Edinburgh Global Health Academy Distance Learning Master's Scholarships

The University of Edinburgh will offer 4 Master's scholarships for eligible distance learning Master's programmes offered by the University.

Scholarships will be available for students pursuing one of the following online distance learning Global Health Academy programmes:

  • MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
  • MSc Clinical Education
  • MSc Clinical Management of Pain
  • MSc Clinical Trials
  • MSc Global eHealth
  • MSc Global Health and Infectious Diseases
  • MSc Global Health and Non Communicable Diseases
  • MSc International Animal Health
  • MSc International Animal Welfare, Ethics & Law
  • LLM Medical Law & Ethics
  • MSc One Health
  • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
  • MSc Science Communication and Public Engagement
  • MSc Translational Medicine
  • MVetSci Conservation Medicine

Each distance learning scholarship will have a total value over the duration of the programme of £9,000 which will be deducted from the tuition fee for the entire part-time programme of study.


The scholarships will be awarded to students who are accepted for admission onto an eligible online distance learning Global Health Academy programme at the University of Edinburgh commencing in 2014-2015.

Applicants who have already commenced their programme of study on the closing date are not eligible for this scholarship.

Applicants intending to study an on campus programme of study are not eligible for this scholarship.

Applicants must be both nationals of and resident in on of the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Vanuatu
  • Yemen
  • Zambia


The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic merit. Candidates must have, or expect to obtain, a UK first class or 2:1 Honours degree at undergraduate level or the international equivalent.


This award is now closed. We can no longer accept applications for the 2014-2015 session.


A Selection Committee will meet in late June 2014 to select the scholarship holders. All applicants will be notified of the outcome in July 2014.

Accessibility menu