Bayes Centre

Bayes - COVID-19 updates

Latest information and advice regarding the Bayes Centre approach to Coronavirus (COVID-19).

University of Edinburgh

For the latest information and advice see: Coronavirus updates

Bayes Centre update - January 2021

In accordance with public health advice, the Bayes Centre will remain closed pending further government guidance.  As per the 4th January 2021 announcement, all of the Bayes Centre team will be working from home – meaning there will be no reception services, no on-site building or operational support and no café.  The building will remain locked, with swipe accesses disabled during this period of further lockdown.

The Bayes Centre team will continue to support all business development, education, facilities and project related needs remotely, in preparation for a time when we’ll be able to return to a more normal way of working.  Whilst it is extremely unfortunate that we find ourselves back in this position, we need to do everything that we can to assist with the ongoing Covid-19 situation.  

The Bayes Centre team continues to coordinate a range of education and entrepreneurship activities and has continued to publish newsletters throughout the pandemic period.  Preparation for EIE21 will proceed as previously intended.  We will continue to update our news and events pages, and (for internal colleagues, via SharePoint) are providing project specific updates and monthly progress reports.  For further information on project delivery, strategy development, or further discussion of your lease status, please contact members of our Executive Group, as follows:

Name

Leading On

Email

Michael Rovatsos           

Bayes strategy, themed R&D opportunities and government liaison

michael.rovatsos@ed.ac.uk

Neil McGillivray

Co-location opportunities, lease agreements and UoE / DDI / Turing liaison

neil.mcgillivray@ed.ac.uk

Jim Ashe

Business development, Scale-Up Accelerator and corporate engagement

jim.ashe@ed.ac.uk

Teresa Ironside

Education, technology enhanced learning, workforce development and DSTI            

t.ironside@ed.ac.uk

Steve Ewing

Entrepreneurship opportunities and EIE21

steve.ewing@ed.ac.uk

Kate Robertson

Programme management and KPI tracking

kate.robertson@ed.ac.uk

Amanda Lund

Frontline services, finance and operational delivery

amanda.lund@ed.ac.uk

The Bayes Centre team are working remotely.  Please contact our shared generic mail addresses for support as follows:

Team

Leading On

Email

Education

Data science education and training

bayes-education@ed.ac.uk

Facilities         

Facilities, maintenance and health & safety      

bayes-facilities@ed.ac.uk

Communications          

Communications, marketing and news

bayes-communications@ed.ac.uk

Bayes Reception

General enquiries

bayes.reception@ed.ac.uk

 

Facilities Information and General Resources

Some information which may be helpful can be found below, whilst this may be subject to change, we will ensure this information continues to be updated.

Facilities - COVID-19 updates

Please note we will endeavour to keep this information as up to date as possible but would advise you check with the relevant departments for clarification due to changes in accordance with University and Scottish Government advice.

General Resources

Further information on a variety of resources and platforms which provide valuable services in the current situation.

Volunteer and Funding Calls

Calls for specific expertise and volunteers to help testing for SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 and to gain survey responses to further investigate the pandemic.

Members & Partners

Bayes commitment to continuity of business for our community.