Cell Biology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Cell Biology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Head of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7091

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BARKER, Caron Caron.Barker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
FLEMING, Carolyn Centre Administrative Assistant Carolyn.Fleming@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7071
JUDGE, Sarah-Jane Dr Centre Public Engagement Manager s-j.judge@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5384
STRUTHERS, Christine PA to Prof. Adrian Bird Christine.Struthers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5668

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AGRAWAL, Neha Dr investigating the systems physiology of metabolic disorders using the model system Drosophila melanogaster. Neha.Agrawal@ed.ac.uk
ALLSHIRE, Robin Prof Chromosome segregation: centromeric chromatin and kinetochore assembly Robin.Allshire@ed.ac.uk R V
ARULANANDAM, Arockia J. Dr Structural Biology of Cell Division Jeyaprakash.Arulanandam@ed.ac.uk R
BAYNE, Elizabeth Dr Non-coding RNAs and chromatin modification in genome regulation elizabeth.bayne@ed.ac.uk R
BIRD, Adrian Prof Reading the DNA methylation signal A.Bird@ed.ac.uk R V
BUONOMO, Sara Dr Chromosome biology, epigenetics, nuclear organisation Sara.Buonomo@ed.ac.uk
CHEERAMBATHUR, Dhanya Dr Role of microtubule cytoskeleton in building and regenerating the neural connectome Dhanya.Cheerambathur@ed.ac.uk R
DARMON, Elise Dr DNA repair in Escherichia coli Elise.Darmon@ed.ac.uk R
DAVIES, Owen Dr Structural biology of meiosis Owen.Davies@ed.ac.uk
EARNSHAW, Bill Prof Mitotic chromosome transactions Bill.Earnshaw@ed.ac.uk R V
EL KAROUI, Meriem Prof DNA repair in bacteria at the single cell level Meriem.Elkaroui@ed.ac.uk R
FINNEGAN, David Prof Transposable elements David.Finnegan@ed.ac.uk V
GORYACHEV, Andrew Prof Spatial aspects of cell signalling Andrew.Goryachev@ed.ac.uk R
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Mitosis and the spindle checkpoint Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk R V
HEUN, Patrick Dr Establishment and maintenance of chromatin identity Patrick.Heun@ed.ac.uk R
INTERTHAL, Heidrun Dr Repair of covalent protein-DNA complexes heidrun.interthal@ed.ac.uk R
MAKOVETS, Svetlana Dr Telomere biology Sveta.Makovets@ed.ac.uk R
MARSTON, Adele Prof Mechanisms of chromosome segregation adele.marston@ed.ac.uk R V
MCQUEEN, Heather Prof Dosage compensation, epigenetics and sex determination H.McQueen@ed.ac.uk R
OHKURA, Hiroyuki Prof Chromosome segregation H.Ohkura@ed.ac.uk R V
PILIZOTA, Teuta Prof Biophysics, bacterial stress response and measurements of single cell physiological changes Teuta.Pilizota@ed.ac.uk R
RAPPSILBER, Juri Prof Protein organisation and composition of chromatin in normal and breast cancer cells juri.rappsilber@ed.ac.uk R V
SAWIN, Ken Prof Microtubule organisation and cell polarity Ken.Sawin@ed.ac.uk R
SCHIRMER, Eric Prof Influence of the nuclear envelope on cell differentiation and genome architecture E.Schirmer@ed.ac.uk R V
TELFER, Evelyn Prof Ovarian development Evelyn.Telfer@ed.ac.uk R
TOLLERVEY, David Prof RNA processing and degradation D.Tollervey@ed.ac.uk R V
WALLACE, Edward Dr RNA systems biology, fungal pathogens Edward.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WELBURN, Julie Dr Regulation of microtubules in mitosis Julie.Welburn@ed.ac.uk R V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
BEGGS, Jean Professor Professor of Genetics J.Beggs@ed.ac.uk
BOWNES, Mary Professor Emerita Professor of Developmental Biology Mary.Bownes@ed.ac.uk
DONACHIE, W D Professor Professor Emeritus
HARRINGTON, Lea Professor Visiting Professor l.harrington@ed.ac.uk
KILBEY, Brian J Professor Professor Emeritus
LEACH, David Professor Professor Emeritus D.Leach@ed.ac.uk
MARCH, John Dr Honorary Fellow John.March@ed.ac.uk
SAUNDERS, D S Professor Professor Emeritus
SUTHERLAND, Ian W Professor Professor Emeritus
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
AL SIYABI, Haya Neha lab / Research Assistant halsiya@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ALEXANDER-HOWDEN, Beatrice Bird Group / Research Assistant Beatrice.Alexander-Howden@ed.ac.uk R
ANDRIUSKEVICIUS, Tadas Makovets Group / Research Assistant tandrius@exseed.ed.ac.uk
