Cell Biology

Staff profiles

List of all academic, research, technical and administrative staff.

For corrections, please contact the Institute Secretary below.

Cell Biology staff list

  • R = Edinburgh Research Explorer profile
  • V = Research in a Nutshell video

Co-Heads of Institute

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BAYNE, Elizabeth Dr elizabeth.bayne@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7789
ARULANANDAM, Arockia Jeyaprakash Prof Jeyaprakash.Arulanandam@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7113

Institute Secretary

NameEmail AddressTelephone
BISHOP, Louise Louise.bishop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5366

Building Manager

NameEmail AddressTelephone
HALL, Jess jessica.hall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7125
MOYES, Ellis e.moyes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5438

Administrative Staff

NamePositionEmail AddressTelephone
FLEMING, Carolyn Centre Administrative Assistant Carolyn.Fleming@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 7071
JUDGE, Sarah-Jane Dr Centre Public Engagement Manager s-j.judge@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5384
STRUTHERS, Christine PA to Prof. Adrian Bird Christine.Struthers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 5668

Academic Staff and Principal Investigators

NameResearch InterestEmail
AGRAWAL, Neha Dr Cellular and systems biology of metabolic disorders Neha.Agrawal@ed.ac.uk
AKIYOSHI, Bungo Dr Chromosome segregation bakiyosh@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ALLSHIRE, Robin Prof Chromosome segregation: centromeric chromatin and kinetochore assembly Robin.Allshire@ed.ac.uk R V
ALPI, Arno Dr Ubiquitin signalling and proteostasis in cell differentiation aalpi@ed.ac.uk
ARULANANDAM, Arockia Jeyaprakash Prof Structural Biology of Cell Division Jeyaprakash.Arulanandam@ed.ac.uk R
BAYNE, Elizabeth Dr Non-coding RNAs and chromatin modification in genome regulation elizabeth.bayne@ed.ac.uk R
BIRD, Adrian Prof Reading the DNA methylation signal A.Bird@ed.ac.uk R V
BUONOMO, Sara Dr Nuclear architecture and DNA replication coordination. Interested in their shared links with epigenetics inheritance and the determination of cell identity. Sara.Buonomo@ed.ac.uk R
CHEERAMBATHUR, Dhanya Dr Role of microtubule cytoskeleton in building and regenerating the neural connectome Dhanya.Cheerambathur@ed.ac.uk R
DARMON, Elise Dr DNA repair in Escherichia coli Elise.Darmon@ed.ac.uk R
DAVIES, Owen Dr Structural biology of meiosis Owen.Davies@ed.ac.uk
EARNSHAW, Bill Prof Mitotic chromosome transactions Bill.Earnshaw@ed.ac.uk R V
EL KAROUI, Meriem Prof DNA repair in bacteria at the single cell level Meriem.Elkaroui@ed.ac.uk R
GORYACHEV, Andrew Prof Spatial aspects of cell signalling Andrew.Goryachev@ed.ac.uk R
HARDWICK, Kevin Prof Mitosis and the spindle checkpoint Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk R V
HEUN, Patrick Prof Establishment and maintenance of chromatin identity Patrick.Heun@ed.ac.uk R
INTERTHAL, Heidrun Dr Repair of covalent protein-DNA complexes heidrun.interthal@ed.ac.uk R
MAKOVETS, Svetlana Dr Telomere biology Sveta.Makovets@ed.ac.uk R
MARSTON, Adele Prof Mechanisms of chromosome segregation adele.marston@ed.ac.uk R V
MCQUEEN, Heather Prof Dosage compensation, epigenetics and sex determination H.McQueen@ed.ac.uk R
OHKURA, Hiroyuki Prof Chromosome segregation H.Ohkura@ed.ac.uk R V
PILIZOTA, Teuta Prof Biophysics, bacterial stress response and measurements of single cell physiological changes Teuta.Pilizota@ed.ac.uk R
RAPPSILBER, Juri Prof Protein organisation and composition of chromatin in normal and breast cancer cells juri.rappsilber@ed.ac.uk R V
SAWIN, Ken Prof Microtubule organisation and cell polarity Ken.Sawin@ed.ac.uk R
SCHIRMER, Eric Prof Influence of the nuclear envelope on cell differentiation and genome architecture E.Schirmer@ed.ac.uk R V
SHKUMATAVA, Alena Dr Regulatory noncoding RNAs alena.shkumatava@ed.ac.uk
SWAFFER, Matthew Dr Using quantitative approaches to examine different aspects of cell biology through the lens of cell size. matthew.swaffer@ed.ac.uk
TELFER, Evelyn Prof Ovarian development Evelyn.Telfer@ed.ac.uk R
TOLLERVEY, David Prof RNA processing and degradation D.Tollervey@ed.ac.uk R V
WALLACE, Edward Dr RNA systems biology, fungal pathogens Edward.Wallace@ed.ac.uk R
WELBURN, Julie Prof Mechanistic cell biology of cell division and architecture in health and disease Julie.Welburn@ed.ac.uk R V

