Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser: Laura Ross (Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk)

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 15th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Simon Aeschbacher (Bern)

IEB Seminar "Towards a parameterised genomic landscape of effective gene flow"

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 22nd Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Peter Biedermann (Max Planck)

IEB Seminars: Cooperation under the bark - sociality and farming in ambrosia beetles

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 29th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

John McCutcheon (Montana)

IEB Seminars: Genome fragmentation in bacterial endosymbionts: good, bad, or just ugly?

Host : Laura Ross

Fri, 8th Dec

3:00pm

Ashworth

LT1

Vanessa Ezenwa (Georgia)

IEB Graduate Student Invite

Host : Lisa Gecchele

Wed, 13th Dec

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Naomi Pierce (Harvard)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Graham Stone

Wed, 17th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

Lecture Theatre

John Parsch (Munich)

IEB seminars TBC

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 24th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Alison Wright (Sheffield)

Genomics of sexual dimorphism

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 31st Jan

[Still Available]

Wed, 7th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Diethard Tautz (Max Plank Institute, Ploen)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Peter Keightley

Wed, 14th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Sara Sawyer (Colorado)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Darren Obbard & Amy Buck

Wed, 21st Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

John James Wilson (Beijing)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Mark Blaxter

Wed, 28th Feb

[Still Available]

Wed, 7th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

EdEN symposium

EdEN symposium

Host : Ally Phillimore and Graham Stone

Wed, 14th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Kevin Kocot (Alabama)

IEB Seminars: "Phylogenomics and the evolution of biomineralisation in molluscs"

Host : Mark Blaxter

Wed, 21st Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Peter Sarkies (MRC, London)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Darren Obbard

Wed, 28th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Thomas Flatt (Fribourg)

The Genetics of Clinal Variation in Drosophila

Host : Jacob Moorad

Wed, 4th Apr

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

David Duneau (Toulouse)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Sarah Reece

Wed, 9th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

Lecture Theatre 3

Mike Benton (Bristol)

Feathers and function; homology and deep homology

Host : Paul Sharp

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.