Cell Biology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Cell Biology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7091

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
FANOURGIAKI, Maria Science Communicator Maria.Fanourgiaki@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5384
FLEMING, Carolyn Centre Administrative Assistant Carolyn.Fleming@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7071
JUDGE, Sarah-Jane Centre Public Engagement Manager s-j.judge@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5384
KEER-KEER, Sarah WTCCB Public Engagement Manager skkeer@staffmail.ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5384
STRUTHERS, Christine PA to Prof. Adrian Bird Christine.Struthers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5668
TRAILL, Karen Dr Centre Manager for WTCCB Karen.Traill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5933

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AGRAWAL, Neha Dr nagrawal@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ALLSHIRE, Robin Prof Chromosome segregation: centromeric chromatin and kinetochore assembly Robin.Allshire@ed.ac.uk R V
ARULANANDAM, Arockia J. Dr Structural Biology of Cell Division Jeyaprakash.Arulanandam@ed.ac.uk R
BAYNE, Elizabeth Dr Non-coding RNAs and chromatin modification in genome regulation elizabeth.bayne@ed.ac.uk R
BIRD, Adrian Prof Reading the DNA methylation signal A.Bird@ed.ac.uk R V
BUONOMO, Sara Dr chromosome biology, epigenetics, nuclear organisation Sara.Buonomo@ed.ac.uk
EARNSHAW, Bill Prof Mitotic chromosome transactions Bill.Earnshaw@ed.ac.uk R V
EL KAROUI, Meriem Prof DNA repair in bacteria at the single cell level Meriem.Elkaroui@ed.ac.uk R
FINNEGAN, David Prof Transposable elements David.Finnegan@ed.ac.uk V
GORYACHEV, Andrew Prof Spatial aspects of cell signalling Andrew.Goryachev@ed.ac.uk R
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Mitosis and the spindle checkpoint Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk R V
HEUN, Patrick Dr Patrick.Heun@ed.ac.uk R
INTERTHAL, Heidrun Dr Repair of covalent protein-DNA complexes heidrun.interthal@ed.ac.uk R
KOLOZHY CHEERAMBATHUR, Dhanya Dr Dhanya.Cheerambathur@ed.ac.uk R
LEACH, David Prof Replication, Recombination and Genome Stability D.Leach@ed.ac.uk R V
LY, Tony Dr Tony.Ly@ed.ac.uk R
MAKOVETS, Svetlana Dr Telomere biology Sveta.Makovets@ed.ac.uk R
MARSTON, Adele Prof Mechanisms of chromosome segregation adele.marston@ed.ac.uk R V
MCQUEEN, Heather Prof Dosage compensation, epigenetics and sex determination H.McQueen@ed.ac.uk R
OHKURA, Hiroyuki Prof Chromosome segregation H.Ohkura@ed.ac.uk R V
PILIZOTA, Teuta Dr Biophysics, bacterial stress response and measurements of single cell physiological changes Teuta.Pilizota@ed.ac.uk R
RAPPSILBER, Juri Prof Protein organisation and composition of chromatin in normal and breast cancer cells juri.rappsilber@ed.ac.uk R V
SAWIN, Ken Prof Microtubule organisation and cell polarity Ken.Sawin@ed.ac.uk R
SCHIRMER, Eric Prof Influence of the nuclear envelope on cell differentiation and genome architecture E.Schirmer@ed.ac.uk R V
TELFER, Evelyn Prof Ovarian development Evelyn.Telfer@ed.ac.uk R
TOLLERVEY, David Prof RNA processing and degradation D.Tollervey@ed.ac.uk R V
VOIGT, Philipp Dr Philipp.Voigt@ed.ac.uk R
WALLACE, Edward Dr RNA systems biology, fungal pathogens Edward.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WELBURN, Julie Dr Regulation of microtubules in mitosis Julie.Welburn@ed.ac.uk R V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
BEGGS, Jean Professor Professor of Genetics J.Beggs@ed.ac.uk
BISHOP, John Professor Emeritus Professor Scotlbisjo@aol.com
BOWNES, Mary Professor Emerita Professor of Developmental Biology Mary.Bownes@ed.ac.uk
DONACHIE, W D Professor Professor Emeritus
HARRINGTON, Lea Professor Visiting Professor l.harrington@ed.ac.uk
KILBEY, Brian J Professor Professor Emeritus
MARCH, John Dr Honorary Fellow John.March@ed.ac.uk
SAUNDERS, D S Professor Professor Emeritus
SUTHERLAND, Ian W Professor Professor Emeritus
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ALEXANDER-HOWDEN, Beatrice Bird Group / Research Assistant Beatrice.Alexander-Howden@ed.ac.uk R
ALSTON, Grace Bird Group / Research Assistant galston@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ANDERSON, Felicity / Research Assistant in Bioinformatics Felicity.Anderson@ed.ac.uk
AUCHYNNIKAVA, Tatsiana Allshire Group / Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow T.Auchynnikava@ed.ac.uk R
AUXILLOS, Jamie / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Messenger RNA Regulation jauxillo@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BAYNE, Rosemary Dr / Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Bayne@ed.ac.uk