BARVE, Gaurav Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate gaurav.barve@ed.ac.uk
BAYNE, Rosemary Dr Edward Wallace Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Bayne@ed.ac.uk
BRESSON, Stefan Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Bresson@ed.ac.uk R
BROWN, Megan Bird Group / Research Assistant mbrown34@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CARLONI, Roberta Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Roberta.Carloni@ed.ac.uk R
CHAPMAN, Elliott Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Elliott.Chapman@ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Naiming Buonomo Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate nchen@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CHHATBAR, Kashyap Bird Group / Bioinformatician kashyap.c@ed.ac.uk R
CISNEROS SOBERANIS, Fernanda Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior PDRA/Lab Manager f.cisneros@ed.ac.uk
CISZEK, Aleksandra Ohkura Group / Research Assistant aciszek@ed.ac.uk
COMBE, Colin Dr Rappsilber Group / Web-based Data Visualisation Specialist Colin.Combe@ed.ac.uk R
CULLEN, Fiona Ohkura Group / Research Associate F.Cullen@ed.ac.uk R
CZAPIEWSKI, Rafal Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Rafal.Czapiewski@ed.ac.uk R
DE LAS HERAS, Jose Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.delasHeras@ed.ac.uk R
DEB, Moonmoon Dr Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mdeb@exseed.ed.ac.uk
DEBILIO, Simona Davies lab / Research Assistant simona.debilio@ed.ac.uk
DUDNAKOVA, Tatiana Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Tanya.Dudnakova@ed.ac.uk
EL-HAGE, Aziz Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aziz.Elhage@ed.ac.uk R
FERNANDEZ, Maria (Alba) Dr Arulanandam Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mariaalba.Abad@ed.ac.uk R
FLEWELLEN, James Dr Pilizota Lab / Biosensor Commercialisation Team Lead James.Flewellen@ed.ac.uk
GIULIANI, Sara Bird Group / Research Assistant Sara.Giuliani@ed.ac.uk
GLUSZEK-KUSTUSZ, Agata Welburn Group / Research Assistant agluszek@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
GREEN, Mattie Cheerambathur Lab / Research Assistant mattie.green@ed.ac.uk
GROSBOIS, Johanne Dr Telfer Group / Postdopctoral Research Associate Johanne.Grosbois@ed.ac.uk
GUY, Jacqueline Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Guy@ed.ac.uk R
HEGDE, Smitha Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate shegde3@exseed.ed.ac.uk
HELWAK, Aleksandra Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ahelwak@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
JAIN, Rohit Dr Goryachev Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate rjain@ed.ac.uk
JANARDANAN, Amritha Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Amritha.Janardanan@ed.ac.uk
KELLY, David Dr Marston Group / COIL Manager David.Kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KOCH, Lori Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lori.Koch@ed.ac.uk
KOCHANOVA, Natalia Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Natalia.Kochanova@ed.ac.uk
KOTENKO, Oleksii Makovets Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate okotenko@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LEDA, Marcin Dr Goryachev Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mleda@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
LEPORE, Alessia Dr El Karoui Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alessia.Lepore@ed.ac.uk R
LONDON, Nitobe Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate nitobe.london@ed.ac.uk
LYST, Matthew Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mlyst@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
MANICKAM, Gurusaran Davies lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Gurusaran.Manickam@ed.ac.uk
MASSARI, Lucia Dr Marston Group / PDRA in Synthetic Chromosome Biology lmassari@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk R
MEDINA-PRITCHARD, Bethan Dr Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant Bethan.Medina@ed.ac.uk R
MIHALAS, Bettina Panayiota Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Human Oocyte Biology bmihalas@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MONDAL, Baisakhi Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate bmondal@exseed.ed.ac.uk
