Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics

M-Z all Usher staff

All staff, academic and support, from across the Usher Institute.  Including staff from all research centres and Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit.

General enquiry?

If you are making a general enquiry to the Usher Institute, or wish to contact our senior leadership team, please find the most appropriate contact from our contact us page.

Contact us

M-Z                 Surnames beginning A-L on separate page

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Margaret MacDougall Medical Statistician and Researcher in Education margaret.macdougall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3211
Nick Mackie Strategic Partnership Manager nick.mackie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7869
Jessica Maclaren Research Fellow jessica.maclaren@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3931
Morag MacLean Trial Manager morag.maclean@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3846
Julie MacMillan Research Governance / HR Administrator julie.macmillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3220
Stephen Malden Research Associate stephen.malden@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5595
Stuart Mallen Postgraduate Administrator stuart.mallen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3227
Louise Marryat Research Fellow louise.marryat@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1594
Laura Marshall Training Events Administrator l.marshall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3001
Anne Martin Research Fellow anne.martin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9671
Cherry Martin Communications Manager, The Farr Institute (UK) cherry.martin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7862
Bruce Mason Research Fellow bruce.mason@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2680
Cristina Matthews Online Learning Support Coordinator / Learning Technologist (Master of Public Health - online) cristina.matthews@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4152
David McAllister Clinical Lecturer in Public Health david.mcallister@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6983
John McAteer Research Fellow john.mcateer@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1590
Nicola McCleary Systematic Reviewer/Research Fellow nicola.mccleary@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2682
Lucy McCloughan Scientific Development Manager, Farr Institute Scotland lucy.mccloughan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7876
Paul McKeigue Professor of Genetic Epidemiology and Statistical Genetics paul.mckeigue@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4556
Brian McKinstry Professor of Primary Care E-Health brian.mckinstry@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2683
Stela McLachlan Research Fellow (Epidemiology) stela.mclachlan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6193
Susannah McLean Research Fellow susannah.mclean@ed.ac.uk
Ruth McQuillan Programme Co-Director (Master of Public Health - online) ruth.mcquillan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3096
Magda Mekky Programme Coordinator (Global Health Challenges) magda.mekky@ed.ac.uk
Laura Miller Finance Assistant laura.miller@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5575
Charlie Mills Knowledge Exchange Assistant charlie.mills@ed.ac.uk
Garry Milne Senior IT Programmer g.milne@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3853
Lynsey Milne Data Processing and QA Officer lynsey.milne@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3849
Lynn Morrice Research Manager lynn.morrice@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9463
Andrew Morris Chair of Medicine / Vice-Principal Data Science andrew.morris@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7850
Sarah Morton Co-Director (Knowledge Exchange) Centre for Research on Families and Relationships s.morton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1939
Mome Mukherjee Senior Data Analyst mome.mukherjee@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3813
Scott Murray St Columba's Hospice Professor of Primary Palliative Care scott.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9498
Harish Nair Professor of Paediatric Infectious Diseases and Global Health harish.nair@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6963
John Norrie Professor of Medical Statistics and Trial Methodology / Director of Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit j.norrie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7875
Bright Nwaru Research Fellow bright.nwaru@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2682
Kat Oatey Assistant Trial Manager k.oatey@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3841
Ian Overton Chancellor's Fellow ian.overton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 8618/ 651 7871
Claudia Pagliari Senior Lecturer in Primary Care and Informatics / Director of Global eHealth claudia.pagliari@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9464
Natalie Papanastasiou Research Fellow n.papanastasiou@ed.ac.uk
Claire Parker Project Administrator claire.parker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3187
Richard Parker Senior Statistician richard.parker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3193
Mary Paterson Trial Manager mary.paterson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9234
Meagan Peterson Research Assistant meagan.peterson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 3203
Gemma Phillips Research Fellow gemma.phillips@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4050
Martyn Pickersgill Wellcome Trust Reader in Social Studies of Biomedicine martyn.pickersgill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3202
Hilary Pinnock Professor of Primary Care Respiratory Medicine hilary.pinnock@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8102
Nicola Pirastu Chancellor's Fellow nicola.pirastu@ed.ac.uk
Ozren Polasek Research Fellow opolasek@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Carol Porteous Research Fellow / PhD Student carol.porteous@ed.ac.uk
Rosemary Porteous ODL Programme Administrator (Master of Public Health – online) rosemary.porteous@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9835
Jackie Price Professor of Molecular Epidemiology jackie.price@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3240
Jan Pringle Research Fellow (Systematic reviewing expertise) jan.pringle@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1591
Fraser Pullar Project Officer fraser.pullar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7890
Robin Ramsay Programme Coordinator (Master of Family Medicine) +44 (0)131 651 4139 robin.ramsay@ed.ac.uk
David Rankin Research Fellow a.d.rankin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3053
