Evolutionary Biology

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser: Darren Obbard(darren.obbard@ed.ac.uk)

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 20th Feb

[Still Available]

Wed, 27th Feb

[Still Available]

Wed, 6th Mar

2:10pm

Ashworth

LT3

John Pannell (Lausanne)

IEB Seminars: Major transitions in the mating behaviour of plants

Host : Jonathan Silvertown

Wed, 13th Mar

2:10pm

Ashworth

LT3

Greta Bocedi (Aberbeen)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Per Smiseth

Wed, 20th Mar

2:10pm

Ashworth

LT3

Ellie Harrison (Sheffield)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Luke McNally & Deirdre McClean

Wed, 27th Mar

2:10pm

Ashworth

LT3

Reto Burri (Jena)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 3rd Apr

2:10pm

Ashworth

LT3

Stuart Campbell (Sheffield)

IEB Seminars TBC

Host : Matthew Hartfield

Wed, 1st May

[Still Available]

Wed, 8th May

2:10pm

Ashworth

LT3

Ben Ashby (Bath)

IEB Seminar: TBC

Host : Eryn McFarlane

Wed, 15th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

John Skelhorn (Newcastle)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Per Smiseth

Wed, 22nd May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Josh Firth (Oxford)

IEB Seminar:TBC

Host : Dan Nussey

Wed, 29th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT 3

Marlene Zuk (Minnesota)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Sarah Reece and Mary Westwood

Wed, 5th Jun

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Joana Meier (Cambridge)

IEB Seminars: TBC

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 12th Jun

[Still Available]

Wed, 2nd Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

LT3

Jacek Radwan (AMU Poznan)

IEB seminars: TBC

Host : Josephine Pemberton

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.