Honorary and Visiting Staff

NamePositionEmail Address
BEGGS, Jean Professor Professor of Genetics J.Beggs@ed.ac.uk
BOWNES, Mary Professor Emerita Professor of Developmental Biology Mary.Bownes@ed.ac.uk
DONACHIE, W D Professor Professor Emeritus
FINNEGAN, David Professor Emeritus Professor David.Finnegan@ed.ac.uk
HARRINGTON, Lea Professor Visiting Professor l.harrington@ed.ac.uk
KILBEY, Brian J Professor Professor Emeritus
LEACH, David Professor Professor Emeritus D.Leach@ed.ac.uk
SAUNDERS, D S Professor Professor Emeritus
SUTHERLAND, Ian W Professor Professor Emeritus
TYERS, Michael Professor Visiting Professor m.tyers@ed.ac.uk

Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
ALEXANDER-HOWDEN, Beatrice Bird Group / Research Assistant Beatrice.Alexander-Howden@ed.ac.uk R
BARVE, Gaurav Dr Sawin Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate gaurav.barve@ed.ac.uk
BRESSON, Stefan Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Stefan.Bresson@ed.ac.uk R
BROWN, Megan Bird Group / Research Assistant mbrown34@exseed.ed.ac.uk
CARLONI, Roberta Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Roberta.Carloni@ed.ac.uk R
CHHATBAR, Kashyap Bird Group / Bioinformatician kashyap.c@ed.ac.uk R
CISNEROS SOBERANIS, Fernanda Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior PDRA/Lab Manager f.cisneros@ed.ac.uk
CISZEK, Aleksandra Ohkura Group / Research Assistant aciszek@ed.ac.uk
CISZEK, Aleksandra Akiyoshi / Research Assistant aciszek@ed.ac.uk
COMBE, Colin Dr Rappsilber Group / Web-based Data Visualisation Specialist Colin.Combe@ed.ac.uk R
CORLESS, Sam Dr Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate scorles2@ed.ac.uk
CULLEN, Fiona Ohkura Group / Research Associate F.Cullen@ed.ac.uk R
DE LAS HERAS, Jose Dr Schirmer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.delasHeras@ed.ac.uk R
DEB, Moonmoon Dr Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mdeb@exseed.ed.ac.uk
EL-HAGE, Aziz Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aziz.Elhage@ed.ac.uk R
FELLAS, Andreas Allshire Group / Research Assistant afellas@ed.ac.uk
FERNANDEZ, Maria (Alba) Dr Arulanandam Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Mariaalba.Abad@ed.ac.uk R
FLEWELLEN, James Dr Pilizota Lab / Biosensor Commercialisation Team Lead James.Flewellen@ed.ac.uk
GIGUERE, Sophie Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Sophie.Giguere@ed.ac.uk
GIULIANI, Sara Bird Group / Research Assistant Sara.Giuliani@ed.ac.uk
GLUSZEK-KUSTUSZ, Agata Welburn Group / Research Assistant agluszek@exseed.ed.ac.uk R
GROSBOIS, Johanne Dr Telfer Group / Postdopctoral Research Associate Johanne.Grosbois@ed.ac.uk
GUY, Jacqueline Dr Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate J.Guy@ed.ac.uk R
HELWAK, Aleksandra Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ahelwak@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
JAIN, Rohit Dr Goryachev Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate rjain@ed.ac.uk
JANARDANAN, Amritha Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Amritha.Janardanan@ed.ac.uk
JULNER DUNN, Alexander Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Chromosome Biology ajulner@ed.ac.uk
KANAZAWA, Midori Dr Akiyoshi / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Chromosome Segregation mkanazaw@exseed.ed.ac.uk
KASPROWICZ, Aleksandra Dr O'Carroll Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Aleksandra.Kasprowicz@ed.ac.uk
KELLY, David Dr Marston Group / COIL Manager David.Kelly@ed.ac.uk R
KOCH, Lori Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lori.Koch@ed.ac.uk
KOCHANOVA, Natalia Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Natalia.Kochanova@ed.ac.uk
KOTENKO, Oleksii Makovets Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate okotenko@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LANDGRAF, Noah Neha Agrawal Group / Research Assistant nlandgra@ed.ac.uk
LE NAGARD, Lucas Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate llenaga@exseed.ed.ac.uk
LEDA, Marcin Dr Goryachev Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mleda@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
LIM, Melanie Marston Group / Research Assistant in Yeast Meiosis melanie.lim@ed.ac.uk
