Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser: Laura Ross (Laura.Ross@ed.ac.uk)

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 17th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

Lecture Theatre

John Parsch (Munich)

IEB seminars: Evolution and expression of the Drosophila X chromosome

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 24th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Alison Wright (Sheffield)

Genomics of sexual dimorphism

Host : Susan Johnston

Fri, 26th Jan

4:00pm

Ashworth labs

Ash 2 Room 1.03

Joel Pick

Happy Hour Seminar: Why do (apparently) lazy parents still exist?

Host : Craig Walling

Wed, 31st Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Lucy Gilbert (JHI)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Emma Cunningham

Wed, 7th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Diethard Tautz (Max Plank Institute, Ploen)

IEB Seminars: De novo evolution of genes

Host : Peter Keightley

Fri, 9th Feb

4:00pm

Ashworth labs

Ash 2 Room 1.03

Eryn McFarlane

Happy Hour Seminar: TBA

Host : Craig Walling

Wed, 14th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Sara Sawyer (Colorado)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Darren Obbard & Amy Buck

Wed, 21st Feb

[Still Available]

Fri, 23rd Feb

4:00pm

Ashworth labs

Ash 2 Room 1.03

TBC

Happy Hour Seminar: TBA

Host : Craig Walling

Wed, 28th Feb

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

EdEN symposium

EdEN symposium

Host : Ally Phillimore and Graham Stone

Wed, 7th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Brad Duthie (Stirling)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Per Smiseth

Fri, 9th Mar

4:00pm

Ashworth labs

Ash 2 Room 1.03

Surabi Ranavat and Max Brown

Happy Hour Seminar: TBC

Host : Craig Walling

Wed, 14th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Kevin Kocot (Alabama)

IEB Seminars: "Phylogenomics and the evolution of biomineralisation in molluscs"

Host : Mark Blaxter

Wed, 21st Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Peter Sarkies (MRC, London)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Darren Obbard

Fri, 23rd Mar

4:00pm

Ashworth labs

Ash 2 Room 1.03

Jon Richardson and Tom Ratz

Happy Hour Seminar: TBC

Host :

Wed, 28th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Thomas Flatt (Fribourg)

The Genetics of Clinal Variation in Drosophila

Host : Jacob Moorad

Wed, 4th Apr

[Still Available]

Wed, 2nd May

[Still Available]

Wed, 9th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

Lecture Theatre 3

Mike Benton (Bristol)

Feathers and function; homology and deep homology

Host : Paul Sharp

Wed, 16th May

[Still Available]

Wed, 23rd May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Jerome Kelleher (Oxford)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 30th May

[Still Available]

Wed, 6th Jun

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Tanja Schwander (Lausanne)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 13th Jun

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

David Duneau (Toulouse)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Sarah Reece

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.