Biological Sciences

Key contacts

Please direct any enquiries to the relevant member of staff.

 

Undergraduate and MSc (Taught) Admissions Enquiries

Entry requirements and information about the application process is available on our individual degree programme pages.

Recruitment and Admissions Team

  • College of Science and Engineering

Contact details

Address

Street

Murchison House
King’s Buildings
West Mains Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3JY

Undergraduate and MSc (Taught) Programme Enquiries

  • Biology Teaching Organisation
  • School of Biological Sciences

Contact details

Address

Street

James Clerk-Maxwell Building
The King’s Buildings

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3FD

PhD and MSc (by Research) Enquiries

  • Graduate School
  • School of Biological Sciences

Contact details

Address

Street

Mary Brück Building
The King's Buildings
Colin Maclaurin Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3DW

School of Biological Sciences

  • The University of Edinburgh

Contact details

Address

Street

Roger Land Building
The King's Buildings
Alexander Crum Brown Road

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH9 3FF

School management and administration

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of School Professor David Gray +44 (0) 131 650 5525 hossbs@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Dr Anne Payne +44 (0) 131 650 5525 anne.payne@ed.ac.uk
PA to Head of School and PA to Director of Professional Services Karen Rafferty +44 (0) 131 650 5525 karen.rafferty@ed.ac.uk
Business Development Team Manager Dr Emma Elliott +44 (0) 7773 166813 emma.elliott@ei.ed.ac.uk
Business Development Executive(s)

Dr John Morrow

Dr Axel Thomson

+44 (0) 7919 286838

+44 (0) 7989 224442

john.morrow@ei.ed.ac.uk

axel.thomson@ei.ed.ac.uk

Director of Research Dr Teuta Pilizota +44 (0) 131 650 5331​ SBS.ResearchDirector@ed.ac.uk
Senior Research Development Manager Dr Liz Fletcher +44(0) 131 650 7292 liz.fletcher@ed.ac.uk
Research Development Manager Dr Theodora Lola-Luz +44(0) 131 650 7405 theodora.lola-luz@ed.ac.uk
Public Engagement Manager Dr Janet Paterson +44(0) 131 650 7123 janet.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Science Communications Manager Marie-Anne Robertson +44(0) 131 651 9064 marie-anne.robertson@ed.ac.uk
Director of Teaching Dr Patrick Walsh +44 (0) 131 650 5520

sbsdirectorofteaching@ed.ac.uk

Academic Administrator (Undergraduate and Taught Postgraduate programmes) Dr Ann Haley +44(0) 131 650 5538 ann.haley@ed.ac.uk
Director of Internationalisation Prof Peter Doerner +44 (0) 131 650 7080 peter.doerner@ed.ac.uk
Director of Industrial Engagement Prof Susan Rosser +44(0) 131 650 5086 susan.rosser@ed.ac.uk
Inclusion and Diversity Officer Kate Thornback +44(0) 131 650 7477
kate.thornback@ed.ac.uk
Interim Director of Inclusion & Diversity Dr Sinead Collins +44(0) 131 650 8657 s.collins@ed.ac.uk
Director of Graduate School Prof Clare Blackburn +44 (0) 131 651 9563 futurestudents@ed.ac.uk
Graduate School and Staffing Services Manager Dr Caroline Proctor +44 (0) 131 650 5327 caroline.proctor@ed.ac.uk
Administration Manager & Deputy Director of Professional Services Richard Yardley +44 (0) 131 650 5552 richard.yardley@ed.ac.uk
Technical Services Manager Dr Claudia Schaffner +44 (0) 131 651 3537 claudia.schaffner@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Advisor Fiona Duerden +44 (0) 131 650 5364 sbsafety@ed.ac.uk
Finance Manager

Katherine Malin-August

+44 (0) 131 650 5551

katherine.malinaugust@ed.ac.uk

IT Service Manager

Gareth Poxon +44 (0) 131 650 8645 g.poxon@ed.ac.uk
Web & Learning Technologies Manager

Dr Yuhua Hu

+44 (0) 131 651 7090

yuhua.hu@ed.ac.uk

Institutes and Centres

 

Institute of Cell Biology

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Kevin Hardwick +44 (0) 131 650 7091 Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Louise Bishop +44 (0) 131 650 5366 louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk

 

Institute of Evolutionary Biology

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Paul Sharp +44 (0) 131 651 3684 iebhead@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Roz Shields +44 (0) 131 650 5464 r.shields@ed.ac.uk

 

Institute of Immunology and Infection Research

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Rose Zamoyska +44 (0) 131 651 3686 iiirhead@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Roz Shields +44 (0) 131 650 5464 r.shields@ed.ac.uk

 

Institute of Molecular Plant Sciences

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Dr Steven Spoel +44 (0) 131 650 7065 steven.spoel@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Louise Bishop +44 (0) 131 650 5366 louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk

 

Institute of Stem Cell Research

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Ian Chambers +44 (0) 131 651 9562 i.chambers@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Julie Gordon +44 (0) 131 651 9514 julie.gordon@ed.ac.uk

 

Institute of Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of Institute Professor Lynne Regan +44 (0) 131 650 5482 lynne.regan@ed.ac.uk
Institute Secretary Louise Bishop +44 (0) 131 650 5366 louise.Bishop@ed.ac.uk

 

Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology

Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor David Tollervey +44 (0) 131 650 7092 wcb.director@ed.ac.uk
Centre Manager Dr Karen Traill +44 (0) 131 650 5933 karen.traill@ed.ac.uk

 

Centre for Immunity, Infection and Evolution

Role Person Phone number Email
Centre Director Professor Keith Matthews +44 (0) 131 651 3683 ciie@ed.ac.uk

 

Centre for Regenerative Medicine

Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor  Stuart Forbes +44 (0) 131 650 9500 stuart.forbes@ed.ac.uk
Director PA   Dr Gordon McLean +44 (0) 131 651 9511 IRR-Director@ed.ac.uk
Centre Manager   +44 (0) 131 651 9500 g.mclean@ed.ac.uk
Centre Manager PA Julie Gordon +44 (0) 131 651 9514 Julie.Gordon@ed.ac.uk

 

Centre for Translational and Chemical Biology

Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor Malcolm Walkinshaw +44 (0) 131 650 7054 malcolm.walkinshaw@ed.ac.uk
Facilities Manager Dr Martin Wear +44 (0) 131 650 7045 martin.wear@ed.ac.uk

 

SynthSys – Synthetic & Systems Biology Centre

Role Person Phone number Email
Director Professor Susan Rosser +44 (0) 131 650 5086 synthsys@ed.ac.uk
Director of Operations Dr Liz Fletcher +44 (0) 131 650 7292 synthsys@ed.ac.uk
Administrator Julie Fyffe +44 (0) 131 651 9065 j.fyffe@ed.ac.uk

 

Facilities and Services

Facility/Service Contact Phone Email
Darwin Workshop N/A +44 (0) 131 650 5406 darworks@ed.ac.uk

Press gang