BOREK, Weronika Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Weronika.Borek@ed.ac.uk R
BOTEVA, Lora Dr Buonomo Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate lboteva@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BRESSON, Stefan Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Bresson@ed.ac.uk R
BURROWS, Rachael Voigt Lab / Research Assistant rburrow2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CARLONI, Roberta Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Roberta.Carloni@ed.ac.uk R
CHAPMAN, Elliott Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Elliott.Chapman@ed.ac.uk
CHHATBAR, Kashyap Bird Group / Bioinformatician kashyap.c@ed.ac.uk R
CISNEROS SOBERANIS, Fernanda Dr Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate f.cisneros@ed.ac.uk
COMBE, Colin Dr Rappsilber Group / Web-based Data Visualisation Specialist Colin.Combe@ed.ac.uk R
CONNELLY, John Dr Bird Group / Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow John.Connelly@ed.ac.uk R
CRELLIN, Helena Cheerambathur Lab / Research Assistant Helena.Crellin@ed.ac.uk
CULLEN, Fiona Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate F.Cullen@ed.ac.uk R
CZAPIEWSKI, Rafal Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rafal.Czapiewski@ed.ac.uk R
DARMON, Elise Dr Walsh Group / Lecturer in Molecular Bioscience Education Elise.Darmon@ed.ac.uk R
DE LAS HERAS, Jose Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.delasHeras@ed.ac.uk R
DIAS MIRANDELA, Gaetan Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Gaetan.Dias-Mirandela@ed.ac.uk
DIXON, Charles Schirmer Group / Research Assistant cdixon@exseed.ed.ac.uk
EL-HAGE, Aziz Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aziz.Elhage@ed.ac.uk R
FERNANDEZ, Maria Dr Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant Mariaalba.Abad@ed.ac.uk R
FITZPATRICK, Laura Bird Group / Research Assistant lfitzpat@exseed.ed.ac.uk
GALDI, Francesca Pilizota Lab / Research Assistant Francesca.Galdi@ed.ac.uk
GIULIANI, Sara Bird Group / Research Assistant Sara.Giuliani@ed.ac.uk
GLUSZEK-KUSTUSZ, Agata Welburn Group / Research Assistant agluszek@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
GOTTSCHALD CHIODI, Carla Dr Arulanandam Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate carla.chiodi@ed.ac.uk
GREEN, Mattie Cheerambathur Lab / Research Assistant mattie.green@ed.ac.uk
GROSBOIS, Johanne Dr Telfer Group / Postdopctoral Research Associate Johanne.Grosbois@ed.ac.uk
GUY, Jacqueline Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Guy@ed.ac.uk R
HELWAK, Aleksandra Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ahelwak@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
IDIGO, Nwamaka Voigt Lab / Research Assistant nidigo@exseed.ed.ac.uk
JANARDANAN, Amritha Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate ajanarda@exseed.ed.ac.uk
KELLY, David Dr Tollervey Group / COIL Manager David.Kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KELLY, Van Dr Ly Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate van.kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KOCH, Lori Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lori.Koch@ed.ac.uk
KOCHANOVA, Natalia Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Natalia.Kochanova@ed.ac.uk
KOMPAUEROVA, Michaela Tollervey Group / Research Assistant Michaela.Kompauerova@ed.ac.uk
KOTENKO, Oleksii Makovets Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate okotenko@exseed.ed.ac.uk
KUSTATSCHER, Georg Dr Rappsilber Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate georg.kustatscher@ed.ac.uk R
LEDA, Marcin Dr Goryachev Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mleda@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
LEONTIOU, Ioanna Hardwick Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ileontio@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LEPORE, Alessia Dr El Karoui Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alessia.Lepore@ed.ac.uk R
LO, Wei-Chang Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate wlo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LONDON, Nitobe Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate nitobe.london@ed.ac.uk
LYST, Matthew Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mlyst@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
MAKRANTONI, Vaso Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vasso.Makrantoni@ed.ac.uk R
MASSARI, Lucia Dr Marston Group / PDRA in Synthetic Chromosome Biology lmassari@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk R
MEDINA-PRITCHARD, Bethan Dr Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant Bethan.Medina@ed.ac.uk R
