Ecology and Evolution

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser(s): simon.martin@ed.ac.uk, susan.johnston@ed.ac.uk

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 18th May

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and online

Frank Chan (Friedrich Miescher Laboratory, Tuebingen)

A hitchhiker's guide to linked selection - mice, haplotypes and a new population genomics?

Host : Simon Martin

Wed, 25th May

2:00pm

Online

Online

CANCELLED

CANCELLED

Host :

Wed, 1st Jun

2:00pm

Online

Online

Kohta Yoshida (Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Tuebingen)

Genome-structural evolution facilitating speciation in nematode

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 8th Jun

2:00pm

Hybrid: Ashworth/Online

Hybrid: Lecture Theatre 3 and Zoom

Sandy Hetherington (University of Edinburgh)

The early evolution of land plants written in Scottish fossils

Host : Matthew Hartfield

Wed, 29th Jun

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Nicole Mideo (University of Toronto)

Ecology & evolution of vector-borne infectious disease

Host : Helen Alexander

Thu, 7th Jul

9:00am

Online

Zoom

Tim Connallon (Monash University)

The genetics of adaptation and sexual dimorphism: two short stories

Host : Deborah Charlesworth

Wed, 13th Jul

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Amy Goldberg (Duke University)

Evolutionary perspectives on malaria: humans, primates, and the parasites we share.

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 21st Sep

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 28th Sep

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 5th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Michael Turelli

TBC

Host : Brian Charlesworth

Wed, 12th Oct

2:00pm

Aline Muyle (Université Lyon 1)

TBC

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 19th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Dr Tiffany Taylor (University of Bath)

TBC

Host : Nick Colegrave

Wed, 26th Oct

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 2nd Nov

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 9th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Thomas Lenormand (CEFE, CNRS Montpellier)

TBC

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 16th Nov

2:00pm

Online

Online

Sam Yeaman (University of Calgary)

TBC

Host : Matthew Hartfield

Wed, 23rd Nov

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 30th Nov

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 7th Dec

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 14th Dec

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.