Bayes Centre

Bayes - COVID-19 updates

Latest information and advice regarding the Bayes Centre approach to Coronavirus (COVID-19).

University of Edinburgh

For the latest information and advice see: Coronavirus updates

Bayes Centre update June 2021

With each passing week we are delighted to see the continuing Covid-19 recovery progress being made in Scotland and are excited to look ahead to a time when we can welcome everyone back to the Bayes Centre building. The Scottish Government’s roadmap sets out the conditions that need to be met to allow restrictions to be lifted in a safe way, rather than stating any fixed dates. At this time we are therefore unable to commit to a specific reopening date but in line with the Scottish Government timetable, we hope to be able to begin to reopen the building in July. Until this time and pending further updates, the Bayes centre remains closed pending further government guidance and announcements. 

All of the Bayes Centre team are currently working from home and continue to support all business development, education, facilities and project related needs remotely in preparation for a time when we’ll be able to return to a more normal way of working. 

The building will remain locked, with swipe accesses disabled during this further period of lockdown.

The Bayes Centre team continues to coordinate a range of education and entrepreneurship activities and has continued to publish newsletters throughout the pandemic period.  Preparation for EIE21 will proceed as previously intended.  We will continue to update our news and events pages, and (for internal colleagues, via SharePoint) are providing project specific updates and monthly progress reports.  For further information on project delivery, strategy development, or further discussion of your lease status, please contact members of our Executive Group:

Name

Leading On

Email

Michael Rovatsos           

Bayes strategy, themed R&D opportunities and government liaison

michael.rovatsos@ed.ac.uk

Neil McGillivray

Co-location opportunities, lease agreements and UoE / DDI / Turing liaison

neil.mcgillivray@ed.ac.uk

Jim Ashe

Business development, Scale-Up Accelerator and corporate engagement

jim.ashe@ed.ac.uk

Teresa Ironside

Education, technology enhanced learning, workforce development and DSTI            

t.ironside@ed.ac.uk

Steve Ewing

Entrepreneurship opportunities and EIE21

steve.ewing@ed.ac.uk

Kate Robertson

Programme management and KPI tracking

kate.robertson@ed.ac.uk

Amanda Lund

Frontline services, finance and operational delivery

amanda.lund@ed.ac.uk

The Bayes Centre team are working remotely.  Please contact our shared generic mail addresses for support as follows:

Team

Leading On

Email

Education

Data science education and training

bayes-education@ed.ac.uk

Facilities         

Facilities, maintenance and health & safety      

bayes-facilities@ed.ac.uk

Communications          

Communications, marketing and news

bayes-communications@ed.ac.uk

Bayes Reception

General enquiries

bayes.reception@ed.ac.uk

 

Facilities Information and General Resources

Some information which may be helpful can be found below, whilst this may be subject to change, we will ensure this information continues to be updated.

Facilities - COVID-19 updates

Please note we will endeavour to keep this information as up to date as possible but would advise you check with the relevant departments for clarification due to changes in accordance with University and Scottish Government advice.

General Resources

Further information on a variety of resources and platforms which provide valuable services in the current situation.

Volunteer and Funding Calls

Calls for specific expertise and volunteers to help testing for SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 and to gain survey responses to further investigate the pandemic.

Members & Partners

Bayes commitment to continuity of business for our community.