Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser(s): simon.martin@ed.ac.uk, susan.johnston@ed.ac.uk

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 29th Sep

2:00pm

Online

Online

Gaelen Burke (University of Georgia)

Viruses and endogenous virus elements of parasitoid wasps.

Host : Darren Obbard

Wed, 6th Oct

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 13th Oct

2:00pm

Online

Online

Stuart Baird (Institute of Vertebrate Biology, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic)

Reticulate Evolution and Mice

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 20th Oct

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 27th Oct

2:00pm

Online

Online

Caitlin McDonough-Goldstein (University of Vienna)

Interactions and communication in the female reproductive tract.

Host : Andrew Mongue

Wed, 3rd Nov

2:00pm

Online

Online

Nick Barton (IST Austria)

Genetic analysis of a narrow flower colour hybrid zone

Host : Brian Charlesworth

Wed, 10th Nov

2:00pm

Online

Online

Denis Bourguet & Thomas Guillemaud (INRAE & PCI: Peer Community In)

Peer Community In: A free alternative to evaluate, validate (and publish?) preprints

Host : Susan Johnston & Simon Martin

Wed, 17th Nov

2:00pm

Online

Online

Tom Gilbert (University of Copenhagen)

Temporal genomics as a (possible) tool for conservation

Host : Katerina Guschanski

Wed, 24th Nov

2:00pm

Online

Online

Claire Mérot (Université Laval)

The evolutionary significance of structural variants

Host : Simon Martin

Wed, 1st Dec

2:00pm

Online

Online

Seminar cancelled

Seminar cancelled

Host :

Wed, 8th Dec

3:00pm

Online

Online

Amanda Larracuente (University of Rochester)

Intragenomic conflict in Drosophila: satellite DNA and meiotic drive

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 15th Dec

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 19th Jan

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 26th Jan

2:00pm

Online

Online

Emília Santos (University of Cambridge)

TBC

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 2nd Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Will Ratcliff (Georgia Tech)

TBC

Host : Luke McNally

Wed, 9th Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Loeske Kruuk

Evolutionary ecology and climate change in a wild bird population

Host : Josephine Pemberton

Wed, 16th Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 23rd Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 2nd Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 9th Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 16th Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 23rd Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 30th Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 6th Apr

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 4th May

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 11th May

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 18th May

2:00pm

Online

Online

Nicole Mideo (University of Toronto)

TBC

Host : Helen Alexander

Wed, 25th May

2:00pm

Online

Online

Christelle Fraïsse

TBC

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 1st Jun

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 8th Jun

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.