Biology Teaching Organisation

Key contacts

Key Biology Teaching Organisation contacts

BTO Reception and Student Support

 

 BTO Reception Desk   

 0131 650 8649 

 bto@ed.ac.uk

 Student Support

 0131 650 8649 

 btostudentsupport@ed.ac.uk 

 

 

The BTO is normally open from 09:00 to 17:00 on weekdays.

BTO Student Support Team

Teaching Administration and Recruitment

 

 Director of Teaching

 Dr Patrick Walsh

 0131 650 5520

 sbsdirectorofteaching@ed.ac.uk  

 

 Academic Administrator

 Dr Ann Haley

 0131 650 5538

 Ann.Haley@ed.ac.uk

 Oversees UG and PGT Student Administration, Student Recruitment and Experience team, Student Support, Technical Team

 Recruitment and Employability Manager  Holly Robertson-Dick  0131 650 5352  Holly.Robertson-Dick@ed.ac.uk  Student Employability, Student Recruitment and Induction, Internationalisation, MSc projects, Exchange Coordinator

 Undergraduate Recruitment Officer

 Rona Lindsay

 0131 650 5528

 Rona.Lindsay@ed.ac.uk

 UG Recruitment, Open Days, Offer Holder Days

 Student Experience Officer  Emily Buxton  0131 650 5510  Emily.Buxton@ed.ac.uk  Student Experience, BEE1, EIA2, Student Staff Liaison Coordinator

Projects & Enhancements Officer

 Louise Hann

 0131 650 7481

 Louise.Hann@ed.ac.uk

 New Curriculum Project, Demonstrators and Tutors, TGP2, EEP3

 Undergraduate Manager

 Caroline Aspinwall

 0131 650 5521

 Caroline.Aspinwall@ed.ac.uk

 Undergraduate Programmes, Study Guides, MGC1

 Taught Postgraduate Manager

 Claire Black

 0131 650 8637

 Claire.Black@ed.ac.uk

 Postgraduate Programmes, MSc DDTB, MSc BTP

 Taught Programmes Marketing Officer

 Andrea Nichol

 0131 650 8643

 Andrea.Nichol@ed.ac.uk

 PGT Marketing, MSc Biochemistry, MSc Biotechnology, PGT SSLC

 Programme Administrator

 Jennie Morris

 0131 650 5513

 Jennie.Morris@ed.ac.uk

 MSc QGGA, MSc SSB, PGT SCC

 Teaching Administrator

Cameron Scally

 0131 651 7052

 Cameron.Scally@ed.ac.uk

 ODL1, PCE3, MSc SBB, 1st Year Special Circs, 1st Year BOE, Progression into Year 2

 Teaching Administrator

 Vacancy

 0131 651 3404

 

 TDC2, MolMic3, DevBiol3, 2nd year Special Circs

 Teaching Administrator

 Tim MacDonald

 0131 650 5454

 Tim.MacDonald@ed.ac.uk

 AnBi2, Imm3, ADE3, Immunology Sen Honours, Progression into Years 3 and 4

 Teaching Administrator

 Edward Lithgow

 0131 650 8638

 Edward.Lithgow@ed.ac.uk

 QSB1, Biotech 3, Biotech Sen Honours, Senior Honours Elective Guide, 3rd Year Special Circs, 3rd Year BOE

 Teaching Administrator

 Edward Dewhirst

 0131  650 8649

 Edward.Dewhirst@ed.ac.uk

 APB3, SFP3, MCB3, FZoo3

 Teaching Administrator

 Rachel Law

 0131 651 3689

 Rachel.Law@ed.ac.uk

 Zoology, Evolutionary Biology and Ecology Senior Honours, Senior Honours Electives

 Teaching Administrator

 Alexandra Vasepuru 

 0131 650 5454

 Alex.Vasepuru@ed.ac.uk  

 EEG3, PaBi3, PGen3, BEEC3

 Teaching Administrator

 Louise Robertson

 0131 650 5988

 Louise.K.M.Robertson@ed.ac.uk

 Biochemistry and Plant Science Senior Honours, MSc Bioinformatics, 4th Year Special Circs

 Teaching Administrator

 Carolyn Wilson

 0131 650 8651

 Carolyn.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

 GGA2, TMW2, MoG3, Dev, Reg. and Stem Cells Sen. Honours,  2nd year BOE secretary

 Teaching Administrator

 Donna Wright

 0131 651 7051

 Donna.Wright@ed.ac.uk

 Cell Biol, Mol. Biol, Genetics and Mol. Genetics Senior Honours, Room Bookings, Tier 4 Monitoring

 

Technicians and E-learning Support

 

 Technical Support Manager

 Dr David Hills

 0131 650 7196 

 David.Hills@ed.ac.uk

 Technicians, Laboratories 

 MSc Technical Support Officer 

 Dr Heather Barker 

 0131 651 3539

 Heather.Barker@ed.ac.uk 

 Peter Wilson Laboratory

 Teaching Lab Technician  Natalie Kermack  0131 650 5461  Natalie.Kermack@ed.ac.uk  Ashworth Teaching Laboratory
 Teaching Lab Technician  Susan Forbes  0131 650 5550  Susan.Forbes@ed.ac.uk  Daniel Rutherford Teaching Laboratory
 Teaching Lab Technician  Alan Isbister  0131 650 5375   A.Isbister@ed.ac.uk  JCMB Teaching Laboratory

 E-Learning Support

 Mr David Barrass

 0131 651 7090

 btovle@ed.ac.uk

 

 E-Learning Project Officer

 Dr Linda Hu

 0131 651 7091

 btovle@ed.ac.uk