MIHALAS, Bettina Panayiota Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Human Oocyte Biology bmihalas@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ODEY, Yvonne Telfer Group / Research Associate Y.L.Clarkson@ed.ac.uk R
PANDIT, Prashant Dr Makovets Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ppandit@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PANTIER, Raphael Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Pantier@ed.ac.uk R
PATON, Katie Bird Group / Research Assistant kpaton@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PAVLOVA, Gera Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Cell Biology gpavlova@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PESENTI, Elisa Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Associate/Lab Manager Elisa.Pesenti@ed.ac.uk
PETFALSKI, Elisabeth Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate E.Petfalski@ed.ac.uk R
PIDOUX, Alison Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alison.Pidoux@ed.ac.uk R
PIEPER, Gerardus Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Human Oocyte Biology gpieper@exseed.ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / Research Assistant apostrac@exseed.ed.ac.uk
POWELL, Lynn Dr Buonomo Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lynn.Powell@ed.ac.uk R
RAVINDRAN NAIR PUSHKALA KUMARI, Reshma Dr Voigt Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate reshma.nair@ed.ac.uk
REMNANT, Lucy Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lucy.Remnant@ed.ac.uk R
ROBERTSON, Daniel Tollervey Group / Bioinformatician Daniel.Robertson@ed.ac.uk R
SAMEJIMA, Itaru Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Fellow Itaru.Samejima@ed.ac.uk R
SAMEJIMA, Kumiko Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Fellow Kumiko.Samejima@ed.ac.uk R
SANI, Emanuela Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Ema.Sani@ed.ac.uk R
SHCHEPACHEV, Vadim Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Vadim.Shchepachev@ed.ac.uk R
SHUKLA, Manushubh Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Manu.Shukla@ed.ac.uk
SINJAB, Faris Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate fsinjab@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SKOURTI STATHAKI, Konstantina Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate konstantina.skourti-stathaki@ed.ac.uk
SPANOS, Christos Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Facility Manager Christos.Spanos@ed.ac.uk
STANEVA, Desislava Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate dstaneva@exseed.ed.ac.uk
STECCANELLA, Verdiana Dr Bird Group / Research Assistant/Lab Manager Verdiana.Steccanella@ed.ac.uk R
STIRPE, Alessandro Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate alessandro.stirpe@ed.ac.uk
STRACHAN, Joanna Dr Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jo.Strachan@ed.ac.uk R
SU, Xue (Bessie) Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate xue.su@ed.ac.uk
TAY, Ye Dee Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Yedee.Tay@ed.ac.uk
THEDIE, Daniel Dr El Karoui Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate: DNA repair at the single molecule leve daniel.thedie@ed.ac.uk
TODDIE-MOORE, Daniel Dr Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Cell Biology dmoore1@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TUCK, Laura / Postdoctoral Research Associate Laura.Tuck@ed.ac.uk
TUROWSKI, Tomasz Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate T.Turowski@ed.ac.uk R
VAN NUES, Rob Dr Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rob.Van-Nues@ed.ac.uk R
WANG, Menglu Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lily.Wang@ed.ac.uk
WEBB, Shaun Tollervey Group / Bioinformatics Core Facility Manager shaun.webb@ed.ac.uk R
WHITE, Sharon Dr Allshire Group / Research Assistant Sharon.A.White@ed.ac.uk R
WILSON, Rona Dr Ly Lab / Research Assistant Rona.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
YANEZ CUNA, Fares Dr Leach Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Fares.Yanez@ed.ac.uk
ZOU, Juan Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Data Analysis Manager j.zou@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BUZUK, Lana Arulanandam Group / Research Technician Lana.Buzuk@ed.ac.uk
FREDERICK, Meghan Heun Lab / Research Technician meghan.frederick@ed.ac.uk
GEROCZ, Emoke Heun Lab / Research Technician Emoke.Gerocz@ed.ac.uk
LEGAL, Thibault Welburn Group / Research Technician thibault.legal@ed.ac.uk
LENCI, Simone Voigt Lab / Research Technician slenci2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk R
MCLAREN, Lorna Dr El Karoui Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager Lorna.McLaren@ed.ac.uk
OUZOUNIDIS, Vasileios-Rafail Cheerambathur Lab / Research Technician Vasilis.Ouzounidis@ed.ac.uk