LONDON, Nitobe Dr Davies lab / Post Doctoral Research Associate nitobe.london@ed.ac.uk
LYST, Matthew Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate mlyst@staffmail.ed.ac.uk R
MANICKAM, Gurusaran Davies lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate Gurusaran.Manickam@ed.ac.uk
MASSARI, Lucia Dr Marston Group / PDRA in Synthetic Chromosome Biology lmassari@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk R
MEDINA-PRITCHARD, Bethan Dr Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant Bethan.Medina@ed.ac.uk R
MENEAU, Ferdinand Dr Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate fmeneau@ed.ac.uk
MISHRA, Dipika Dr Akiyoshi / Postdoctoral Research Associate dmishra@ed.ac.uk
MUNRO, Lucy Marston Group / Research Assistant lmunro3@ed.ac.uk
NG KEE KWONG, Julian Buonomo Lab / Research Assistant kngkee@ed.ac.uk
NICOL, Jonathan Davies lab / Research Assistant jnicol4@ed.ac.uk
NIEKEN, Julia Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate knieken@ed.ac.uk
NIZIOL, Julia Ohkura Group / Research Assistant jniziol@ed.ac.uk
ODEY, Yvonne Telfer Group / Research Associate Y.L.Clarkson@ed.ac.uk R
PACHON PENALBA, Miguel Dr Davies lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate in the Cellular Structural Biology of the Meioti mpachon@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PANTIER, Raphael Bird Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate R.Pantier@ed.ac.uk R
PAVLOVA, Gera Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Cell Biology gpavlova@exseed.ed.ac.uk
PEREZ LEZCANO, Alicia Welburn Group / Research Assistant aperezl2@ed.ac.uk
PETFALSKI, Elisabeth Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate E.Petfalski@ed.ac.uk R
PIDOUX, Alison Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Alison.Pidoux@ed.ac.uk R
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / Research Assistant Alexandra.Postrach@ed.ac.uk
RAVINDRAN NAIR PUSHKALA KUMARI, Reshma Dr Buonomo Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate reshma.nair@ed.ac.uk
REMNANT, Lucy Earnshaw Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lucy.Remnant@ed.ac.uk R
REPTON, Charlotte Ohkura Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate crepton2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
ROBERTSON, Daniel / Bioinformatician Daniel.Robertson@ed.ac.uk R
ROWLANDS, Hollie Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate hrowland@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SAMEJIMA, Itaru Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Fellow Itaru.Samejima@ed.ac.uk R
SAMEJIMA, Kumiko Dr Earnshaw Group / Senior Research Fellow Kumiko.Samejima@ed.ac.uk R
SCOTT, Alex Dr Pilizota Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate in Microscopy alexander.scott@ed.ac.uk
SHUKLA, Manushubh Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Manu.Shukla@ed.ac.uk
SOTELO PARRILLA, Paula Arulanandam Group / Research Assistant psotelo@exseed.ed.ac.uk
SPANOS, Christos Dr Rappsilber Group / Proteomics Facility Manager Christos.Spanos@ed.ac.uk
SRSEN, Vlastimil Dr Telfer Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate V.Srsen@ed.ac.uk
STIRPE, Alessandro Dr Heun Lab / Postdoctoral Research Associate alessandro.stirpe@ed.ac.uk
TAN, Thomas Dr Tollervey Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Thomas.Tan@ed.ac.uk R
TAYLOR, Sam Akiyoshi / Postdoctoral Research Associate samuel.taylor@ed.ac.uk
THEDIE, Daniel Dr El Karoui Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate: DNA repair at the single molecule leve daniel.thedie@ed.ac.uk
VALERA, Ane Dr Allshire Group / Biochemist - Postdoctoral Research Associate avalera@ed.ac.uk
VINOD, Aparna Marston Group / Research Assistant in Budding Yeast Meiosis avinod@ed.ac.uk
WANG, Menglu Dr Marston Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Lily.Wang@ed.ac.uk
WEBB, Shaun Marston Group / Bioinformatics Core Facility Manager shaun.webb@ed.ac.uk R
WHITE, Sharon Dr Allshire Group / Senior Postdoctoral Researcher/Lab Manager Sharon.A.White@ed.ac.uk R
YEBOAH, Rebecca Dr Allshire Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate ryeboah@ed.ac.uk

