Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser: Laura Ross (Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk)

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 21st Oct

[Still Available]

Wed, 28th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Florencia Camus (UCL)

Genomic insights into metabolism and fitness

Host : Joshua Moatt and Pedro Vale

Wed, 4th Nov

[Still Available]

Wed, 11th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

Blackboard Collaborate

Jeffrey Jensen (Arizona State University)

A further consideration of the effects of deleterious mutations on patterns of genetic variability

Host : Brian Charlesworth

Wed, 18th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

Online

Luke Holman (Melbourne / Napier)

Quantitative genetics and methylomics of alternative phenotypes

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 25th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

Online

Yasir Ahmed (Syracuse)

The Genomic Basis of Interspecific Gametic Incompatibility in Drosophila

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 2nd Dec

2:00pm

Ashworth

Online

Postponed until 9th Dec

Postponed until 9th Dec

Host :

Wed, 9th Dec

2:00pm

Online

Online

Nancy Chen (Rochester)

Tracking short-term evolution in a pedigreed wild population"

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 16th Dec

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 13th Jan

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 20th Jan

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 27th Jan

2:00pm

Online

Online

Deepa Agashe (National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)

The evolutionary consequences of cellular mistakes

Host : Arun Prakash & Pedro Vale

Wed, 3rd Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Thomas Morrison (Glasgow)

The Serengeti wildebeest migration as a driver of ecology and disease

Host : Amy Pedersen

Wed, 10th Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 17th Feb

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 24th Feb

3:00pm

Online

Online

Nadia Singh (U. Oregon) - Please note change of time

TBC

Host : Matthew Hartfield

Wed, 3rd Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 10th Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 17th Mar

2:00pm

Online

Online

Martin Lascoux (Evolutionary Biology Centre, Uppsala Universitet)

TBC

Host : Matthew Hartfield

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.