Social Responsibility and Sustainability

Sustainable Information and Communications Technology Group

The University’s IT Committee has considered a proposal for revitalization and renewal of a Sustainable IT Group, securing representation from all areas to agree best practice in terms of the University’s sustainable approach to IT.


  • Review and develop baseline of sustainability metrics in relation to IT infrastructure
  • Contribute to University’s Climate Action Plan through setting realistic and measurable targets or pathways for carbon emissions associated with IT, taking account of anticipated growth and intensification and recognising that decisions on learning technology are made elsewhere
  • Identify opportunities and areas for increasing efficiency of our IT infrastructure and to reduce energy consumption associated with computing and IT related activities
  • Promote best practice for energy consumption and waste in relation to Information Technology within the University. The Group will identify and promote the use of both hardware and software solutions categorised as best practice
  • Contribute to furthering other aspects of the University’s Social Responsibility and Sustainability Strategy to manage risk and identify opportunities. This could include supply chain responsibility and our partnership with Electronics Watch or advise on other issues such as risks for conflict minerals (specific topics to be prioritized together with the group).


Dave Gorman (Convenor), Director of Social Responsibility & Sustainability

Michelle Brown, Head of SRS Programmes

Rab Calder, Energy & Utilities Manager

Fiona Carmichael, Computing Support Officer, Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Paul Clark, Head of IT for CMVM

Grant Ferguson, Head of Estates Operations

Kate Fitzpatrick, Waste & Recycling Manager

Jenna Kelly, EUSA Vice-President Services

Bryan MacGregor, Director of User Services Division

Simon Marsden, Director IS Applications Division

Fraser Muir, CHSS Chief Information Officer

Euan Murray, Development Team Manager, Learning and Teaching Spaces Technology 

Bruce Nelson, College Registrar, Science & Engineering

Caro Overy, SRS Engagement Manager

George Reid, Procurement Manager

Ruaridh Stern-Mackintosh, EUSA IT Manager

Tony Weir, Director IT Infrastructure

Meetings & Papers

Meetings and papers

Related Links