Alumni Services

1990 - 1999

Details of Alumnus of the Year award recipients prior to 2000.

1999 Ian Rankin MA English Language, 1982 An award winning crime writer, Ian Rankin is the author of the Inspector Rebus novels.

Allan Little

MA Politics and Modern History, 1982 BBC foreign correspondent, who has reported from 39 countries in the past decade including Bosnia, South Africa and Russia.

The Rt Hon Sir David Steel KBE MSP

MA, 1960, LLB, 1962 Former Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament and Member for Lothians. Former Leader of the Liberal Party and former Rector of the University.

Dr Emmanuel Evans-Anfom

MB ChB, 1947 Contributed significantly to the development of medicine in the Congo and to medical education in Ghana.

Jean Allison

BMus, 1962 Principal Teacher of Music at Wester Hailes Education Centre.

Stella Rimington

MA English Language, 1958 Former Director General of the Security Service.

Dr Roualeyn Fenton-May

BSc Chemical Engineering, 1967 Director of Operations Development at the Coca-Cola Company in Atlanta, USA.

Judge David Edward

LLB, 1962 Judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities and former Salvesen Professor at the University.

Dr Sheila McKechnie

MA Politics & History, 1970 Director of the Consumers’ Association, former National Director of Shelter from 1985 to 1995, coordinating the campaign for the homeless.

Dr Sorley MacLean

MA Hons English, 1933 Gaelic poet and man of letters. The University’s creative writer in residence from 1973 to 1975.