PEAT, Emma Ohkura Group / Research Technician Emma.Peat@ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / Research Assistant apostrac@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PYOTT, Douglas Schirmer Group / Research Technician dpyott@exseed.ed.ac.uk
REID, Caitlin Earnshaw Group / Research Technician creid34@exseed.ed.ac.uk
TASKOVA, Emiliya Ohkura Group / Senior Research Technician emiliya.taskova@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
MUKHERJEE, Anuradha Marston Group / PhD Student s1828844@sms.ed.ac.uk
AKTAR, Koly Aktar Hardwick Group / PhD Student s1853282@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL-MURTADHA, Asma Arulanandam Group / PhD Student A.A.A.Al-Murtadha@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL-RAWI, Aymen Al-Rawi Earnshaw Group / PhD Student s1769674@sms.ed.ac.uk
ANDRIUSKEVICIUS, Tadas Makovets Group / PhD Student S1344840@sms.ed.ac.uk
ARSENIJEVIC, Ana Bayne Lab / PhD Student s1845936@sms.ed.ac.uk
ATTARD, Thomas Welburn Group / PhD Student s1403848@sms.ed.ac.uk
BURRELL, Clarinda PhD Student s1140327@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Naiming Buonomo Group / PhD Student s1573497@sms.ed.ac.uk
CRASKE, Benjamin Welburn Group / PhD Student s1723998@sms.ed.ac.uk
DEGTEV, Dmitrii Makovets Group / PhD Student D.Degtev@sms.ed.ac.uk
DEVLIN, Tadhg Allshire Group / PhD Student tadhg.devlin@ed.ac.uk
DIXON, Charles Schirmer Group / PhD Student C.Dixon-4@sms.ed.ac.uk
DUBENKO, Anton Makovets Group / PhD Student s1847276@sms.ed.ac.uk
DUNPHY, Sean Buonomo Group / PhD Student S.Dunphy@sms.ed.ac.uk
FABE, Mathilde Heun Lab / PhD Student M.T.L.Fabe@sms.ed.ac.uk
FELLAS, Andreas Swain Group / PhD Student s1207673@ed.ac.uk
FITZPATRICK, Laura Bird Group / PhD Student s1581420@sms.ed.ac.uk
GALGANO, Salvatore PhD Student s1583742@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Chuanli Goryachev Group / PhD Student C.Huang-44@sms.ed.ac.uk
JIMENEZ SANCHEZ, Ignacio Arulanandam Group / PhD Student I.Jimenez-Sanchez@sms.ed.ac.uk
JNIED, Marah / PhD Student M.Jnied@sms.ed.ac.uk
KALITA, Irina El Karoui Group / PhD Student S1753455@ed.ac.uk
KOVAC, Adam Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1663765@sms.ed.ac.uk
KRISHNAN, Meena Heun Lab / PhD Student M.Krishnan-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
LEGAL, Thibault Welburn Group / PhD Student s1332234@sms.ed.ac.uk
LEWIS, David Zamoyska Group / PhD Student s1625447@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIM, Melanie Marston Group / PhD Student s1507184@ed.ac.uk
LIU, Haonan Welburn Group / PhD Student H.Liu-49@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIEKEN, Karen Julia Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1584679@ed.ac.uk
PATON, Katie Bird Group / PhD Student s1229422@sms.ed.ac.uk
PEYTON JONES, Margaret Marston Group / PhD Student meg.peytonjones@ed.ac.uk
POMPA, Aleksandra Marston Group / PhD Student s1584495@ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / PhD Student alexandra.postrach@ed.ac.uk
REPTON, Charlotte Ohkura Group / PhD Student C.H.Repton@sms.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Nicholas Tollervey Group / PhD Student s1052135@sms.ed.ac.uk
RODRIGUEZ RODRIGUEZ, Ana Isabel Sawin Group / PhD Student s1583529@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCOTT, Monique Sawin Group / PhD Student M.L.Scott@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCOTT, Peter PhD Student s0922735@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCOYNES, Charlotte Bayne Lab / PhD Student S1736553@ed.ac.uk
SILVA, Pedro Ohkura Group / PhD Student P.M.B.Silva@sms.ed.ac.uk
SIVAKUMAR, Aishwarya Schirmer Group / PhD Student A.Sivakumar@sms.ed.ac.uk
TASKOVA, Emiliya Ohkura Group / PhD Student emiliya.taskova@ed.ac.uk
TERRADOT, Guillaume Pilizota Lab / PhD Student G.P.A.Terradot@sms.ed.ac.uk
TORRES-GARCIA, Jesus Allshire Group / PhD Student J.Torres-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
VALSAKUMAR, Devisree Voigt Lab / PhD Student D.Valsakumar@sms.ed.ac.uk
VINOD, Aparna Marston Group / PhD Student A.Vinod-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xiang Ohkura Group / PhD Student x.wan-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
WU, Weifang Allshire Group / PhD Student s1721919@ed.ac.uk
YASMIN, Tahirah Leach Group / PhD Student T.Yasmin@sms.ed.ac.uk
YEBOAH, Rebecca Allshire Group / PhD Student R.Yeboah@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Haidao Bayne Lab / PhD Student H.Zhang-104@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHAO, Ning Bayne Lab / PhD Student N.Zhao-7@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZURBRUEGG, Mark Pilizota Lab / PhD Student M.B.Zurbruegg@sms.ed.ac.uk