NIEKEN, Jule Ohkura Group / Research Assistant knieken@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ODEY, Yvonne Telfer Group / Research Associate Y.L.Clarkson@ed.ac.uk R
PANTIER, Raphael Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Pantier@ed.ac.uk R
PAVLOVA, Gera Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Cell Biology gpavlova@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PETFALSKI, Elisabeth Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate E.Petfalski@ed.ac.uk R
PIDOUX, Alison Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alison.Pidoux@ed.ac.uk R
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / Research Assistant Alexandra.Postrach@ed.ac.uk
RAVINDRAN NAIR PUSHKALA KUMARI, Reshma Dr M. Wilson Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate reshma.nair@ed.ac.uk
REMNANT, Lucy Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lucy.Remnant@ed.ac.uk R
REPTON, Charlotte Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate crepton2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Daniel / Bioinformatician Daniel.Robertson@ed.ac.uk R
ROWLANDS, Hollie Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate hrowland@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SAMEJIMA, Itaru Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Fellow Itaru.Samejima@ed.ac.uk R
SAMEJIMA, Kumiko Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Fellow Kumiko.Samejima@ed.ac.uk R
SHUKLA, Manushubh Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Manu.Shukla@ed.ac.uk
SPANOS, Christos Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Facility Manager Christos.Spanos@ed.ac.uk
SRSEN, Vlastimil Dr Telfer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate V.Srsen@ed.ac.uk
STANEVA, Desislava Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Desislava.Staneva@ed.ac.uk
STIRPE, Alessandro Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate alessandro.stirpe@ed.ac.uk
STRACHAN, Joanna Dr Bayne Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Jo.Strachan@ed.ac.uk R
TAN, Thomas Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Thomas.Tan@ed.ac.uk R
TAY, Ye Dee Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Yedee.Tay@ed.ac.uk
THEDIE, Daniel Dr El Karoui Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate: DNA repair at the single molecule leve daniel.thedie@ed.ac.uk
TUCK, Laura Edward Wallace Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Laura.Tuck@ed.ac.uk
WANG, Menglu Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lily.Wang@ed.ac.uk
WEBB, Shaun Marston Group / Bioinformatics Core Facility Manager shaun.webb@ed.ac.uk R
WHITE, Sharon Dr Allshire Group / Senior Postdoctoral Researcher/Lab Manager Sharon.A.White@ed.ac.uk R
WINTERBOURNE, Sophie Edward Wallace Group / Sophie Winterbourne Sophie.Winterbourne@ed.ac.uk
WU, Weifang Allshire Group / Research Assistant wwu34@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ZOU, Juan Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Data Analysis Manager j.zou@ed.ac.uk R

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
CHARVILL, Maddie Heun Lab / Research Technician maddie.charvill@ed.ac.uk
FINLAYSON, Cameron Cheerambathur Lab / Research Technician Cameron.Finlayson@ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk R
MCLAREN, Lorna Dr El Karoui Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager Lorna.McLaren@ed.ac.uk
PATERSON, Calum Welburn Group / Research Technician calum.paterson@ed.ac.uk
PEAT, Emma Ohkura Group / Research Technician Emma.Peat@ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / Research Assistant Alexandra.Postrach@ed.ac.uk
REID, Caitlin Earnshaw Group / Research Technician caitlin.reid@ed.ac.uk
TASKOVA, Emiliya Ohkura Group / Senior Research Technician emiliya.taskova@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AKTAR, Koly Aktar Hardwick Group / PhD Student s1853282@sms.ed.ac.uk
AL-RAWI, Aymen Al-Rawi Earnshaw Group / PhD Student s1769674@sms.ed.ac.uk
ALVES DOMINGOS, Henrique Cheerambathur Lab / PhD Student H.Alves-Domingos@sms.ed.ac.uk
ARSENIJEVIC, Ana Bayne Lab / PhD Student s1845936@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASLAM, Farhan Schirmer Group / PhD Student M.F.Aslam@sms.ed.ac.uk
ATTARD, Thomas Welburn Group / PhD Student s1403848@sms.ed.ac.uk
BAYRAK, Beste Sawin Group / PhD Student b.bayrak@sms.ed.ac.uk
