Academic Services

Senate Professional Services staff positions

The role of a Senate member and the names of the Professional Services staff representatives.

Senate Professional Services staff Elections

From 2024/25 the Senatus Academicus (Senate) will have Professional Services staff representation. This is a significant step and provides an opportunity for Professional Services staff to join academic and research staff as members of the University Senate. An election took place from 29 May - 12 June to determine the three College Professional Services staff positions which represent on Senate.

Who are the elected Senate Professional Services representatives?

There will be a total of four Professional Services positions on Senate and these roles will serve as ex-officio members of Senate.

One positions will be held by the Professional Services Staff Member on Court, Sarah McAllister.

The remaining three positions will be for elected College Professional Services staff, with one position allocated to each College. An election took place from 29 May - 12 June 2024 with candidates elected to a three year term (1 August 2024 - 31 July 2027). The elected College Professional Services representatives are:

  • College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences: Mette Cameron
  • College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine: Judith Newton
  • College of Science and Engineering: Ben Morse

All Professional Services staff on Senate are ex-officio members. An ex-officio position means that members are on Senate as a result of holding a particular position within the University. For example, Heads of Schools are ex-officio members of Senate. A full breakdown of ex-officio appointments is available in the Senate College Professional Services Election Regulations available below.

When are the next College Professional Services staff elections?

The current round of elections has now concluded with all College Professional Services staff elected for a three year term.

The next round of College Professional Services staff elections are expected to take place in early 2027, eligible staff will receive further information about the election process closer to the time. 

What is Senate?

The Senatus Academicus (Senate) is the University’s supreme academic body. Its core function is to oversee the learning, teaching and discipline of the University and to promote its research.

Senate is chaired by the Principal and Vice Chancellor and the membership includes academic and research staff, Heads of Schools, Heads of Colleges, the Provost, Vice-Principals, Assistant Principals, and student representatives.

It holds a minimum of three meetings each year. Business is also conducted electronically via three annual ‘E-Senates’.

Why become a member of Senate?

Senate is a vital forum for consultation and communication, bringing together elected academic staff, student representatives and senior University leadership. From 2024/25, elected Professional Service staff representatives will also join this group. 

Becoming a member of Senate is an opportunity to:

  • Make a key contribution to major University learning, teaching and research projects
  • Be part of the conversation on the academic direction and priorities of the University
  • Help to ensure that our University continues to deliver excellent teaching and research
  • Engage with the University’s long term strategy and play your part in its success
  • Contribute to the University as part of your ‘academic citizenship’

Strategy 2030

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

The University is committed to improving the diversity of key University committees, and we encourage all eligible staff to consider nominating themselves for election. Members of Professional Services staff who hold a contract of employment for the relevant College are eligible to apply. This includes staff who are on a fixed term contract: please contact if you want to check your eligibility.

If you wish to discuss the possibility of nominating yourself for election to Senate, you are encouraged to speak with your line manager, or contact with informal enquiries on the position. 

The nomination process is straightforward, you can self-nomination and you do not need any other member of staff to second your nomination.

Senate's role

Senate is responsible for:

  • Approving the award of degrees, including honorary degrees
  • Approving the conferment of Emeritus status on retiring professors
  • Maintaining the quality and standards of the University’s awards
  • Setting high level policy and strategy on learning and teaching, working within the strategic direction contained within the University's Strategic Plan approved by Court and its underlying strategies
  • The promotion of research
  • Regulating the conduct of the students of the University
  • Making recommendations, requests and reports to the University Court
  • Receiving reports from a range of University-wide committees and groups

 Further information can be found on the Senate webpages.

Senate Standing Committees

In order to effectively conduct the day to day business of Senate, a range of powers are delegated to three Senate Standing Committees: the Senate Education Committee, the Senate Academic Policy and Regulations Committee, and the Senate Quality Assurance Committee. The Standing Committees formally report to Senate annually, with interim updates received at each meeting of Senate.

The Standing Committee remits and membership can be found via the link below.