk
KUMAR, Sujai Dr Blaxter Group / Bioinformatician (Lepidoptera Genomic Biologist) sujai.kumar@ed.ac.uk
LAETSCH, Dominik Ross Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate dlaetsch@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LU, Lu Postdoctoral Research Associate lu.lu@ed.ac.uk
MOLLISON, Ewan Dr Sharp Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate emolliso@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MORRICE, David / Research Assistant david.morrice@roslin.ed.ac.uk
NICHOLLS, James Dr Phillimore Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate james.nicholls@ed.ac.uk
O'DONNELL, Aidan Reece Group / Research Assistant Aidan.Odonnell@ed.ac.uk
PICK, Joel Dr Hadfield Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate joel.pick@ed.ac.uk
PLAISIER, Heleen Dr Barker Group / PDRA in Bioinformatics Education Heleen.Plaisier@ed.ac.uk
PLENDERLEITH, Lindsey Dr Sharp Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lindsey.Plenderleith@ed.ac.uk
PRIOR, Kimberley Dr Reece Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate kprior2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Gail Dr / Postdoctoral Research Associate Gail.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
SALMINEN, Tiina Dr Vale Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate tsalmine@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SAMUELS, Tobias (Toby) Colegrave Group / Research Assistant tsamuels@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SCHNEIDER, Petra Dr Reece Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Petra.Schneider@ed.ac.uk
SEEKER, Luise Nussey Group / Research Assistant lseeker@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SPARKS, Alexandra Nussey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate asparks@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TROUP, Karen / Research Assistant karen.troup@roslin.ed.ac.uk
UNDERWOOD, Sarah Dr Nussey Group / Research assistant Sarah.Underwood@ed.ac.uk
VAN BUNNIK, Bram Dr Postdoctoral Research Associate Bram.vanBunnik@ed.ac.uk
VEA, Isabelle Dr Ross Group / Marie Curie Experienced Researcher Isabelle.Vea@ed.ac.uk
WALDRON, Ferghal Dr Obbard Group / Post Doctoral Research Assistant Fergal.Waldron@ed.ac.uk
WATT, Kathryn Nussey Group / Lab Manager & Research Assistant Kathryn.Watt@ed.ac.uk
WILSON, Philip Little Group / Research Assistant phil.wilson@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BADER, Beth Sharp Group / Research Technician bbader@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BARKER, Caron / Lab Sequencing Technologist Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk
ELAND, Cathlene Dr / Lead Sequencing Technologist Cathlene.Eland@ed.ac.uk
GARDNER, Jim Sharp Group / Research Technician Jim.Gardner@ed.ac.uk
HEAP, Elizabeth / Lab Sequencing Technologist e.heap@ed.ac.uk
LAING, Caroline Blaxter Group / Research Technician caroline.gilhooly@roslin.ed.ac.uk
MANNING, Jonathan Dr / Data Analyst Jonathan.Manning@ed.ac.uk
MONTEITH, Katy Vale Group / Research Technician kmonteit@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MORRIS, Alison Pemberton Group / Senior Research Support Technician Ali.Morris@ed.ac.uk
MORRIS, Sean Pemberton Group / Research Support Technician (field based) Sean.Morris@ed.ac.uk
PILKINGTON, Jill Pemberton Group / St Kilda Field Technical Officer J.Pilkington@ed.ac.uk
WHAM, Murray / Bioinformatician (Programmer) Murray.Wham@ed.ac.uk
WHITE, Sarah / Sequencing Technician swhite23@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
ALBERY, Greg Pemberton Group / PhD Student G.Albery@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASSMANN, Jakob Ennos Group / PhD Student J.J.Assmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAIN, Stevie Ross Group / PhD Student S.A.Bain@sms.ed.ac.uk
BEYTS, Camilla Walsh Group / PhD Student s1437006@ed.ac.uk
BIRGET, Philip Reece Group / PhD Student p.l.g.birget@sms.ed.ac.uk
BOGAARDT, Carlijn Rambaut Group / PhD Student c.bogaardt@sms.ed.ac.uk
CASTILLO , Mario Saturnino Duran / PhD Student s1325891@sms.ed.ac.uk
CLARK, Jessica PhD Student J.E.Clark-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
COOPER, Lisa Stone Group / PhD Student L.S.Cooper@sms.ed.ac.uk