BEXLEY, Katie Allshire Group / PhD Student K.H.Bexley@sms.ed.ac.uk
BHASKAR, Haresh Allshire Group / PhD Student H.Bhaskar@sms.ed.ac.uk
BROUGHTON, James El Karoui Group / PhD Student J.K.Broughton@sms.ed.ac.uk
CASEY, Eleanor Allshire Group / PhD Student E.R.Casey-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
CRASKE, Benjamin Welburn Group / PhD Student s1723998@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAVIES, Thomas Allshire Group / PhD Student T.G.Davies@sms.ed.ac.uk
DUBENKO, Anton Makovets Group / PhD Student s1847276@sms.ed.ac.uk
DUNPHY, Sean Buonomo Group / PhD Student S.Dunphy@sms.ed.ac.uk
ESTEBAN SERNA, Sofia Allshire Group / PhD Student S.Esteban-Serna@sms.ed.ac.uk
FABE, Mathilde Heun Lab / PhD Student M.T.L.Fabe@sms.ed.ac.uk
FELLAS, Andreas Swain Group / PhD Student s1207673@ed.ac.uk
FIAGBEDZI, Emmanual Allshire Group / PhD Student E.Fiagbedzi@ed.ac.uk
GABERDIEL, Elisabeth Allshire Group / PhD Student E.Gaberdiel@ed.ac.uk
GIREESH, Anjitha Arulanandam Group / PhD Student A.Gireesh@sms.ed.ac.uk
GIULIANI, Sara Bird Group / PhD Student Sara.Giuliani@ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Ankita Sawin Group / PhD Student A.Gupta-41@sms.ed.ac.uk
HILLS, Ethan Voigt Lab / PhD Student E.Hills@sms.ed.ac.uk
HONG-MINH, Amandine Allshire Group / PhD Student A.Hong-Minh@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Chuanli Goryachev Group / PhD Student C.Huang-44@sms.ed.ac.uk
JI, Qingqin Schirmer Group / PhD Student Q.JI-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
JNIED, Marah Edward Wallace Group / PhD Student M.Jnied@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAADE, Rayane Ohkura Group / PhD Student Rayane.Kaade@ed.ac.uk
KALITA, Irina El Karoui Group / PhD Student S1753455@ed.ac.uk
KOCAKAPLAN, Dilara Marston Group / PhD Student D.Kocakaplan@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOMPAUEROVA, Michaela Tollervey Group / PhD Student M.Kompauerova@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOVAC, Adam Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1663765@sms.ed.ac.uk
KRISHNAN, Meena Heun Lab / PhD Student M.Krishnan-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
LEWIS, David Zamoyska Group / PhD Student s1625447@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIM, Melanie Marston Group / PhD Student s1507184@ed.ac.uk
LIU, Haonan Welburn Group / PhD Student H.Liu-49@sms.ed.ac.uk
MCBRIDE, Rebecca Neha lab / PhD Student s1735650@sms.ed.ac.uk
MODAFFARI, Domenico Allshire Group / PhD Student domenico.modaffari@ed.ac.uk
MUKHERJEE, Anuradha Marston Group / PhD Student s1828844@sms.ed.ac.uk
MURRAY, Rachael Edward Wallace Group / PhD Student R.M.Murray-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
NIEKEN, Karen Julia Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1584679@ed.ac.uk
OUZOUNIDIS, Vasilis Cheerambathur Lab / PhD Student V.R.Ouzounidis@sms.ed.ac.uk
PAMBURAYATH SURESH, Ardra Hardwick Group / PhD Student A.Pamburayath-Suresh@sms.ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / PhD Student alexandra.postrach@ed.ac.uk
PUODZIUNAITE, Urte Pilizota Lab / PhD Student s1741477@sms.ed.ac.uk
REID, Caitlin Earnshaw Group / PhD Student C.Reid-22@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCOTT, Monique Sawin Group / PhD Student M.L.Scott@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCOTT, Peter PhD Student s0922735@sms.ed.ac.uk
SCOYNES, Charlotte Bayne Lab / PhD Student S1736553@ed.ac.uk
SOTELO PARRILLA, Paula PhD Student s1685829@sms.ed.ac.uk
TAN, Hwei Ling Heun Lab / PhD Student H.L.Tan-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
TASKOVA, Emiliya Ohkura Group / PhD Student emiliya.taskova@ed.ac.uk
VALSAKUMAR, Devisree Voigt Lab / PhD Student D.Valsakumar@sms.ed.ac.uk
VINOD, Aparna Marston Group / PhD Student A.Vinod-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xiang Ohkura Group / PhD Student x.wan-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
YANKSON, George Heun Lab / PhD Student George.Yankson@ed.ac.uk
YEBOAH, Rebecca Allshire Group / PhD Student R.Yeboah@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHANG, Haidao Bayne Lab / PhD Student H.Zhang-104@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZHAO, Ning Bayne Lab / PhD Student N.Zhao-7@sms.ed.ac.uk
ZURBRUEGG, Mark Pilizota Lab / PhD Student M.B.Zurbruegg@sms.ed.ac.uk