Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics

Research

Overview of core research areas within the Usher Institute.

Our research builds on the outstanding heritage of public health, general practice, epidemiology and statistical research at the University of Edinburgh. We are forging new connections between social science, informatics and data science to advance understanding of disease and improve health and care for patients and populations.

The Usher Institute has an ethos of collaborative and interdisciplinary research. Many individuals contribute to multiple areas of research, and indeed individual projects and programmes of work often contribute to the knowledge base in multiple research areas and Centres. The below table gives an indication of the core research areas and leading professors in each area or group, from across all Centres within the Institute.

You can find out more about any researchers within the Usher Institute on Edinburgh Research Explorer.

Area

Key people Contact    |    Related Twitter handles    |    Related websites
Addiction medicine Professor Roy Robertson Roy.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
Allergy and respiratory Professor Aziz Sheikh / Professor Hilary Pinnock

Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk / Hilary.Pinnock@ed.ac.uk

@ARRG_EdUni @AUKCAR

www: Asthma UK Centre for Applied Research website

Cancer Professor David Weller David.Weller@ed.ac.uk
Chronic disease epidemiology Professor Sarah Wild

Sarah.Wild@ed.ac.uk

www: Diabetes Risk Calculator website

Clinical trials and statistical methodology Professor John Norrie / Professor Steff Lewis / Professor Chris Weir / Professor Paul McKeigue J.Norrie@ed.ac.uk / Steff.Lewis@ed.ac.uk / Christopher.Weir@ed.ac.uk / Paul.McKeigue@ed.ac.uk
eHealth Professor Brian McKinstry / Professor Aziz Sheikh

Brian.McKinstry@ed.ac.uk / Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk

@eHResearchgroup

www: Telescot Research Programme website

www: ePrescribing Research Programme website

Ethnicity and health Professor Raj Bhopal / Professor Aziz Sheikh

Raj.Bhopal@ed.ac.uk / Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk

@EMEHRG

www: Scottish Health and Ethnicity Linkage Study website

Molecular epidemiology

Professor Jackie Price / Professor Paul McKeigue / Professor Harry Campbell / Professor Igor Rudan / Professor Sarah Wild / Professor Jim Wilson

Jackie.Price@ed.ac.uk / Paul.McKeigue@ed.ac.uk / Harry.Campbell@ed.ac.uk / Igor.Rudan@ed.ac.uk / Sarah.Wild@ed.ac.uk / Jim.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
Palliative care Professor Scott Murray

Scott.Murray@ed.ac.uk

@PPCRG     

www: Primary Palliative Care Research Group website

Social studies of health and medicine Professor Amanda Amos / Professor Julia Lawton / Professor Sarah Cunningham-Burley

Amanda.Amos@ed.ac.uk / J.Lawton@ed.ac.uk  / Sarah.C.Burley@ed.ac.uk

www: Group for Research on Inequalitites and Tobacco website

www: Cancer and Society in the 21st Century website

Public health research and policy Professor John Frank

John.Frank@ed.ac.uk

@SCPRHP

www: Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy website

Families and relationships Professor Sarah Cunningham-Burley

Sarah.C.Burley@ed.ac.uk

@CRFRtweets

www: Centre for Research on Families and Relationships website

Epidemiology of infectious diseases Professor Mark Woolhouse Mark.Woolhouse@ed.ac.uk
Global health Professor Igor Rudan / Professor Harry Campbell / Professor Devi Sridhar

Igor.Rudan@ed.ac.uk / Harry.Campbell@ed.ac.uk / Devi.Sridhar@ed.ac.uk

@GlobalHealthGP

www: Global Health Governance Programme website

Medical informatics Professor Dave Robertson / Professor Aziz Sheikh / Professor Andrew Morris

D.Robertson@ed.ac.uk / Aziz.Sheikh@ed.ac.uk / Andrew.Morris@ed.ac.uk