Technical Research Staff

NameGroup / PositionEmail
BARBOZA PEREZ, Uriel Pilizota Lab / Technician ubarboz2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
MCHUGH, Toni Dr Welburn Group / Postdoctoral Research Associate Toni.McHugh@ed.ac.uk R
MCLAREN, Lorna Dr El Karoui Group / Research Technician/Lab Manager Lorna.McLaren@ed.ac.uk
PEAT, Emma Ohkura Group / Research Technician Emma.Peat@ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / Research Assistant Alexandra.Postrach@ed.ac.uk
PUCEKOVA, Nina Earnshaw Group / Research Technician Nina.Pucekova@ed.ac.uk
REID, Caitlin Earnshaw Group / Research Technician caitlin.reid@ed.ac.uk

PhD Students

NameGroup / PositionEmail Address
AJLAN, Ahmed Telfer Group / PhD Student A.A.A.Ajlan@sms.ed.ac.uk
ALEXANDER-HOWDEN, Bea Bird Group / PhD Student Beatrice.Alexander-Howden@ed.ac.uk
ALVES DOMINGOS, Henrique Cheerambathur Lab / PhD Student H.Alves-Domingos@sms.ed.ac.uk
ASLAM, Farhan Schirmer Group / PhD Student M.F.Aslam@sms.ed.ac.uk
ATTARD, Thomas Welburn Group / PhD Student s1403848@sms.ed.ac.uk
BARBOZA PEREZ, Uriel Pilizota Lab / PhD Student uriel.barboza@ed.ac.uk
BAYRAK, Beste Sawin Group / PhD Student b.bayrak@sms.ed.ac.uk
BEXLEY, Katie Tollervey Group / PhD Student K.H.Bexley@sms.ed.ac.uk
BHASKAR, Haresh Lynne Regan Lab / PhD Student H.Bhaskar@sms.ed.ac.uk
BISWAS, Payel Neha Agrawal Group / PhD Student p.biswas-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
CASEY, Eleanor Marston Group / PhD Student E.R.Casey-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN , Lee Leo O'Carroll Group / PhD Student L.L.Chen@sms.ed.ac.uk
CHEN, Yunjuan Makovets Group / PhD Student s2563046@ed.ac.uk
CISZEK, Aleksandra Akiyoshi / PhD Student s1866920@sms.ed.ac.uk
COROIO, Diana Pilizota Lab / PhD Student D.Coroiu@sms.ed.ac.uk
DAVIES, Thomas Allshire Group / PhD Student T.G.Davies@sms.ed.ac.uk
DEBILIO, Simona Davies lab / PhD Student sdebilio@ed.ac.uk
DEWORNU, Felix Allshire Group / PhD Student s2438021@ed.ac.uk
DUBENKO, Anton Makovets Group / PhD Student s1847276@sms.ed.ac.uk
EDAKKATTU KUNDIL SIVADASA, Vimal Das Arulanandam Group / PhD Student vimal.das@ed.ac.uk
ESTEBAN SERNA, Sofia Allshire Group / PhD Student S.Esteban-Serna@sms.ed.ac.uk
FIAGBEDZI, Emmanual Allshire Group / PhD Student E.Fiagbedzi@ed.ac.uk
GABERDIEL, Elisabeth Allshire Group / PhD Student E.Gaberdiel@ed.ac.uk
GAO, Yuwen Schirmer Group / PhD Student s2040145@ed.ac.uk
GIREESH, Anjitha Arulanandam Group / PhD Student A.Gireesh@sms.ed.ac.uk
GIULIANI, Sara Bird Group / PhD Student Sara.Giuliani@ed.ac.uk
GONZALES, Denzel Davies lab / PhD Student s2601699@sms.ed.ac.uk
GUPTA, Ankita Sawin Group / PhD Student A.Gupta-41@sms.ed.ac.uk
HAMAIA, Marina Marston Group / PhD Student M.C.Hamaia@sms.ed.ac.uk
HILLS, Ethan Voigt Lab / PhD Student E.Hills@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Chuanli Goryachev Group / PhD Student C.Huang-44@sms.ed.ac.uk
HUANG, Wei Cheerambathur Lab / PhD Student s1898341@ed.ac.uk