Phillip Rayson Assistant Trial Manager phillip.rayson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2552
Stephanie Read Research Assistant stephanie.read@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 1000
Fiona Redmond Trial Manager Support Officer fiona.redmond@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3845
Ann Robertson Research Fellow a.r.r.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9458
Dave Robertson Professor of Applied Logic / Dean of Special Projects dr@inf.ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2709
Roy Robertson Professor of Addiction Medicine roy.robertson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 4343
Aryelly Rodriguez Statistician aryelly.rodriguez@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3191
Alix Rolfe Clinical Teacher alix.rolfe@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 242 6404
Emily Ross Research Fellow emily.ross@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3233
Moira Ross Trial Manager moira.ross@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2553
Neneh Rowa-Dewar Dissertation and Research Coordinator (Master of Public Health - online) neneh.rowa-dewar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9249
Igor Rudan Professor of International Health and Molecular Medicine igor.rudan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3210
Dermot Ryan Honorary Clinical Fellow dermotryan@doctors.org.uk
Brenda Saetta Usher Institute Secretary brenda.saetta@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3237
Amanda Sammarco PA to Aileen Keel / Programme Assistant, Innovative Healthcare Delivery Programme amanda.sammarco@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7866
Stephanie Scott Project Administrator stephanie.scott@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1386
Aziz Sheikh Chair of Primary Care Research and Development aziz.sheikh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4151
Xia Shen Chancellor's Fellow xia.shen@ed.ac.uk
Colin Simpson Reader c.simpson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4151
Pamela Sinclair Administrator pamela.sinclair@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2547
Caroline Smith Judith Mackay Research Fellow c.e.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3039
Lorraine Smith Operations Director lorraine.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2555
Vivien Smith Head of Deanery Administration, Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences vivien.smith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6984
Ireneous Soyiri Research Fellow i.soyiri@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2677
Athina Spiliopoulou Research Fellow (Machine Learning Specialist/Bioinformatician) a.spiliopoulou@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 8545
Devi Sridhar Professor of Global Public Health devi.sridhar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6194
Felix Stein Postdoctoral Research Fellow felix.stein@ed.ac.uk
Jacqueline Stephen Statistician jacqueline.stephen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3192
Michelle Steven Data Manager m.irvine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3126
David Stevenson Honorary Fellow david.stevenson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 667 3748
Ellen Stewart Chancellor's Fellow e.stewart@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5149
Marlene Stewart Managing Editor Cochrane Peripheral Vascular Diseases Review Group marlene.stewart@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3206
Andrew Stoddart Health Economist andrew.stoddart@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3238
Evropi Theodoratou Chancellor's Fellow e.theodoratou@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3210
Lorna Thompson Research Project Administrator lorna.thompson@ed.ac.uk
Donald Thomson Senior Clinical Lecturer donald.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9496
Janet Thomson Trial Physician janet.thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2545
Marlee Tichenor Postdoctoral Research Fellow marlee.tichenor@ed.ac.uk
Scott Tindal Research Fellow scott.tindal@ed.ac.uk
Thanasis Tsanas Chancellor's Fellow athanasios.tsanas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7887
Chris Tuck Trial Manager chris.tuck@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3879
Nazmy Villarroel Williams Research Fellow, Heterogeneity and Granularity nazmy.villarroel@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3234
Tony Wackett Trial Manager Support Officer tony.wackett@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2589
Allan Walker IT and Systems Manager allan.walker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3854
Jeremy Walker Research Assistant jeremy.walker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1398
Pamela Warner Reader in Medical Statistics pamela.warner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3248
Helen Watters Clinical Support Work helen.watters@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3860
Fiona Wee Trial Manager fiona.wee@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 3843
Christopher Weir Professor of Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials christopher.weir@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3230
Karen Welch Trials Research Coordinator karen.welch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3206
David Weller James Mackenzie Professor of General Practice / Programme Co-Director (Master of Family Medicine) david.weller@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2807
Diane White Usher Administrative Secretary diane.white@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3214
Valeri Wiegel Research Fellow v.wiegel@ed.ac.uk
Anna Wierzoch Administrative Secretary / Personal Assistant to Professor Aziz Sheikh anna.wierzoch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8102
Sarah Wild Professor of Epidemiology sarah.wild@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1630
Linda Williams Research Fellow linda.williams@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1631
Adam Wilson Trial Manager adam.wilson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 537 2562
Jim Wilson Professor of Human Genetics jim.wilson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5141
Lisa Wood Manager, Global Health Academy lisa.wood@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1694
Mark Woolhouse Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology mark.woolhouse@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 5456
Sarah Wright Research Fellow s.j.wright@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4332
Ingrid Young Chancellor's Fellow ingrid.young@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3243