Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser: Laura Ross (Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk)

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 18th Sep

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Tanja Schwander (Lausanne)

Genomic consequences of asexual reproduction in animals

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 25th Sep

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Sheena Cotter (University of Lincoln)

Eating for health:The role of nutrition in host-pathogen interactions

Host : Pedro Vale

Wed, 2nd Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Jacek Radwan (AMU Poznan)

MHC evolution: benefits of novelty and costs of excess.

Host : Josephine Pemberton

Wed, 9th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Dannie Durand (Carnegie Mellon University)

Uncovering cryptic plasticity of multidomain protein evolution reveals an active process of genetic innovation

Host : Daniel Barker

Wed, 16th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Julie Jaquiery (INRA)

Genomic insights into sexual conflicts and sex loss in aphids

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 23rd Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Ariel Camp (Liverpool)

Feeding with your swimming muscles: how fish power suction feeding

Host : Dan Nussey

Wed, 30th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Mirre Simmons (Sheffield)

Dietary restriction and longevity: a non-adaptive response to restriction of specific micronutrients?

Host : Joshua Moatt and Dan Nussey

Wed, 6th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

John Skelhorn (Newcastle)

Why are some masqueraders more perfect than others?

Host : Per Smiseth

Wed, 13th Nov

9:00am

Royal College of Physicians

TBC

Unavailable

The Century of Genetics meeting

Host :

Wed, 20th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Sandra Breum Andersen (NYU Langone Medical Center / University of Copenhagen)

Social interactions drive evolution of pathogenic bacteria

Host : Luke McNally

Wed, 27th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Cancelled

Cancelled due to strike action

Host : Laura Ross & Simon Martin

Wed, 4th Dec

2:00am

Ashworth

LT3

Göran Arnqvist (Uppsala)

The genomic footprint of sexual conflict in seed beetles

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 11th Dec

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Katie Atkins

Are vaccines useful to prevent drug resistant infections?

Host : Andrew Leigh Brown

Wed, 15th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Jonna Kulmuni (University of Helsinki)

How can wood ants help understand speciation and hybridization

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 22nd Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Shinichi Nakagawa (New South Wales)

A Behavioural Ecologist Meets Meta-analysis and Falls in Love…

Host : Joel Pick and Jarrod Hadfield

Wed, 29th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

David Houle (Florida)

Making the genotype-phenotype map more than a metaphor.

Host : Jarrod Hadfield

Wed, 5th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Nina Wedell (Exeter)

Sex, conflict and selfish genes

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 12th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Rike Stelkens (Stockholm)

Recombining your way out of trouble: Adaptation through hybridisation

Host : Simon Martin

Wed, 19th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 26th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Crystal Vincent (Imperial)

TBC

Host :

Wed, 4th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Stephen Montgomery (Bristol)

Sensory and cognitive adaptations in butterfly brains

Host : Simon Martin & Laura Ross

Wed, 11th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Daniel Bolnick (Connecticut)

Post-grad speaker

Host :

Wed, 18th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Florencia Camus (UCL)

Genomic insights into metabolism and fitness

Host : Joshua Moatt and Pedro Vale

Wed, 25th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Alexander Suh (Uppsala)

TBC

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 1st Apr

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Marcel Visser (NIOO Wageningen)

TBC

Host : Albert Phillimore

Wed, 22nd Apr

[Still Available]

Wed, 29th Apr

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

PhD symposium

TBC

Host :

Wed, 6th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Guillaume Achaz (Paris)

What process(es) drive(s) genetic diversity?

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 13th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Emilia Santos (Cambridge)

TBC

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 20th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Nancy Chen (Rochester)

Tracking short-term evolution in a pedigreed wild population

Host : Susan Johnston

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.