JI, Qingqin Schirmer Group / PhD Student Q.JI-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
JNIED, Marah Edward Wallace Group / PhD Student M.Jnied@sms.ed.ac.uk
JOHNS, Hannah Allshire Group / PhD Student H.E.Johns@sms.ed.ac.uk
KAADE, Rayane Ohkura Group / PhD Student Rayane.Kaade@ed.ac.uk
KHALID, Fatima Davies lab / PhD Student N.F.Khalid@sms.ed.ac.uk
KLEINERMAN, Benjamin Edward Wallace Group / PhD Student B.Kleinerman@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOCAKAPLAN, Dilara Marston Group / PhD Student D.Kocakaplan@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOMPAUEROVA, Michaela Tollervey Group / PhD Student M.Kompauerova@sms.ed.ac.uk
KOVAC, Adam Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1663765@sms.ed.ac.uk
KRISHNAN, Meena Heun Lab / PhD Student M.Krishnan-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
LADANYI, Anett Buonomo Lab / PhD Student a.ladanyi@sms.ed.ac.uk
LIU, Haonan Welburn Group / PhD Student H.Liu-49@sms.ed.ac.uk
MACLEOD, David O'Carroll Group / PhD Student D.M.MacLeod-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
MODAFFARI, Domenico Edward Wallace Group / PhD Student domenico.modaffari@ed.ac.uk
MORRIS, Stanley Bird Group / PhD Student S.T.Morris@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUNRO, Lucy Marston Group / PhD Student Lmunro3@ed.ac.uk
MURRAY, Rachael Edward Wallace Group / PhD Student R.M.Murray-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
MUTHURAMAN, Srinivash Swaffer lab / PhD Student s2569860@sms.ed.ac.uk
ORREGO, Ameilia Bayne Lab / PhD Student a.orrego@ed.ac.uk
OUZOUNIDIS, Vasilis Cheerambathur Lab / PhD Student V.R.Ouzounidis@sms.ed.ac.uk
OZEN, Beyza Cheerambathur Lab / PhD Student b.ozen@sms.ed.ac.uk
PACAMAJ, Tymek Hardwick Group / PhD Student s1911394@ed.ac.uk
PAMBURAYATH SURESH, Ardra Hardwick Group / PhD Student A.Pamburayath-Suresh@sms.ed.ac.uk
POCIUNAITE, Severina Allshire Group / PhD Student S.M.Pociunaite@sms.ed.ac.uk
POSTRACH, Alexandra Makovets Group / PhD Student alexandra.postrach@ed.ac.uk
PUODZIUNAITE, Urte Pilizota Lab / PhD Student s1741477@sms.ed.ac.uk
RADHAKRISHNAN, Devika Neha Agrawal Group / PhD Student D.Radhakrishnan-1@sms.ed.ac.uk
RANA, Paresh Allshire Group / PhD Student p.p.rana@sms.ed.ac.uk
REID, Caitlin Earnshaw Group / PhD Student C.Reid-22@sms.ed.ac.uk
SHAH, Bilal Allshire Group / PhD Student s2527884@ed.ac.uk
SINGH, Rohan Ohkura Group / PhD Student r.singh-13@sms.ed.ac.uk
TAN, Hwei Ling Arulanandam Group / PhD Student H.L.Tan-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
TASKOVA, Emiliya Ohkura Group / PhD Student s1410171@sms.ed.ac.uk
TCHERTKOVA, Sophia Buonomo Lab / PhD Student s2528714@ed.ac.uk
TODI, Keshav Pilizota Lab / PhD Student k.todi@sms.ed.ac.uk
WAN, Xiang Ohkura Group / PhD Student x.wan-6@sms.ed.ac.uk
YAN, Zhaoyue Arulanandam Group / PhD Student Z.Yan-27@sms.ed.ac.uk
YANKSON, George Kustatscher Lab / PhD Student George.Yankson@ed.ac.uk