Ecology and Evolution

IEB seminars

IEB Wednesday seminar series

Organiser(s): simon.martin@ed.ac.uk, susan.johnston@ed.ac.uk

The Wednesday series is usually for invited external speakers and occurs throughout the autumn and spring semesters at 2pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Members of IEB invite speakers and direct them to this page so that they can choose suitable dates. Each host co-ordinates their speaker's visit, which involves setting up their presentation, introducing the talk, chairing questions, and arranging dinner afterwards. Rosalind Shields (r.shields@ed.ac.uk) in the office will make any B&B arrangements required and takes care of posters and email adverts.

Date Event

Wed, 5th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Michael Turelli

Rapid turnover of pathogen-blocking Wolbachia and their host-manipulating loci

Host : Brian Charlesworth

Wed, 12th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Aline Muyle (CEFE Montpellier)

Epigenetics and separate sexes evolution in plants

Host : Laura Ross

Wed, 19th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Dr Tiffany Taylor (University of Bath)

Using Experimental Evolution to Unravel the Genomic Causes and Evolutionary Consequences of Biased Adaptive Outcomes

Host : Nick Colegrave

Wed, 26th Oct

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

LT3 and Zoom

Richard Merrill (LMU Munich)

TBC

Host : Simon Martin

Wed, 2nd Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Will Pearse, Imperial College London

Biodiversity in the time of COVID

Host : Ally Phillimore

Wed, 9th Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

LT3 and Zoom

Antonis Rokas (Vanderbilt University)

Fantastic budding yeasts and how they evolved to be

Host : Nick Colegrave

Wed, 16th Nov

4:00pm

Online

Zoom

Sam Yeaman (University of Calgary)

The genetic basis of adaptation: constrained, flexible, or somewhere in between? * NOTE: This is at 4pm and online only *

Host : Matthew Hartfield

Wed, 23rd Nov

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

LT3 and Zoom

Jelle Boonekamp (Glasgow)

Causes and consequences of senescence in wild animals

Host : Hannah Froy & Dan Nussey

Tue, 29th Nov

1:00pm

Ashworth

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Thomas Lenormand (CEFE, CNRS Montpellier)

Theories for the evolution of sex chromosomes. **Note change of date and time due to UCU strike action**

Host : Susan Johnston

Wed, 7th Dec

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Aaron Comeault (Bangor University)

TBC

Host : Darren Obbard

Wed, 14th Dec

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

LT3 and Zoom

Rosalind Murray (Univ. Toronto Mississuaga)

TBC

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 11th Jan

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 18th Jan

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 25th Jan

2:00pm

Ashworth LT3 and Online

Lindell Bromham (Australian National University)

TBC

Host : Loeske Kruuk

Wed, 1st Feb

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 8th Feb

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 15th Feb

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 22nd Feb

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 1st Mar

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 8th Mar

2:00pm

Jamie Walters (Kansas University)

TBC

Host : Konrad Lohse & Simon Martin

Wed, 15th Mar

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 22nd Mar

2:00am

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 29th Mar

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

Hybrid: LT3 and Zoom

Alexey Mikaberidze (University of Reading)

TBC

Host : Helen Alexander

Wed, 5th Apr

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 26th Apr

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 3rd May

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 10th May

2:00pm

Ashworth and online

LT3 and Zoom

Christelle Fraïsse

TBC

Host : Konrad Lohse

Wed, 17th May

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 24th May

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Wed, 31st May

2:00pm

Date still available

TBC

Host :

Happy Hour Seminar series (Spring Semester only)

Organiser: Craig Walling (craig.walling@ed.ac.uk)

This series runs in the Spring semester and is aimed at providing all members of IEB with the opportunity to talk to a more general audience than available at lab meetings and journal clubs. Happy Hour talks start at 4.00pm in LT3, Ashworth Labs (KB campus). Please volunteer to talk - there will be 1 or 2 talks per slot and we are especially keen encourage PhD students and Postdocs. When the Wednesday series is full, the Happy Hour series can also accommodate visitors that are on sabbaticals etc. to help integrate them into IEB.

rss_icon_med_40px.gif RSS Feeds from Biology

Events and seminars are available via an RSS feed. Please click the link below to subscribe.