CRAIG, Rory Keightley Group / PhD Student R.J.Craig-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
DELABRE, Celine PhD Student C.M.C.Delabre@sms.ed.ac.uk
DICKS, Kara Pemberton Group / PhD Student K.L.Dicks@sms.ed.ac.uk
DOWNIE, Jim / PhD Student J.R.Downie@sms.ed.ac.uk
EVANS, Tracie Ennos Group / PhD Student T.M.Evans@sms.ed.ac.uk
FAGUNDES DE CARVAL, Luiz Rambaut Group / PhD Student L.M.Fagundes-De-Carvalho@sms.ed.ac.uk
FORD, Lucy Smiseth Group / PhD Student L.E.Ford@sms.ed.ac.uk
GARCIA DE LA FILIA, Andres Ross Group / PhD Student A.Garcia-De-La-Filia@sms.ed.ac.uk
GECCHELE, Lisa Bell Group / PhD Student L.V.Gecchele@sms.ed.ac.uk
HAJDUK, Gabriela Karolina Walling Group / PhD Student G.K.Hajduk@sms.ed.ac.uk
HEATH, Sarah Collins Group / PhD Student S.Heath-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
HILL, Verity Rambaut Group / PhD Student s1732989@sms.ed.ac.uk
HODSON, Christina Ross Group / PhD Student C.N.Hodson@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Wei Pemberton Group / PhD Student S1755246@sms.ed.ac.uk
IVIMEY-COOK, Edward Moorad Group / PhD Student E.R.Ivimey-cook@sms.ed.ac.uk
JANKOWSKA, Marta Jolanta Ennos Group / PhD Student s1577299@sms.ed.ac.uk
KELLY, Niamh Ennos Group / PhD Student n.m.kelly-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
KEOGAN, Katharine PhD Student K.Keogan@sms.ed.ac.uk
KING, Jessica Hadfield Group / PhD Student s1565739@sms.ed.ac.uk
LAETSCH, Dominik Blaxter Group / PhD Student D.R.Laetsch@sms.ed.ac.uk
LINDBERG, Rasmus Collins Group / PhD Student R.T.N.Lindberg@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACLEAN, Oscar Sharp Group / PhD Student O.A.Maclean@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCCORMACK, Koorosh Stone Group / PhD Student s1691387@sms.ed.ac.uk
MEDD, Nathan Obbard Group / PhD Student N.C.Medd@sms.ed.ac.uk
MOATT, Joshua Walling Group / PhD Student J.P.Moatt@sms.ed.ac.uk
MORRIS, Alexandra PhD Student A.M.M.Morris@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUNRO-FAURE, Amy Bell Group / PhD Student A.L.Munro-Faure@sms.ed.ac.uk
MäENPää, Maarit Smiseth Group / PhD Student s1165059@sms.ed.ac.uk
O'TOOLE, Aine Niamh Rambaut Group / PhD Student aine.otoole@ed.ac.uk
OPPONG, Richard Fordjour Knott Group / PhD Student R.F.Oppong@sms.ed.ac.uk
PALMER, William Obbard Group / PhD Student W.H.Palmer@sms.ed.ac.uk
PETERS, Lucy Pemberton Group / PhD Student Lucy.Peters@ed.ac.uk
PETKOVIC, Nikola Colegrave Group / PhD Student N.Petkovic@sms.ed.ac.uk
PRAKASH, Arun Vale Group / PhD Student s1581888@ed.ac.uk
PRIOR, Kim Reece Group / PhD Student k.f.prior@sms.ed.ac.uk
PTOCHOS , Sokratis PhD Student s1269761@sms.ed.ac.uk
RANAVAT, Surabhi / PhD Student S.Ranavat@sms.ed.ac.uk
RATZ, Tom Smiseth Group / PhD Student T.Ratz@sms.ed.ac.uk
REGAN, Charlotte Smiseth Group / PhD Student C.E.Regan@sms.ed.ac.uk
RICHARDSON, Jon Smiseth Group / PhD Student J.E.Richardson-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROSIQUE ESPLUGAS, Cristina Ennos Group / PhD Student C.Rosique-Esplugas@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAMARI, Yusef Bell Group / PhD Student s1750482@sms.ed.ac.uk
SAVOLA, Eevi Walling Group / PhD Student E.A.K.Savola@sms.ed.ac.uk
SHIELS, Dwayne PhD Student s1247473@sms.ed.ac.uk
SHUTT, Jack PhD Student J.D.Shutt@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIMONET, Camille Cunningham Group / PhD Student S1687811
SIVA-JOTHY, Jonathon Vale Group / PhD Student J.A.Siva-Jothy@sms.ed.ac.uk
STETKIEWICZ, Stacia PhD Student S.S.Stetkiewicz@sms.ed.ac.uk
STEVENS, Lewis Blaxter Group / PhD Student L.Stevens-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
SWEENY, Amy Pedersen Group / PhD Student A.R.Sweeny@sms.ed.ac.uk
TORRES, Maria Stone Group / PhD Student M.F.Torres@sms.ed.ac.uk
VENKATESAN, Saudamini Pedersen Group / PhD Student S.Venkatesan@sms.ed.ac.uk
VILLAMIL-BUENROSTRO, Nora Stone Group / PhD Student N.Villamil-Buenrostro@sms.ed.ac.uk
WALLACE, Megan Obbard Group / PhD Student M.A.Wallace-5@sms.ed.ac.uk
WALTON, William Lohse Group / PhD Student W.P.Walton@sms.ed.ac.uk
WESTWOOD, Mary Reece Group / PhD Student Mary.Westwood@ed.ac.uk
WHITTET, Richard Ennos Group / PhD Student R.R.Whittet@sms.ed.ac.uk
YARRA, Tejaswi Edinburgh Genomics / PhD Student T.Yarra@sms.ed.ac.uk
YUSOF, Nadiah PhD Student N.Md-Yusof@sms.ed.ac.uk